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BOARD OF PHARMACY

Application information to assist
in completing your application. This information is not designed

to include all information on laws and rules and it is strongly
recommended that you review applicable laws and rules.

Pharmacist by Examination/Score Transfer

Do not return the following informational pages with your
application: it is for your information only

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation
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(Office location) Gardiner Annex, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
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Web address: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing
Email: pharmacy.lic@maine.gov

Published under appropriation 01402A4350012 Revised 04/2014
35 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA ME 04333 WEBSITE: WWW.MAINE.GOV/PROFESSIONALLICENSING




APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

PHARMACIST

The following is a guideline to assist in your application process. It does not, however, replace the
requirements outlined in the Maine Board of Pharmacy Laws and Rules. Please review them
carefully for more detailed and clarifying information.

To register for the NAPLEX and the Multi-State Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination, go to
http://www.nabp.net/ . Please note if you are applying by score transfer, the score is valid for
one year only from date of passing NAPLEX examination.

You must provide evidence of having completed a minimum of 1,500 internship hours from a
college or state licensing body.

Your NAPLEX, Score Transfer and MPJE score results are reported directly by electronic
means to the Maine Board, which in turn will be reported to you in writing. Please allow at
least 10 business days. Please do not call our office for your results. Scores will not be
released by phone.

All Foreign pharmacy graduates must submit the FPGEC issued by NABP. You must submit
the appropriate certification evidence issued by NABP with this application. Please visit the
NABP website for information on the FPGEE process and to contact NABP http:/
www.nabp.net/ . We cannot help you on this matter.

Official transcripts of your pharmacy degree must accompany your application.

You must demonstrate that you are at least 21 years of age. A photocopy of your official birth
certificate or other official legal document is acceptable.

If you hold or have held a professional license in another state or jurisdiction, you must submit
evidence from the State of licensure in the form of a License Verification.

If you have a disability and require special accommodations in taking the examination, please
complete the enclosed "request for accommodation” form and submit it with your application.
The Maine Board of Pharmacy outsources all examination administrations. Special
accommodation requests must be submitted well in advance of the test date, we cannot
guarantee the availability of accommodations on-site.

MULTISTATE PHARMACY JURISPRUDENCE EXAM (“MPJE™”) References: The Maine
Pharmacy laws and rules, Department of Public Safety rules on security prescription blanks,
and pharmacy related federal regulations are accessible online at www.maine.gov/
professionallicensing Click on “list of licensed professions”, click on “Pharmacy” under “Board
of Pharmacy Home” click on “Laws & Rules” You may also contact the following agency for
federal regulations: U.S. Government Printing Office Tel (202) 512-1800, at the following web
site: www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/cfr-table-search.html
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INITIAL EACH PAGE OF YOUR APPLICATION WHERE NOTED. Be sure to initial the bottom of
each page where noted on your application. This is critical to insuring that each page of your
application is intact with the correlating application and will help us with expediting your application
review. All pages requiring initials must be returned to our office as part of your complete application.

All supporting documents and fees must be submitted with this application. Your application will
be considered incomplete and will be returned if supporting documents and/or fees are
omitted. Documents that have been modified or altered (including the use of any white out
substance) in any way will not be accepted.

PROCESSING TIME:

v" Please do not call our office regarding the status of your application as numerous calls will delay
the timeliness of processing applications. Information regarding the status of applications may
be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s website www.maine.gov/
professionallicensing. We appreciate your thoughtful attention to this request.

v" Please refrain from calling our office to “check” on your application as these calls only serve to
slow our ability to review and process applications. Information regarding the status of
applications may be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s website
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing. We appreciate your thoughtful attention to this request.

v" Once your license is issued it is immediately visible online with an “active” status. Licenses are
printed off site and require at least 14 business days for delivery.
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VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

If you hold or have held a professional license in another state or jurisdiction, you must submit
evidence from the State of licensure in the form of a License Verification.

