
 

 

 

State of Maine 
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation 
Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 

 
INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION  

APPLICANT INFORMATION  (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME         FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED: 

DATE OF BIRTH            mm /  dd  / yyyy                                        SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER                -            - 

MAILING ADDRESS  
CITY                                                           STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 
PHONE #  (       )                                        FAX #  (       )                                E-MAIL 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE   
NOTE:  Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license. 

 

1.  Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime?   (circle one)        NO             YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment. 
 

2.  Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,  
     or denied your application for licensure?  (circle one)                                      NO            YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents. 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.  
By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of 
my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines, 
suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

SIGNATURE DATE 

PAYMENT OPTIONS: 
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” – if you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)          FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation to 
charge my     VISA        MASTERCARD  the following amount:  $____________ 

     I understand that fees are non-refundable 

Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 

Interpreters & Transliterators of ASL & English Program 

Required Fee:  $221. Limited Interpreter or $121. Limited Deaf Interpreter  

                   (includes criminal records check fee)   

                                  

LICENSE TYPE:    
 

   LIMITED INTERPRETER (LIT1421)                             

                        

   LIMITED DEAF INTERPRETER (LDT1421)                              

 

Office Use Only: 
1421 - $200.00 LIT 
1421 - $100.00 LDT 

2619 - $21.00 
 Office Use Only: 

 

Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic.  #_______________ 
 
Updated: July 8, 2013 



 

 

NOTICES 
 

BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of 
the application process for all applicants. 
 

PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq).  Public 
records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part 
of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to which this 
information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or 
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)).  Disclosure of your Social 
Security Number Is mandatory.  Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA 
§175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)).  Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax 
Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes.  No 
further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA §191. 

State of Maine, Department of Professional & Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 
Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333  Courier/Delivery address:  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  04345 

 Phone:  (207)624-8603 (TTY users call Maine relay 711) Fax:  (207) 624-8637    web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 
 

 Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  
04333-0035 
 

 Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 

 What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes.  You will not leave with a license, though. 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license?  No.  Your license will be mailed to you. 
 

 How long does it take to process an application?  You can check our website: 
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.  Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as  
your status is ACTIVE you are authorized to practice. 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 
 

 Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned) 

 Answer the criminal background disclosure questions 

 Sign and date your application 

 Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature) 

 Include any required transcripts or exam results 

 Make a copy of your application to keep for your records 

 DO NOT SEND CASH. 

What if I have other questions?  Visit our website at: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/
professions/interpreters/ or contact the office at Tel. 207/624-8603, (TTY users call Maine relay 711)       
e-mail: interpreters@maine.gov  



 

 

Please read the laws and rules governing the licensure and practice of 
Interpreters & Transliterators of American Sign Language and English 
prior to submitting your application. These are available at the following 
website: 
 
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/interpreters/
laws.htm 
 
 
Please include the following with your application: 
 

 Copy of High School Diploma or Equivalent 
 

 Sworn, Signed Notarized Code of Ethics (ATTACHMENT "A") 
 

 A Disclosure Statement  
 

 **Proof of having satisfied the educational requirements by Option I, II or 
III.   
 
 
** For Option 1, a completed Educational Requirements Worksheet accompa-
nied by course descriptions, syllabi and/or catalogs must be submitted with 
the application 
 
 



 

 

Option # I.  Proof of Education & Training in American Sign Language.   
 
**Proof of completion of at least 100 clock hours of instruction in American Sign Language 
(ASL) conducted by:  
 

An Instructor recognized by the ASL Teachers’ Association or a comparable or 
successor organization recognized by the Commissioner; 
 

An Interpreter certified by either the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. 
(RID) or the National Association of the Deaf, Inc. (NAD), or a comparable or 
successor organization recognized by the Commissioner; or 
 

An Instructor of courses conducted through an accredited college, accredited uni-
versity or accredited or approved high school or conducted by certification 
maintenance course sponsors approved by the RID, the NAD, or a compara-
ble or successor organization recognized by the Commissioner. 

 
AND 

 
Written proof of completion of at least 100 clock hours of instruction in the inter-
preting process.  Written proof shall consist of an official transcript issued by an 
institution of higher education or certificate signed by the instructor of a course 
given by an accredited college, accredited university or accredited or approved 
high school or conducted by certification maintenance course sponsors approved 
by the RID, the NAD, or a comparable or successor organization recognized by 
the Commissioner. 

 
** A completed Educational Requirements Worksheet accompanied by course descriptions, 
syllabi and/or catalogs 
 
 
 
 



 

 

Option # 2.  A letter attesting that the applicant's skill level in American Sign Language 
is equivalent to a person who has completed 100 clock hours of instruction in Ameri-
can Sign Language prepared and signed by: 

 

An Instructor recognized by the ASL Teachers’ Association or a comparable 
or successor organization recognized by the Commissioner; 
 

An Interpreter certified by either the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. 
(RID) or the National Association of the Deaf, Inc. (NAD), or a compara-
ble or successor organization recognized by the Commissioner; or 
 

An Instructor of courses conducted through an accredited college, accredited 
university or accredited or approved high school or conducted by certifi-
cation maintenance course sponsors approved by the RID, the NAD, or a 
comparable or successor organization recognized by the Commissioner. 
 

