
 

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL  

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

REGULATION  
COMPANY APPLICATION  

Office Use Only: 
 

Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic.  #_______________ 
Issue Date___________ 
Exp.  Date___________ 

APPLICANT INFORMATION  (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME          
FEIN OR SSN 
PHYSICAL ADDRESS  
CITY                                                           STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 
MAILING ADDRESS  
CITY                                                           STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 
PHONE #  (       )                                        FAX #  (       )                                E-MAIL 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and 
belief.  By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for 
issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, 
fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

SIGNATURE DATE 

PAYMENT OPTIONS:   
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)        FIRST                                  MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation to 

charge my             ⁫  VISA                  ⁫  MASTERCARD         the following amount:  $____________ 

   ⁫I understand that fees are non-refundable 

                      Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 

 

 
Maine Manufactured Housing Board  

 

LICENSE TYPE (check one box): 

⁫ MANUFACTURER (MF1421) FEE:  $100.00 

⁫ DEALER (DL1421) FEE:  $100.00 

⁫ DEVELOPER DEALER (DD1421) FEE:  $100.00 

⁫ INSTALLER (INS1421) FEE:  $100.00 

⁫ DEALER BRANCH (DLB1421) FEE:  $100.00 

Office Use Only: 
 

DLB1421 - $100.00 
other 1421 - $100 

 

2619 - $21.00 

 

ENTITY TYPE (check one box): 

⁫ CORPORATION 

⁫ LIMITIED LIABILITY COMPANY 

⁫ PARTNERSHIP 

⁫ 
SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP   
NOTE:  IF SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP, YOU 
MUST INCLUDE AN ADDITIONAL $21.00 
BACKGROUND CHECK FEE. 

NAME OF PARENT COMPANY (IF APPLICABLE) MAINE SALES TAX NUMBER 

ANY OTHER NAME USED DATE OF BIRTH 



APPLICATION GUIDELINE 

 
Enclosed are all relevant materials for a dealer license in the State of Maine.  If you have 
any questions, you may contact the Maine Manufactured Housing Board office at  (207) 
624-8612 or (207) 624-8618.  

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS  

To apply for a dealer license, the following documentation must be submitted:  

1. A completed application; 
 
2. A State of Maine Sales Tax Number.  To obtain a sales tax number, you may contact 

Maine Revenue Services by telephone at (207) 624-9693;  
 
3. If the applicant is a corporation or a limited liability company, a certificate of existence 

from the Maine Secretary of State.  For assistance please contact them at (207) 624-
7752; 

 
4. For corporations not organized under Maine law, a certificate of authority from the 

Maine Secretary of State.  For assistance please contact them at (207) 624-7752; 
 
5. If the applicant is an out-of-state entity, a duly-executed power of attorney appointing 

the Executive Director as its agent for service of process in this State; 
 
6. Proof of products/completed operations liability insurance for a limit of not less than 

$1,000,000.00 per occurrence, bodily injury and property damage or combined single lim-
it, and proof of workers’ compensation insurance (unless waived in a manner approved 
by the Workers’ Compensation Board) and applicable to products sold, or work per-
formed in Maine.  Insurance policies must remain in effect while a license is active.  The 
liability policy must include mandatory notice of cancellation to the Manufactured Housing 
Board.  Sole proprietors, owners of a partnership and owners or members of a limited lia-
bility company need not provide proof of workers’ compensation insurance on them-
selves; 

 
7. Evidence of Completion of Qualifying (Initial) Education Training Program or a certificate 

of completion of a board-approved training program; 
 
8. Payment of the appropriate license fee; and 
 
9. If the applicant is a sole proprietor, payment of the criminal background check fee. 

QUALIFYING (INITIAL) EDUCATION TRAINING PROGRAM  

The Manufactured Housing Board is required to provide initial training in the servicing and in-
stallation of manufactured housing to all licensees and applicants for licensure beginning July 
1, 2000, pursuant to Title 10, Chapter 951 §9021(1-A).  Therefore, in order to obtain a license, 
it is mandatory to complete initial training or a certificate of completion of a board-approved 
training program prior to a license being issued.  Here is the link to our training page:  http://
www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/manufactured_housing/exam.html 



