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APPLICANT INFORMATION GUIDE 

The application material you have requested from the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice is     
enclosed. It contains all the relevant materials you need to complete your application for licensure in 
the State of Maine. Please read all the information carefully. If you have any questions after reading 
this packet, please call or e-mail our office. 
 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 
 
 

 Licensing Law for Occupational Therapists 

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for 
knowing and complying with all Maine Laws throughout your licensure. 
 

Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch32sec0.html or call                  
(207) 624-8626 
 

 Licensing Rules for Occupational Therapists 

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for 
knowing and complying with all Board Rules throughout your licensure. 

 

Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#477 or call (207) 624-8626 

 

 Licensing Rules for the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation 

Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041  

 

 Statutory Authority, Titles 5 & 10 

Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html  

  http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html 
 

APPLICATION PROCEDURE 
 

 Please submit your application materials to the Board by mail or hand delivery to our offices. 
Faxed submissions will not be accepted. Applications are reviewed and processed in the order 
received. Typical review and processing time of applications is up to two (2) to three (3) weeks. 
Incomplete applications, underlying circumstances surrounding applications and periods of 
high volume could result in further delays. 

 

 If there are deficiencies with your application, you will be notified by mail. You may also check 
the Board’s website. It is the responsibility of the applicant to see that all documentation is 
completed and returned to the department for consideration. 

 

 Please do not call our office regarding the status of your application. Information regarding the 
status of applications may be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s 
website: http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx.  We appreciate your 
thoughtful attention to this request. 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch32sec0.html
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#477
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html
http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx


IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR LICENSEES: 
 
Renewal  
 

The temporary license is issued for a period of six (6) months but it may be renewed for an  
additional six (6) months at the discretion of the Board. Temporary licensees wishing to renew 
their existing temporary license for one additional six (6) month period must submit the following 
at least three (3) weeks prior to their license expiration: 

  $25.00 renewal fee for temporary occupational therapists/$20.00 renewal fee for temporary  
 occupational therapy assistants; 

  Original letter of request for renewal from licensee; 

  Original letter of request for renewal from supervisor; 

  Original supervision plan outlining an appropriate amount of supervision for setting; 

  Original study plan from the licensee; 

  NBCOT Confirmation of Exam Registration received in this Office directly from NBCOT (if  
 previous Confirmation has expired); and 

  Original Verification of Supervision Form. 
 
 
 10 Day Reporting 
 

Please be advised, pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G, licensees and applicants are to report to the  
Office, in writing, any change in a name or address on file with the Office, any criminal conviction, 
any revocation, suspension or other disciplinary action taken in this or any other jurisdiction 
against any occupational or professional license held, or any material change set forth in this     
application within ten (10) days:                                                                                                       
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html 

 
Further, pursuant to Chapter 5 of the Board’s Rules, any changes in supervision must be reported to 
the Office within ten (10) days. A form is available at the Board’s website: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/
professionallicensing/professions/occupational/forms.html  

 
 
 
 GovDelivery 
 

The Board of Occupational Therapy Practice has teamed up with GovDelivery to manage our    
digital communications. As its name implies, GovDelivery works exclusively with federal, state and 
municipal government agencies to communicate with licensees and the public. 
 
As a subscriber, you will automatically receive notices from the Board based on the subscriber 
preferences that you select. Available topics include Board Meetings (agendas and minutes), 
Board Laws and Rules Notices (rulemaking and law changes) and Board Notices (news and      
information).  
 
To become a subscriber, go to the Board’s website and insert your e-mail address in the space 
provided on the left side of the page. You may unsubscribe at any time. 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/occupational/forms.html
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/occupational/forms.html


REQUIREMENTS FOR TEMPORARY LICENSURE 
 

A temporary license may be granted to a person who has completed the education and experience          
requirements.  This temporary license allows the person to practice occupational therapy under the     
supervision of a licensed occupational therapist. If you have passed the certification exam, you are not 
eligible for temporary licensure. 

 
Applicants for temporary licensure must submit the documentation and fees as outlined in the checklist below. 
Please note that reference forms are no longer required. 
 

 A completed and signed Application for Licensure;  

 Payment of an Application Fee of $60.00; 
 

 Payment of a Licensure Fee of $25.00 (Temporary Occupational Therapist);  
 

                      or 
 

 Payment of an Application Fee of $20.00 (Temporary Occupational Therapy Assistant); 
 

 Payment of a Criminal History Records Check Fee of $21.00 
 

Note: All fees can be in one payment. 
 

 Completed original Verification of Supervision Form (photocopies cannot be accepted); 
 

 Official Transcript or completed Verification of Education Form sent by mail or courier directly to this   
office by the educational institution; and 

 

 NBCOT Confirmation of Exam Registration completed and sent by mail or courier directly to this office 
from NBCOT. 

