Frequently Asked Questions
Professional Development Hours
What are the licensure fees?
|Engineer-Intern Certification||$15.00 (never expires)|
|Professional Engineers Application||$25.00|
|Professional Engineers License||$40.00 per year|
(December 31 of odd-numbered years)
|$80.00 for two years|
|Retired Professional Engineer||$10.00 for two years|
|Late renewal fee
(up to 90 days late)
|Late renewal fee
(over 90 days late)
|Replacement Professional Engineer License||$15.00|
|Replacement Engineer-Intern Certificate||$5.00|
What forms of payment do you accept?
The online renewal process accepts Visa and MasterCard.
By mail we accept checks and money orders made payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine.”
Who must be licensed?
Anyone who practices professional engineering in Maine must be licensed in Maine. The practice of engineering is defined in statute as “any professional service, such as consultation, investigation, evaluation, planning, design or responsible supervision of construction in connection with any public or private utilities, structures, buildings, machines, equipment, processes, works or projects, wherein the public welfare or the safeguarding of life, health or property is concerned or involved, when such professional service requires the application of engineering principles and data.” 32 M.R.S.A. §1251 (3).
Are there any special requirements for businesses that offer engineering services in Maine?
No. Maine does not license engineering businesses or require ownership or control by an engineer. The only requirement is that any engineering services must be performed by professional engineers licensed in Maine.
How do I change the name on my license?
Send a written notification of the name change and supply the official documentation that authorizes the name change, e.g. marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption papers, probate documents, etc. If you are requesting a new wall certificate with your new name, please include a check or money order in $USD for the appropriate fee.
When does my PE license expire?
Your PE license expires on December 31 of every odd-numbered year.
How late may I renew online?
Up to 90 days after the expiration of your license. After 90 days, you must renew directly to the office. Please contact the office for details if you are renewing more than 90 days after your license expires.
When do I have to pay a late fee?
When you renew after December 31.
You must include a $10 late fee if you renew after December 31 and before 90 days after expiration.
You must include a $25.00 late fee if you renew more than 90 days after expiration.
When can I expect to receive my new pocket card?
Approximately two weeks after payment.
Does my Engineer-Intern certification expire?
No. Your engineer-intern certification is valid for life.
Retired Status or Inactive Status
Can I change my status from Active to Retired online?
No. Because this status requires special handling by office staff, new retirees must mail in their card and payment.
What is Retired status?
Retired status is intended only for licensees who are retired from the practice of engineering and do not intend to practice in the future.
The Retired licensee will be listed in our roster as Retired and will continue to receive any mailings the Board sends out.
Retired status is not intended for people who wish to inactivate their license temporarily and who may reactivate their license in the future.
Can I renew my Retired status online?
Yes. The fee is $10 for two years.
How do I do place my license in Inactive status and what does that mean?
Choosing Inactive status indicates that you will no longer practice engineering in Maine.
You may reactivate an inactive license within three years of its expiration by paying the appropriate licensing fees and late fees, and providing your Professional Development Activity Log with complete supporting documentation for the latest renewal period.
After three years, you must submit a new application for licensure and comply with all requirements for licensure in effect at the time of the new application, including passing national examinations. The board will assess the application and make a determination whether to readmit the applicant.
How do I request verification of my licensure?
- Go to https://verify.ncees.org
- Select the jurisdiction(s) to which you are applying. You can choose more than one.
- Select the jurisdiction (Maine) that you need to verify your license.
- Fill out the personal information and follow the instructions to submit the request.
- Please do not make multiple requests within minutes of each other – allow the system a few minutes to process your request.
- We will receive an email requesting verification.
- We will complete the verification and it will be sent to the board(s) you specify
- When the verification is sent, you will receive email notification.
How much does it cost to verify my license?
There is no fee for providing verification of licensure.
Professional Development Hours
How many PDHs can I carry forward to the next renewal period?
You can carry forward PDHs in excess of 30 PDHs, up to a maximum of 15 PDHs. If audited, you must be able to provide sufficient documentation from the prior renewal to substantiate the carryover, in addition to providing documentation for the current renewal period.
What kind of documentation should I provide with my renewal?
If you renew during the renewal period, send only the renewal card and continuing education card indicating the number of PDHs earned and carried forward.
If you are audited, or if you renew more than 90 days after license expiration, you must submit a completed Activity Log and complete documentation of the PDHs claimed.
You are required to maintain an Activity Log documenting the professional development you will claim. You can download the Activity Log from the website.
You must keep receipts or certificates or other documentation sufficient to demonstrate your completion of the PDHs claimed.
The Board will inspect your log and documentation if you are audited.
Failure to provide sufficient documentation of completion of PDHs could result in board discipline.