FEE SCHEDULE  

All fees are non-refundable and must accompany your license application.  Checks should be 
made payable to: Treasurer State of Maine. Fees will be charged for the following:  

 Original Dealer License  $100 
   
 Each Dealer Branch Location $100 
 
 Criminal Background Check      $21  



APPLICATION FOR A DEALER LICENSE 

1. LICENSE TYPE.  PLEASE CHECK THE TYPE OF HOUSING TO BE MANUFACTURED  
 
  HUD            State Certified Modular    Both 

2. For entities other than sole proprietors the following additional is required:  
 

 Partnership(s) – name and contact address of each partner. 
 Corporation(s) – name, contact address, and title of each corporate officer and director; 

name and contact address of each shareholder owning 10% or more of the voting stock of 
the corporation, including over-the-counter stock, unless the stock is traded on a major 
stock exchange and not over-the-counter. 

 Limited Liability Company – name and contact address for each member and manager  
described in 31 MRSA §655(1)(A). 

  Name(s) & Addresses of Partners, Corporate Officers & Directors, 
                         Shareholders or Members and Managers 

Name   

Address   

Date of Birth   Telephone Number Title Held 

Name   

Address   

Date of Birth   Telephone Number Title Held 

Name   

Address   

Date of Birth   Telephone Number Title Held 

 

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL  

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

REGULATION  
COMPANY APPLICATION  



Name of partner, corporate officer, member or manager who will be representing the 
applicant in matters before the board: 

Name 

3. ESTABLISHED PLACE OF BUSINESS.  Each applicant shall have an established place of 
business, provide a description of its location, and shall display an exterior sign.  The pri-
mary business location and any branch location must meet the following requirements.  

 
 A. Is the established place of business located in an enclosed building(s) which is in good  
  repair, free of obstruction and which has a source of heat?      □  Yes □  No 
 
 B. Does the established place of business have an office that is at least 100 square feet in  
  size, is used for the dealer’s business, is entered through an exterior door that is readily  
  accessible to the public, is completely enclosed by the floor to ceiling construction, and is  
  separate from any living quarters? □  Yes       □  No   
 
 C. Does the established place of business have business hours which are posted and  
  clearly visible on the exterior or through a window of the building? □  Yes               □ No

   

 D. Does the established place of business have a permanently mounted exterior sign that  
  displays the name of the applicant and is visible from the entrance of the business  
  establishment?  The face of the sign must be at least 12 square feet in size.   
  The lettering of the sign must be readable from a distance of 200 feet.  
  □ Yes  □  No  
 

E.  Does the established place of business conform to all local zoning, land use and signage  
 requirements?  If the requirements of this paragraph are inconsistent with local  
 requirements, the board may waive the requirements of this paragraph to the minimum  
 extent necessary to enable compliance with the local requirements.      □  Yes □  No 
 

4. BRANCH LOCATION(S).  Branch means an additional business location where the sale, 
 offering for sale, brokering or distribution of manufactured housing takes place and for 
 which an additional license fee in charged.  

 Name(s) and Addresses of Branch Location(s) 

  

Name of Branch Branch Manager 

Mailing Address Telephone Number 

Physical Address   

Name of Branch Branch Manager 

Mailing Address Telephone Number 

Physical Address   



5. The following questions must be answered by the owner, if the owner is a sole proprietor; the 
partner representing the applicant, if the applicant is a partnership; the corporate officer rep-
resenting the applicant, if the applicant is a corporation or the member or manager represent-
ing the applicant, if the applicant is a limited liability company.  

 
A. Have you within the last three (3) years ever been convicted of mishandling any funds or other 

property entrusted to you by a third party?      □  Yes  □  No 
  
 If yes, please give date, the circumstances surrounding the conviction and the sentence im-

posed. 
 