 

Note: Contact NBCOT directly: www.nbcot.org ~ info@nbcot.org ~ (301)990-7979 
 

Those licensed in other jurisdiction(s) must also provide: 
 

 Official Verification(s) of Licensure sent by mail or courier directly to this office from the issuing agency. 
 

 

REQUIREMENTS FOR CHANGE OF STATUS 
 

To change from a temporary to a permanent license, you must submit the following to the Office for               
consideration. Active temporary licensees wishing to use this pathway for full licensure must complete 
the         application process prior to the expiration of their temporary license. Therefore, applications 
should be submitted in a timely manner to allow for review and processing. 
 

 A completed and signed Application for Permanent Licensure;  

 Written request for change of status; 

   Payment of a Licensure Fee of $40.00 (Temporary Occupational Therapist);  
 

                      or 
 

   Payment of a Licensure Fee of $35.00 (Temporary Occupational Therapy Assistant); 
 

 Completed original Verification of Supervision Form (Occupational Therapy Assistants only); 
 

 Official Transcript sent by mail or courier directly to this office by the educational institution, if not        
previously submitted; and 

 

   Official score report released to the Board directly from NBCOT (only for applicants applying within 3 
months of having passed the exam) 

 

                      or 
 

   Official Verification of Certification Form completed and sent by mail or courier directly to this office  
 by NBCOT.  

Note: Contact NBCOT directly: www.nbcot.org ~ info@nbcot.org ~ (301)990-7979  



STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION  
 OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333     Courier/Delivery address:  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  04345 
Phone:  (207) 624-8603    Fax:  (207) 624-8637   TTY users call Maine Relay 711    Web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing  

  
 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
  
 Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333-

0035. 

  
 Where are you located?  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 

  
 What hours are you open?  8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays. 

  
 Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application?  Yes. You will not leave with a license, though. 

  
 Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you. 

  
 How can I check the status of my application? You can check our website: http://pfr.informe.org/

almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx. 

  
 How far back do I go answering the criminal conviction question?  Any conviction, ever. 

  
 Can I fax my application? No. 

  
 
 
 

NOTICES 
  
BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as 
part of the application process for all applicants. 
  
PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq).  Public 
records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as 
part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to 
which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses 
listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
  
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)).  Disclosure of your Social 
Security Number Is mandatory.  Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA 
§175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)).  Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State 
Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised 
Statutes.  No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 
MRSA §191. 

  

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 

Complete every item on the application including the criminal background disclosure question. 
    Sign and date your application. 
   Include the required fee(s). Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or complete the 

    credit card section on the application. DO NOT SEND CASH. 
   Make a copy of your application to keep for your records. 

  

http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing
http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx
http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx


STATE OF MAINE 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL 

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 

OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONA REGULATION  

 

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION 

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print) 
  
FULL LEGAL NAME             FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 
  
  
ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED 
  
  
DATE OF BIRTH      mm /  dd / yyyy 

  
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
  

  
MAILING ADDRESS 
  
  
CITY                                                STATE                    ZIP CODE                       COUNTY 

 
  
PHONE (       )                                FAX (       )                                  E-MAIL 

 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE   

NOTE:  Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license. 
 

1.  Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime?   (circle one)        NO             YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment. 
 

2.  Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,  
     or denied your application for licensure?  (circle one)                                      NO            YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents. 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and 
belief.  By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional & Occupational regulation will rely upon this information for 
issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, 
fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

SIGNATURE             DATE 

 
Board of Occupational Therapy Practice 

 

Please Select License Type: 

 
   Temporary Occupational Therapist (TO1421) 

Required Fee: $106 
(includes Criminal History Records Check Fee)  

 

   Temporary Occupational Therapist Assistant (TA1421) 
Required Fee: $101 

(includes Criminal History Records Check Fee)  
 

Rev. 12/2016 

  
  
  

  
  

  

  

  

 
Office Use Only: 

 

Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic.  #_______________ 

Office Use Only: 
 

  TO 1421- $25.00  
  TA 1421 - $20.00 
        1446 - $60.00 
         2619 - $21.00 

PAYMENT OPTIONS: 
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” – if you wish to pay by Mastercard, Visa, Discover or American Express 

fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)          FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation to 
charge my   VISA   MASTERCARD   DISCOVER   AMERICAN EXPRESS the following amount:  $____________ 

     I understand that fees are non-refundable 

Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 



Applicant’s Name:  ___________________________ 

Education 

(Official transcripts must be submitted directly from Institution) 

Name of Academic Institution: 
  
  

Mailing Address: 
  
  

City: 
  
  

State: Zip Code: 

