Inactive Associate Broker or Inactive Broker License

An Associate Broker or Broker who wants to preserve a license while not engaged in brokerage activity may apply to the Commission for inactive status. Inactive status is not recommended at the Sales Agent license level as the Sales Agent license is non-renewable and affiliation as a sales agent with an agency for 2 years is a requirement of the Associate Broker license.

 

How to apply

Fees
  • Change of License Application fee: $20
  • If license is changed to inactive status upon renewal of an active license, the $100 license renewal fee is still required.
Term
  • Change of status to inactive does not change the original license expiration date and license must be renewed every 2 years thereafter.

Reinstatement to
Active Status

Licensees who activate within 6 years of the initial inactive license may activate by completing continuing education courses that meet Commission approved clock hours as follows:

  • Inactive up to 2 years 21 clock hours of continuing education (including the current core course) completed within the previous biennium;
  • Inactive more than 2 years but less than 4 years 28 clock hours of continuing education (including the current core course) completed within the previous biennium;
  • Inactive more than 4 years but less than 6 years - 36 clock hours of continuing education (including the current core course) completed within the previous biennium;

Licensees who are inactive for 6 or more years must complete the Maine Law exam administered by Pearson VUE with a minimum grade of 75% and submit a new licenses application.

 

Renewal fees and information

Fees
  • Biennial renewal fee is $100.00.
  • A $50.00 late fee is assessed for licenses renewed within 90 calendar days after the expiration date.
Term
  • 2 Years

Renewal
Requirements/
Proces
s

  • A license may be renewed online or by paper application on or (up to 60 days) before the expiration date.
  • There is no continuing education requirement.
  • A license may be renewed up to ninety (90) calendar days after the expiration date by complying with all requirements for renewal and payment of an additional $50 late fee.
  • A license cannot be renewed after 90 calendar days. Applicant must pass the Maine Law exam administered by Pearson VUE with a minimum grade of 75% before submitting a new license application.
  • Renewal reminders are mailed to licensees at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee’s responsibility to keep the Commission informed of current contact information and to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application. Reminder includes access code which, along with license number, is required for online renewal.
Renew Now
  • Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

    The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

Please Note: By submitting a renewal application in any form by any method, the licensee is certifying that all requirements for renewal have been met prior to submission of the application. Submission of the renewal application also constitutes certification of the licensee's understanding that the Commission will rely upon the information submitted for issuance of a license and that sanctions may be imposed, including suspension or revocation of the license, if the certification is found to be false.

 

Last Updated: December 23, 2013