B.   Have you ever filed bankruptcy pursuant to Chapter 7, 11, or 13 of the Federal Bankruptcy      

Code?            □ Yes     □  No      
  
 If yes, state the number of times you have filed for bankruptcy and the date of last bankruptcy 

you filed. 
 
C. Have you ever been an officer of a corporation or a partner in a partnership that filed for bank-

ruptcy pursuant to Chapter 7 or 11 the Federal Bankruptcy Code?   □  Yes    □  No   
  
 If yes, state the name of the partnership(s) or corporation(s) and the date(s) of the bankruptcy 

filings. 

 
6. EMPLOYMENT RECORD.  Evidence of two years of work experience under the supervi
 sion of a dealer or manufacturer related to the type of manufactured housing that the ap
 plicant intends to sell, or evidence of work experience or training deemed equivalent by 
 the board.  

Name(s) & Addresses of Employer(s) 

Name of Employer Address Telephone Number 

Type of Business/Organization Dates Employed 

Duties and Responsibilities please use additional sheets if needed. 



 

Name of Employer Address Telephone Number 

Type of Business/Organization Dates Employed 

Duties and Responsibilities please us additional sheets if needed. 

Name of Employer Address Telephone Number 

Type of Business/Organization Dates Employed 

Duties and Responsibilities please us additional sheets if needed. 

7. REFERENCES.  Each applicant shall submit to the Board the names of three (3) individu
 als, including their telephone numbers and occupations, who can attest to the reputation, 
 character, and technical competence of the applicant. At least one of the references shall 
 be a licensee of the board, whose license number shall be stated;  

  Names and Addresses of References 

Name of Reference 
Address 

  Occupation and License Number 

Telephone Number 

Name of Reference 
Address 

  Occupation and License Number( if 
applicable) 

Telephone Number 

Name of Reference 
Address 

  Occupation and License Number (if 
applicable) 

Telephone Number 



8. INSTALLATION AND SERVICE.  Each applicant shall state whether it will use employ-
ees; the manufacturer; or both to install homes, or employ licensees of the board, to in-
stall homes;   

□ Manufacturer     □ Employees     □ Both     □ Licensed Installer       □ Licensed Mechanic  

Each applicant shall provide the names, license numbers, and addresses of all persons 
or companies that it subcontracts with to install and perform any necessary warranty 
service on the homes sold by the applicant.  Attach separate sheet for additional names, 
addresses, and license numbers.  

 Name(s) and Addresses of Subcontractor(s) 

Board Licensee Address License Number 

Board Licensee Address License Number 

Board Licensee Address License Number 

9. AGE.  The applicant must be eighteen (18) years of age.     □ Yes    □  No 

10. SOLE PROPRIETOR’S CRIMINAL HISTORY.  Please answer the following questions. 

 a. Are you currently under indictment or information for a crime?   □  Yes    □  No 

 b. Have you ever been convicted of a crime?        □  Yes     □ No
  if yes, provide the date(s) of the conviction(s). 
 
 c. Are you a fugitive from justice?      □  Yes    □  No 

 d. Are you an illegal alien?       □  Yes    □ No 

11.   PROFESSIONAL LICENSES.  Please list any professional licenses held.  

 ____________________________________________________________________________ 
 ____________________________________________________________________________ 

 Has there been any disciplinary action taken against those licenses?     □  Yes    □  No 

12. FEES.  All fees are non-refundable.  Please refer to the application guide for the appropri-
 ate license fee.  

BY MY SIGNATURE, I AFFIRM THAT ALL INFORMATION PROVIDED IN CONNECTION WITH THIS 
APPLICATION IS TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF, WITH THE UNDER-
STANDING THAT ANY OMISSIONS, INACCURACIES, OR FAILURE TO MAKE FULL DISCLOSURE 
MAY BE DEEMED SUFFICIENT REASON TO SUSPEND OR RECOMMEND REVOCATION OF A LI-
CENSE ISSUED BY THE DEPARTMENT.  I FURTHER AUTHORIZE ALL LAW ENFORCEMENT 
AGENCIES AND OFFICIALS THERETO TO RELEASE TO THE DEPARTMENT ANY AND ALL CRIMI-
NAL HISTORY RECORD INFORMATION PERTAINING TO MYSELF. 
 
