Nonresident / Resident Reciprocal Licensing
An equal license may be issued to any person who holds a current and
active real estate license in another jurisdiction after meeting the
requirements for the license. Upon completion of the requirements, the
applicant is eligible to become licensed by the Department of Professional
and Financial Regulation to offer, attempt to conduct or to conduct
services on behalf of another for compensation which includes, but is
not limited to, listing real estate for sale; promoting the purchase,
sale or exchange of real estate; buying, advertising or holding oneself
out as offering specific services defined by law and selling or exchanging
real estate [reference 32 MRSA Chapter 114 §13001 "Definitions"].
An non-resident licensee must be affiliated with a Maine licensed real
estate agency to be eligible to perform brokerage services.
Reciprocal License Requirements
- Application/License fee: $100.00
- Criminal Records Check Fee: $21
- Completed License Application
- Hold a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Be at least 18 at time of application for the license.
How to Qualify for the License
- Pass the Maine Law examination administered by Pearson VUE (formerly known as Promissor). All candidates qualifying by reciprocity must pass this examination regardless of the level of license currently held.
- Furnish Certificates of Licensure from the applicant's home state and any other state where a license is held or has been held, showing applicant holds a current and active license. These certificates must be less than thirty (30) days old when received by the Maine Real Estate Commission.
IMPORTANT NOTE - Application for a license must be made within one (1) year of passing the Maine Law Exam.
Click Candidate Handbook for more detailed information about licensing requirements.
Get the free
Adobe Acrobat Reader to access PDF files.
Renewal fees and information
- Biennial renewal fee for an active license is $100.00
- A $50.00 late fee is assessed for licenses renewed after the
- Renews biennially on the anniversary of the original license
- This license must be renewed on or before the expire date
by completing the continuing education requirement, submitting
the renewal application and payment of the prescribed fee for
the Broker to remain properly licensed to conduct real estate
- Continuing Education Requirement - 21 hours of Commission approved continuing education is required for renewal. This must include 3 hours for the
course designated as the core requirement at the time of
renewal. All licensees must complete "What Am I - and Why is it Important? Core Course" in order to renew or activate a license.
- Continuing Education Audit- Effective January 1, 2002,
licensees are not required to submit evidence of having
completed the continuing education requirement when renewing
a license. Monthly audits are conducted whereby those licensees
audited are required to submit physical evidence that the
continuing education requirement was completed on or before
the date the license was renewed.
- This license may be renewed up to ninety (90) days after
the expiration date by complying with all requirements for
renewal and payment of the $50 late fee in addition to the
regular renewal fee. However, licensees
renewing a license after the expire date are not licensed to practice until the license is properly renewed.
- A licensee who submits an application for renewal more than
90 days after the license expiration date is required to pass
an examination covering Maine Real Estate Law and submit an
original license application and fee to reinstate the license.
- Renewal reminders are mailed at least 30 days prior to the
license expire date. It is the licensee's responsibility to
keep the Commission informed of the current license address
and to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application.
Licenses may be renewed online up to sixty days prior to expiration.
- To renew this license, click the link below and fill out the
required information in the electronic form.
out the online renewal application and submit.
The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions
for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission
of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic
renewal of your license.
Please Note: By submitting a renewal application
in any form by any method, the licensee is certifying that all
requirements for renewal have been met prior to submission of
the application, including the full continuing education requirement.
Submission of the renewal application also constitutes certification
of the licensee's understanding that the Commission will rely
upon the information submitted for issuance of a license and that
sanctions may be imposed, including suspension or revocation of
the license, if the certification is found to be false.
November 14, 2013