Reinstatement of Expired License

Any person who previously held a real state license (with the exception of a Sales Agent license) in Maine that is lapsed for more than 90 days may reinstate the license by meeting the requirements of MRSA 13193. Upon completion of the requirements, the applicant is eligible to become re-licensed by the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation to offer, attempt to conduct or to conduct services on behalf of another for compensation which includes, but is not limited to, listing real estate for sale; promoting the purchase, sale or exchange of real estate; buying, advertising or holding oneself out as offering specific services defined by law and selling or exchanging real estate [reference 32 MRSA Chapter 114 13001 "Definitions"].

The licensee will be reinstated at the same level as last licensed and must be affiliated with a licensed real estate agency to be eligible to perform brokerage services.

 

Reinstatement of Expired License Requirements

Fees
  • Application/License fee: $100
  • Criminal records check fee: $21
Term
  • Biennial (2 years)
  • See specific license type (broker or associate broker) for renewal requirements.
Requirements

General Requirements

  • Completed License Application
  • Hold a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Be at least 18 at time of application for the license.

How to re-qualify for a license

  • Pass the Maine Law examination administered by Pearson VUE NOTE: Expired Sales Agents are not eligible to be reinstated by this method.

IMPORTANT NOTE - Application for a license must be made within one (1) year of passing the Maine Law examination.

Click on Candidate Handbook for more information about licensing requirements and instructions for scheduling an examination.

Get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 or higher to access PDF files.

Last Updated: January 23, 2014