Degree Granted: 
  
  

Date Conferred: 

Current or Intended Place of Employment 

Workplace Name: 
  
  

Position Held: 
  

Dates: 
  

Mailing Address: 
  
  

City: 
  
  

State: Zip Code: 

Previous Employment 
(should reflect occupational therapy practice for the last three (3) years of two (2) places of employment) 

Workplace Name: 
  
  

Position Held: 
  

Dates: 
  

Mailing Address: 
  
  

City: 
  
  

State: Zip Code: 

Workplace Name: 
  
  

Position Held: 
  

Dates: 
  

Mailing Address: 
  
  

City: 
  
  

State: Zip Code: 



Applicant’s Name:  ___________________________ 

Credentialing History 
  

Do you hold or have you ever held a professional license/certification/
registration in this or any other state/country? 

  

  
[   ] YES  [   ] NO 
  

If yes: 

 

Profession License # State/Country Date Issued Expiration Date 

  
  

        

  
  

        

  
  

        

 

      Have you ever taken the NBCOT certification examination? 
  
If yes: 

 

  

 

Exam Title: 
 

Location: 
  

Date Taken: Select One: 
             [   ] Pass      [   ] Fail 

Exam Title: 

  
Location: 
  

Date Taken: Select One: 
             [   ] Pass      [   ] Fail 

  
  
[   ] YES  [   ] NO 
  
  
  
  
  
  

  
NBCOT Certification Number:        ____________________________ 
  

Affirmation 
  
By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and         
accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, I affirm that the    
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of my 
license and that this information is truthful and factual. I also understand that sanctions may be    
imposed including denial, fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to 
be false. 
  

I also understand, pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G, I am to report to the Office, in writing, any change 
in my name or address on file with the Office, any criminal conviction, any revocation, suspension or 
other disciplinary action taken in this or any other jurisdiction against any occupational or             
professional license I hold, or any material change set forth in this application within ten (10) days. 
  
  
SIGNATURE: _____________________________________   DATE: ______________________ 
  



VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION FORM 
 

This verification form must be completed by an appropriate official - Dean, Director -from the            
educational institution where the applicant received the occupational therapy degree.  If the institution 
does not use a school seal, the official signing the verification must sign in the presence of a Notary 
Public.  After completion, please mail this document directly to the Maine Board of                   
Occupational Therapy at the above address. 

  

I hereby certify ____________________________ has completed all didactic and  
  (Name, please print) 

clinical education requirements of the Occupational Therapy Program on the______ 

  
day of_________________20______and was granted /will be granted a degree of 
       (underline one) 

Occupational Therapy or Occupational Therapy Assistant on ____________day 

   (circle one) 

of ______________20______ by: 
  
__________________________________________________ 

Name of Educational Institution 

__________________________________________________       SCHOOL SEAL 

Street 
__________________________________________________ 

City                                    State                          Zip 

  
__________________________________________________ 

Signature                                                    Title 

  
_________________________________________________DATE____________ 

Print Name Here                            Telephone Number 

  
If a Notary Public is used in place of a school seal, this statement must be completed: 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________day of______________20____. 
  
______________________________________________ 

Signature of Notary Public 

  
My Commission Expires: ____________________                          SEAL 
  

 

s t a t e  o f  m a i n e  
D e p a r t m e n t  o f  P r o f e s s i o n a l  

a n d  F i n a n c i a l  R e g u l a t i o n  

Board of Occupational Therapy Practice 

 3 5  s t a t e  h o u s e  s t a t i o n  
a u g u s t a ,  m a i n e  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

  

  
Paul R. LePage   

  
Anne L. Head 

Governor   Commissioner 

  
  
  

 
Printed on recycled paper 

  
  
  

  
O f f i c e  P h o n e :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 2 6  

T T Y  u s e r s  c a l l  M a i n e  r e l a y  7 1 1  
O f f i c e s  L o c a t e d  A t :   7 6  N o r t h e r n  A v e n u e ,      G a r d i -

n e r ,  M a i n e  

  
f a x :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 3 7  



VERIFICATION OF SUPERVISION FORM 
INITIAL APPLICATION 

 
All OTA and Temporary OT applicants must practice under the supervision of a Maine licensed OT. A 
license cannot be issued until an original form signed by both the applicant and the supervising OT is 
received by the Board at the above address.  
 
Please provide a separate form for each practice setting. 

Name of Applicant: 
  

Name of Practice Setting: 
  

Address: 
  

City: 
  

State: Zip Code: 
  

  
By signing this form, I understand that, upon licensure, it is my responsibility to obtain supervision and 
to practice occupational therapy pursuant to the laws of the State of Maine and all rules of the Board 
of Occupational Therapy Practice. I also understand that if this supervisory relationship changes, it is 
my responsibility to notify the Board within ten (10) days of the change. 
  