Please contact the state of licensure to request an official License Verification. At a minimum, the
license verification must contain:
e Name of State providing the License Verification
e Your name
e License number and expiration date
« Status of your license i.e. active, inactive, lapsed, probation, restricted, suspended,
revoked...
e Type of license issued to you
« Date your license was issued
« If appropriate, hours of internship completed with beginning and ending dates
e Method your license was issued i.e. Original State, Reciprocity/Endorsement, Score
Transfer
o Examinations taken i.e. NAPLEX, Jurisprudence, other
« Disciplinary action(s) against your license, if any
« Signature and title of person from the licensing jurisdiction providing License Verification
« State Seal

Please direct the licensing jurisdiction to send the License Verification report to you directly and in
turn you must submit this verification with your completed Maine application.

A sample license verification is available on the Board’s website in the applications and forms
section.

IMPORTANT: Applications submitted without all of the Verifications of Licensure from the
licensing jurisdiction(s) will not be accepted and your application returned as incomplete.

You may also obtain an electronically produced License Verification directly from the State Board
website. For electronic License Verifications please be sure that it contains the State web-address,
date the License Verification was printed, and any indication of disciplinary history, e.g. no discipline
or discipline. If discipline is indicated, please submit a copy of the discipline imposed such as the
Board Order or Agreement.
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STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION
Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
Phone: (207) 624-8603 Fax: (207) 624-8637 TTY users call Maine relay 711 web: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

Frequently Asked Questions:

e Where do | send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine
04333-0035

« Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.

e« What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays

e« Can lcometo Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes. You will not leave with a license, though.
e« Canlcome to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you.

« How long does it take to process an application? You can check our website:

www.maine.gov/professionallicensing. Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as
your status is ACTIVE you are authorized to practice.

« How far back do | go answering the criminal question? Any conviction, ever.

NOTICES

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuant to 5 MRS §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an applicant’s
criminal history record. The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of the
application process for all applicants.

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRS §401 et seq). Public records
must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the
application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this
information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)). Disclosure of your Social
Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRS §175
as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax
Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No
further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRS §191.

Before you seal the envelope, did you:

Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned)

Answer the criminal background disclosure questions

Sign and date your application

Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature)
Include any required transcripts or exam results

Make a copy of your application to keep for your records

DO NOT SEND CASH.




STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
Ml OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print)

FULL LEGAL NAME

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED:

DATE OF BIRTH / / SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER - -
MAILING ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY

PHONE # ( ) FAX# ( ) E-MAIL

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE
NOTE: Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license.

1. Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime?
(circle one) NO YES

If yes, enclose a signed detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment.

2. Has any jurisdiction (including Maine) taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have
held, or denied your application for licensure?  (circle one) NO YES

If yes, enclose a signed detailed explanation and copies of all documents.

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.
By submitting this application, | affirm that the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance
of my license and that this information is truthful and factual. | also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines,
suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false.

-SIGNATURE DATE

MAINE BOARD OF PHARMACY
PHARMACIST LICENSE
By EXAMINATION - Required Fee: $96.00 (Non Refundable)
By SCORE TRANSFER - Required Fee: $96.00 (Non Refundable)
Optional Certification of Administration of Drugs and Vaccines Available
(includes examination processing and criminal record check)

LICENSE TYPE:
Office Use Only:
(] PHARMACIST by EXAMINATION (PR1447) $96.00 Office Use Only: Check #
BY EXAM Amount:
] PHARMACIST by SCORE TRANSFER (PR1447) $96.00 PR T %5?-88 oo
] CHECK HERE IF ADDING OPTIONAL ' Lic. #
CERTIFICATION OFADMINISTRATION OF BY STORETRONSFER —Issue Date
DRUGS AND VACCINES 2619 - $21.00 Exp. Date

PAYMENT OPTIONS:
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following:

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)

| authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation to
charge my L] VISA ] MASTERCARD the following amount: $
| lunderstand that fees are non-refundable

ard number: Expiration Date /

C
EEE) SIGNATURE DATE




SECTION 1: INTERNSHIP

You must submit evidence of having completed 1,500 hours of internship training.

O Evidence from the college where | completed a pharmacy degree program.
O Signed affidavit(s) from Preceptor(s).
O Certification by a state pharmacy licensing board where these hours were reported.

SECTION 2: EDUCATION

Please check all that apply:

O American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE)

O Canadian Council for Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs (CCAP)
O Foreign Pharmacy Graduate
O

FPGEC
College of Pharmacy Date of Graduation
Contact Address PO BOX or Street Address
City State Zip

Official transcripts demonstrating your degree must be submitted with your application.

