About the Board


The Maine State Board of Optometry was established in 1909 as the State Board of Registration and Examination in Optometry and received its present name in October 1973. The Board consists of six members appointed by the Governor for terms of five years. Five of the members must be resident optometrists engaged in actual practice for a period of at least five years prior to their appointment. The sixth member must be a consumer member having no pecuniary interest in optometry or optical products. The Board annually elects a president and secretary-treasurer from its members. The Board meets four times a year at the offices of Professional and Financial Regulation, 76 Northern Ave., Gardiner, Maine. The Board administers the exam four times a year, in February, May, August, November and by appointment.


Members of the Board are listed below:

Employee Position
Stephen Ebersole, O.D. President
Thomas Nadeau, O.D. CE Consultant
Normand LaPlante Secretary/Treas., Public Member
Blaine Littlefield, O.D Complaint Officer
Paul P. Cote, O.D.  


Email the Board



Last Updated: May 27, 2014