Signature of Applicant: ____________________________________ Date: _____________________ 
  

Name of Supervisor: Maine License Number: 
  

  
By signing this form, I agree that, upon licensure of the above named applicant, I will provide supervi-
sion pursuant to the laws of the State of Maine and all rules of the Board of Occupational Therapy 
Practice. Further, I understand that I am legally and ethically responsible for the professional activities 
for this and other occupational therapy assistant(s) and/or temporary occupational therapist(s) under 
my supervision. I also understand that if this supervisory relationship changes, it is my responsibility 
to notify the Board within ten (10) days of the change. 
  
Signature of Supervisor: _________________________________  Date: _____________________ 
  

 

s t a t e  o f  m a i n e  
D e p a r t m e n t  o f  P r o f e s s i o n a l  

a n d  F i n a n c i a l  R e g u l a t i o n  

Board of Occupational Therapy Practice 

 3 5  s t a t e  h o u s e  s t a t i o n  
a u g u s t a ,  m a i n e  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

  

  
Paul R. LePage   

  
Anne L. Head 

Governor   Commissioner 

  
  
  

 
Printed on recycled paper 

  
  
  

  
O f f i c e  P h o n e :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 2 6  

T T Y  u s e r s  c a l l  M a i n e  r e l a y  7 1 1  
O f f i c e s  L o c a t e d  A t :   7 6  N o r t h e r n  A v e n u e ,              

G a r d i n e r ,  M a i n e  

  
f a x :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 3 7  



 

s t a t e  o f  m a i n e  
D e p a r t m e n t  o f  P r o f e s s i o n a l  

a n d  F i n a n c i a l  R e g u l a t i o n  

Board of Occupational Therapy Practice 

 3 5  s t a t e  h o u s e  s t a t i o n  
a u g u s t a ,  m a i n e  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

  

  
Paul R. LePage   

  
Anne L. Head 

Governor   Commissioner 

  
  
  

 
Printed on recycled paper 

  
  
  

  
O f f i c e  P h o n e :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 2 6  

T T Y  u s e r s  c a l l  M a i n e  r e l a y  7 1 1  
O f f i c e s  L o c a t e d  A t :   7 6  N o r t h e r n  A v e n u e ,      G a r d i -

n e r ,  M a i n e  

  
f a x :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 3 7  

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE FORM 
(for use by applicants licensed or certified in another jurisdiction) 

Page 1 of 2 

 
 

The applicant listed below is applying to practice as an occupational therapist in the State of Maine.  
The Board of Occupational Therapy Practice requests written verification from all states that the          
applicant holds or has held any certification or licensure.  This is your authority to release any              
information in your files, favorable or otherwise.  
 
 
 

Directions to applicant: 
 
Complete page 1 of this form and forward pages 1 and 2 to the state where you hold or have held          
licensure or certification. Because some states charge a fee to complete this form, you should check 
with each state before mailing. All fees are the responsibility of the applicant. If verification is needed for 
more than one (1) state, please copy form as needed. 

Name: 

  

Mailing Address: 

  

City: 

  
State: Zip Code: 

  

License Number: 

  
State: Date of Issue: 

Signature of Applicant: 

  
Date: 
  

Directions to State Board: 
 
Complete page 2 of this form and return pages 1 and 2 directly to the Board by mail or courier: 
 

  U.S.P.S. Mailing Address: Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 
              -or- 

 

  Courier/Delivery Address: Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 



Board of Occupational Therapy Practice 

Verification of Licensure (Page 2 of 2) 
 

  Name of Applicant:   _____________________________ 

  
  
Exam taken: 
  
Date exam passed: 
  

 

____________________________________________ 

  
__________________ 

If no examination was taken, how was licensure obtained? 
  
    Grandfathered           Endorsement/Comity from which state: _______________________ 
 

      Other   __________________________ 
  

What were the requirements for education at the time the license was issued? 

   ________________________________________________________________________ 
 

   ________________________________________________________________________ 

  
   ________________________________________________________________________ 

  

  
Are there any pending complaints against this licensee? 
If yes, please explain: 
  
  
  

  
[   ] Yes    [   ] No 

  
Have there been any other actions taken against this licensee? 
If yes, please explain: 
  
  
  

  
[   ] Yes    [   ] No 

  
Is the licensee considered to be in good standing in your state? 
If no, please explain: 
  
  
  

  
[   ] Yes    [   ] No 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

State Board Seal 

  
Signature: _____________________________________ 

  
Printed Name: __________________________________ 

  
Title: _________________________________________ 

  
State: __________    Phone Number ________________ 

  
Date: _______________________ 

  