SECTION 3: LIST BELOW EVERY JURISDICTION IN WHICH YOU HOLD OR HAVE EVER
HELD A PROFESSIONAL LICENSE. Includes pharmacy technician, pharmacy intern, pharmacist
or any other professional license or registration, pharmacy or otherwise.

Use a separate sheet of paper if additional space is needed.

1. State, Territory, Country License Number/ Type Date Issued Expiration Date
2. State, Territory, Country License Number/ Type Date Issued Expiration Date
3. State, Territory, Country License Number/ Type Date Issued Expiration Date
4. State, Territory, Country License Number/ Type Date Issued Expiration Date

NOTE: For each of the above, you must submit with this application an official Verification of Licen-
sure from each licensing jurisdiction. IMPORTANT: Applications submitted without all of the Veri-
fications of Licensure from the licensing jurisdiction(s) will not be accepted and your application
returned as incomplete.

INITIALS OF APPLICANT
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SECTION 4: Check the appropriate response to the questions below. Any YES response must be
fully explained by written statement on a separate sheet of paper, signed and dated, and submitted

with your application.

Have you ever been denied registration by the U.S. Drug Enforcement
Administration (DEA) or have you ever had a DEA Registration modified,

restricted, suspended or revoked? Has any state or province denied, restricted,

modified, suspended or revoked your state permit to prescribe or dispense
controlled substances? If yes:

1. o DEA action

o Other State of Province (Name)
2. Submit a copy of the official action by the entity.
3. Provide a detailed explanation in your own words on a separate sheet of
paper.

] Yes
1 No

Have you ever received a sanction/discipline from Medicare or from a state
Medicaid program?

1. [ Medicare OR [1 Medicaid Program (State)

2. Submit a copy of the official action by the entity.

3. Provide a detailed explanation in your own words on a separate sheet of
paper.

Clarification on programs:

e Medicare — Health program administered by the United States government
for people that are (1) ages 65 or older, (2) under the age of 65 with certain
disabilities, and/or (3) all ages with end-stage renal disease.

e Medicaid — Health program administered by the United States government
for people with limited incomes.

e MaineCare — Health program administered by the State of Maine with similar

eligibility requirements as Medicaid.

1 Yes
1 No

INITIALS OF APPLICANT
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SECTION 5:  CERTIFICATE OF ADMINISTRATION OF DRUGS AND VACCINES
YOU MUST COMPLETE SECTION A, B OR C, WHICHEVER APPLIES.

SECTION A: Currently authorized by another jurisdiction to administer drugs and
vaccines and your training or course work is compliant with 32 MRSA § 13832(4). (See insert
in gray section below).

Are you currently authorized/licensed by any jurisdiction to administer drugs and immunizations?
"1Yesor [1 No List State: .

Do you have continous administration practice since completion of training in drug administration?
(32 MRSA § 13832(4)) [1Yesor I No

Has any adverse disciplinary action been taken against this authorization/license? [ Yes or [l No

Please submit a license verification from the licensing jurisdiction to verify that you are authorized to
administer drugs and immunizations.

If you are not currently certified/licensed in another jurisdiction and qualify with educational
licensing, please complete section B or C, whichever applies.

For Section B or C

Your PharmD transcripts or evidence of having completed a 20 hour course of study must accompany this application;
otherwise your application will be deemed incomplete and returned without processing. The PharmD program or the 20
hour course of study must meet the didactic & practical requirements described in 32 MRSA § 13832(4).

32 MRSA § 13832(4)
Didactic; practical course. Satisfactorily complete a didactic and practical course approved by the board that includes the
current guidelines and recommendations of the federal Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention, the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education or a similar health authority or professional body, and that
includes, but is not limited to, disease epidemiology, indications for use of vaccines, vaccine characteristics, injection techniques,
adverse reactions to vaccines, emergency response to adverse events, immunization screening, informed consent, record keep-
ing, reqistries, including the immunization information system established under Title 22, section 1064, registry training and re-
porting mechanisms, including reporting adverse events, life support training, biohazard waste disposal and sterile techniques
and related topics.