 
 
Signature of Applicant  ______________________________________ Date ____________ 



 

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL  

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

REGULATION  
COMPANY APPLICATION  

Instructions for Completion of Consent to Service of Process Form 
 

For Out-of-State or Out-of-Country Entities Only 
 
 

 
 
1. The name of the applicant is to be inserted in the blank space on line 1. 

 
 2. The type of person executing the form is to be described by striking out the inap

 plicable nomenclature in lines 2-4 and, if appropriate, by inserting a description of 
 the person in the blank space provided on line 2 of the form. 

 
3. The name of the jurisdiction under which the issuer was formed or is to be formed 
 is to be inserted in the blank space on line 3 of the form. 
 
4. The person whom a copy of any notice, process of pleading which is served pur
 suant to the Consent to Service of Process is to be inserted in the appropriate 
 blank spaces at the end of the form. 
 
5. A manually signed form must be filed with the State of Maine Manufactured Hous
 ing Board, 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0035. 
 
6. The applicant must sign the form.  If the applicant is a corporation, it should be 
 signed in the name of the corporation by a designated officer duly authorized; if a 
 partnership, it should be signed in the name of the partnership by a general part
 ner; and if an unincorporated association or other organization which is not a part
 nership, the form should be signed in the name of such organization by a person 
 responsible for the direction or management of its affairs. 



 

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL  

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

REGULATION  
COMPANY APPLICATION  

CONSENT TO SERVICE OF PROCESS FOR OUT-OF-STATE OR OUT-OF-COUNTRY EN-
TITIES 

 
 

The undersigned applicant licensee ______________________________________________,

(sole proprietor), (a corporation), (a partnership), or a (_________________________)[strike 

out inapplicable nomenclature] organized under the laws of ___________________________,  

for purposes of complying with the laws of the State of Maine indicated hereunder relating to 

the manufacturing, sales, servicing and/or installation of manufactured housing, hereby irrevo-

cably appoints the Executive Director of the State of Maine Manufactured Housing Board and 

the Director’s successors in such offices, upon whom may be served any notice, process or 

pleading in any action or proceeding against the applicant licensee may be commenced in any 

court of competent jurisdiction and proper venue within the State of Maine by service of pro-

cess upon the individual so designated with the same effect as if the undersigned was orga-

nized or created under the laws of the State of Maine and has been served lawfully with pro-

cess in that State. 

 It is requested that a copy of any notice, process, or pleading served hereunder be 

mailed to: 

___________________________________________________________________________ 

Name 

___________________________________________________________________________ 

Address 

Dated this  ______________ day of ______________, 20_____. 

 

By _________________________________________      

 

Title ________________________________________ 



Before you seal the envelope, did you: 
 

 Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned) 
 Answer the criminal background disclosure questions 
 Sign and date your application 
 Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature) 
 Include required Insurance (with Manufactured Housing Board as the Certificate Holder) and Workers’ 

Compensation Information 
 Make a copy of your application to keep for your records 

NOTICES 
 

BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of 
the application process for all applicants. 
 

PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq).  Public 
records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part 
of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to which this 
information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or 
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974. Disclosure of your Social Security 
Number is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 36 MRS §175 as 
authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(c)(2)(C)(i)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor 
or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No further 
use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRS §191. 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 
 

 Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  
04333-0035 
 

 Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 

 What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes.  You will not leave with a license, though. 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license?  No.  Your license will be mailed to you. 
 

 How long does it take to process an application?  You can check our website: 
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.  Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as  
your status is ACTIVE you are authorized to practice. 
 

 How far back do I go answering the criminal question?  Any conviction, ever. 

MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 
STATE OF MAINE    

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION -  
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333  Courier/Delivery address:  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 
Phone:  (207) 624-8612    Fax:  (207) 624-8637   TTY users call Maine Relay 711  Web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 