Pursuant to 32 MRSA Sub-Section 13832(3) training must have been obtained within 3 years immediately preceding this
application. In addition:

e A PharmD transcript must clearly state your name and date the degree was awarded.

eThe 20 hour course of study must clearly state your name, date of completion and the number of hours completed.

SECTION B: TRAINING - Complete this section IF APPLYING BY HAVING COMPLETED A
20-HOUR COURSE OF STUDY (32 MRSA §13832, section 3)

Please list the name of the course, the course sponsor and date course completed.

o Check here if this is an American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) course.

Course name:

Date Completed:

o  Check here if this is a course sponsored or approved by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Course name:

Date Completed:

o  Check here if Other: - please provide a copy of the course syllabus or course content.
Course sponsor:

Course name:

Date Completed:

INITIALS OF APPLICANT
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SECTION C: TRAINING - Complete this section if applying with a PharmD degree.

College of Pharmacy Date degree awarded| Semester Immunology was taken
College Contact Address PO BOX or Street Address
City State Zip

SECTION D: LIFE SUPPORT TRAINING (CPR) — Evidence of completing cardiovascular life
support training.

Please complete the following.

O Check here if this is an American Heart Association course.

Course name:

Date Completed:

O Check here if this is an American Red Cross course.

Course name:

Date Completed:

O  Check here if Other:
Course sponsor:

Course name:

Date Completed:

SECTION E: For Your Information on Treatment Protocol

The following is an excerpt from 32 MRSA §13833:

“The pharmacist shall administer drugs and immunizations in compliance
with a treatment protocol established by a practitioner authorized under
the laws of this State to order administration of those drugs and vaccines
approved by the board. A copy of the treatment protocol must be
submitted to the board....”

BOARD RULE CHAPTER 4-A
Requires that a pharmacist holding a certificate of administration or the
pharmacy or pharmacies to which the treatment protocol is issued shall
submit a copy of the protocol to the board no later than 20 calendar days
after the effective date of the protocol.

INITIALS OF APPLICANT
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SECTION 6: NOTICES

Please Note:

Pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G - any change in name, address, email address, criminal convictions,
disciplinary actions, or any material change set forth in your original application for licensure must be
reported to the Office within 10 days.

You can access this Law for your review at:
http://www.maineleqgislature.org/leqgis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

DID YOU ENCLOSE THE FOLLOWING:

Please review the list below to ensure you are filing a complete application. If the application is not
yet complete, please wait until you have all of the required documentation to submit with this appli-
cation.

¢ Each section of the application is completed.

¢ Each page of the application, where noted, has been initialed.

¢ Signature present where noted.

0 Payment in the amount of $96 is enclosed.

¢ A signed copy of the consent agreement or order issued by the Board/Jurisdiction if discipline has
been indicated.

¢ A copy of the Court Judgment and Decision if convicted of a crime, including a signed written
statement, in your words, regarding the details of the crime.

SECTION 7: APPLICANT’S CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE

Read the statement below and sign where indicated as your certification of the information provided on this
application. Applications that are incomplete, altered (including use of any white out), defaced, or
compromised will not be accepted and will be returned. This includes, but is not limited to, unanswered
questions, lack of appropriate signature, information is illegible, missing required supporting documents, and/
or missing or wrong fee.

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the
best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application | understand that the Maine Board of
Pharmacy will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and
factual. | further understand that sanctions may be imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of my
license, if this information is found to be false.

Printed Name of Applicant Title
Signature of Applicant Date
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STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
MAINE BOARD OF PHARMACY
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0035
TEL:(207)624-8620 — FAX:(207)624-8637

AFFIDAVIT OF INTERNSHIP HOURS

**This form is only to be used if your state does not certify intern hours obtained**

Last Name First Name Middle Name

Contact Address (Street or PO Box)

City State Zip Code
Intern License Number State Issued Expiration Date
Place of Internship - Name of Facility License Number

Physical Address

City State Zip Code

Telephone Number

( )

Preceptor Name License Number

Hours worked at this site (give only exact dates that this report covers — not entire work history)

Beginning Date of this Report End Date of this Report Total number of hours worked at this site
during the period stated.

The above information was taken from payroll or other records which are kept at the following location(s) and
may be examined by an agent of the Board (Give Street Address, City, and State):

| hereby state that the intern named above was trained at the site listed above, worked the hours reported,
and practiced in accordance with the Board’s Laws and Rules. | further understand that | shall be responsible
for certifying the practical experience affidavits required by the Maine Board of Pharmacy and submit reports
on the progress and aptitude of the intern when requested. By submitting this application | understand that
the Maine Board of Pharmacy will rely upon this information and that this information is truthful and factual
and that sanctions may be imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of my license, if this
information is found to be false.

Affirmation and Signature of Preceptor Date State and License #
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STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
MAINE BOARD OF PHARMACY
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0035
TEL:(207)624-8620 — FAX:(207)624-8637

CERTIFICATE OF MORAL CHARACTER

This form must be completed by the person attesting to the applicant’s good moral, ethical and
professional character.

The person attesting to the applicant’s good moral character must personally know him/her and be
prepared to furnish additional information concerning the applicant’s character, education, and
standing as may be requested by the Maine Board of Pharmacy.

I, the undersigned, hereby affirm that | am personally acquainted with the applicant named below
and know him/her to be of good moral character.
Please write legibly.

Applicant’'s Name
(Please Print)

Name of Person Conferring | Name
Applicant’s Character

Street

City/State/Zip

Telephone # Email Address:
Occupation Date
Signature

Briefly describe how the
applicant is known to you.
(e.g. fellow colleague,
neighbor, long time friend,
etc.)

By submitting this application and supporting documents | understand that the Maine Board of
Pharmacy will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is
truthful and factual and that sanctions may be imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of
my license, if this information is found to be false.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE
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STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
MAINE BOARD OF PHARMACY
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0035
TEL:(207)624-8620 — FAX:(207)624-8637

ACCOMMODATION REQUEST FORM
The information requested below and any documentation regarding your disability and your
need for accommodation in testing will be considered strictly confidential and will not be
shared with any outside source without your express written permission.

NAME:

ADDRESS:

TELEPHONE #: SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:

Accommodations Requested for the Examination.
Disability

Please check all that apply

O Accessible Testing Site
O Separate Testing Site
O Braille
O Large Print
O Tape
O Reader as Accommodation for Visual Impairment
O Scribe/Amanuensis as Accommodation for Visual or Motor Impairment
O Reader as Accommodation for Learning Disability
O Scribe/Amanuensis as Accommodation for Learning
O Sign Language Interpreter
O Extended Time
O Time-and-a-half
O Double time
O More than double time (specify):

O Use of Computer or other adaptive equipment (specify):

O Other:

Signed and dated:
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STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
MAINE BOARD OF PHARMACY
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0035
TEL:(207)624-8620 — FAX:(207)624-8637

DOCUMENTATION OF DISABILITY RELATED NEEDS

If you have a learning disability, a psychological disability, or other hidden disability that requires an
accommodation in testing, please have this section completed by an appropriate professional
(education professional, doctor, psychologist, psychiatrist) to certify that your disabling condition
requires the requested test accommodation.

If you have existing documentation of having the same or similar accommodation provided to
you in another test situation, you may submit such documentation instead of having this
portion of the form completed.

| have known since in
(Test applicant) (Date)

my capacity as a

(Professional Title)

This applicant has discussed with me the nature of the test to be administered. It is my opinion that
because of this applicant’s disability, providing the following should accommodate him/ her:
(check all that apply):

O Accessible Testing Site
O Separate Testing Site
O Braille
O Large Print
O Tape
O Reader as Accommodation for Visual Impairment
O Scribe/Amanuensis as Accommodation for Visual or Motor Impairment
O Reader as Accommodation for Learning Disability
O Scribe/Amanuensis as Accommodation for Learning
O Sign Language Interpreter
O Extended Time
O Time-and-a-half
O Double time
O More than double time (specify):
O Use of Computer or other adaptive equipment (specify):

O Other:
Signed: Title:
Date: License # (if applicable):

Published under appropriation 01402A4350012 Revised 04/2014
35 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA ME 04333 WEBSITE: WWW.MAINE.GOV/PROFESSIONALLICENSING