AND 
 

Written proof of completion of at least 100 clock hours of instruction in the interpreting 
process.  Written proof shall consist of an official transcript issued by an institution of 
higher education or certificate signed by the instructor of a course given by an accredit-
ed college, accredited university or accredited or approved high school or conducted 
by certification maintenance course sponsors approved by the RID, the NAD, or a 
comparable or successor organization recognized by the Commissioner. 

 
 

Option # 3.  Documentation of a score of 3.5 or higher on the Educational  
Interpreter Performance Assessment (“EIPA”). 



 

 

REGISTRY OF INTERPRETERS FOR THE DEAF:  CODE OF ETHICS 
Attachment "A"  

 
The Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. has set forth the following principles of ethi-
cal behavior to protect and guide interpreters and transliterators and hearing and deaf con-
sumers.  Underlying these principles is the desire to insure for all the right to communi-
cate. 

 
Interpreters/transliterators shall keep all assignment-related information strictly confidential. 

 
Interpreters/transliterators shall render the message faithfully, always conveying the content and spirit of 
the speaker using language most readily understood by the person(s) whom they serve. 
 
Interpreters/transliterators shall not counsel, advise or interject personal opinions. 
 
Interpreters/transliterators shall accept assignments using discretion with regard to skill, setting and the 
consumers involved. 
 
Interpreters/transliterators shall request compensation for services in a professional and judicious man-
ner.   
 
Interpreters/transliterators shall function in a manner appropriate to the situation. 
 
Interpreters/transliterators shall strive to further knowledge and skills through participation in workshops, 
professional meetings, interaction with professional colleagues, and reading of current literature in the 
field. 
 
Interpreters/transliterators, by virtue of membership or certification by the RID, Inc., shall strive to main-
tain high professional standards in compliance with the Code of Ethics. 
 

I swear that I have read, understand and agree to abide by the Code of Ethics of 
the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. as stated above. 

 

 

NOTARIZATION 

  

Printed or Typed Name of Applicant: ______________________________________________________ 

  

Signature of Applicant: ________________________________________________________________ 

  

State of: ___________________________________    County of : __________________________ 

  

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this      

         (Date) 

by: _______________________________________________________________________________ 

     (Name of person acknowledged) 

Signature of Notary: __________________________________________________________________ 

  

Name of Notary Public PRINTED or TYPED: _______________________________________________ 

  

Notary Public, State of:     ___  My Commission expires on: _____________________ 

  

  

  

  



 

 

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 
 
Mailing Address:                      Phone (voice):  (207) 624-8624 
35 State House Station  TTY / Hearing-Impaired: 1-888-577-6690 
Augusta, Maine 04333-0035   

 
Web site: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/interpreters/ 

   

PART 1 

 
 

      Place recent 

      Photo here. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LICENSE CATEGORY (Please check appropriate boxes.) 

 

  Certified Interpreter/Transliterator –- Specific certification(s) held: _________________________ 

 

   Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf ..................... Year First Issued: _______________________ 

 

   National Association of the Deaf (Level 4 or 5) ........ Year First Issued: _______________________ 

 

  Limited Interpreter/Transliterator –- 

 

   Has earned a of a score of 3.5 or higher on the Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment 

(“EIPA”).  Year Passed: ______________. 

 

   Has completed: (1) 100 or more hours of education in American Sign Language and (2) 100 or more hours of 

education in the interpretive process, or has: (1) documented skill level equivalent to 100 or more hours of education 

in American Sign Language and (2) completed 100 or more hours of education in the interpretive process. 

PART 2 

 

Post Secondary Academic Degree(s) 
Degree Year Institution Major or Program 

        

        

        

False statements on this form are punishable according to law. 

Interpreter/Transliterator Signature: 
  

  
Date: 

Contact the Office of Licensing & Registration with any questions about the licensure status of this Interpret-
er/Transliterator or the contents of this Disclosure Statement (TTY: 1-888-577-6690; e-mail: Mar-

lene.M.McFadden@Maine.gov; Phone: 207/624-8624). 

  

Part 1 of this Disclosure Statement Verified by OLR: 

Signature: 
  

  
Date: 

Printed Name: 

  
Interpreter/Transliterator Name: ___________________________ 

Check one:                Deaf                            Hearing 

  
License #: _________________    Expiration Date: June 30, 2009 
  

  
First year licensee was registered or licensed: _______________ 
  

 DISCLOSURE STATEMENT:  INTERPRETERS / TRANSLITERATORS FOR THE DEAF AND HARD-OF-HEARING 

mailto:McFadden@Maine.gov


 

 

Educational Requirements Worksheet for 
Licensed Limited Deaf Interpreter 

 
AMERICAN SIGN LANGUAGE (ASL) - 100 CLOCK HOURS  

 
Applicant’s Name: _______________________    
 
Applicant’s School: ______________________ 

 
INSTRUCTIONS: Place the relevant course(s) from your transcripts into the appropriate category on the work-
sheets.  A course cannot be used twice to fulfill more than one (1) content area.   
 
NOTE: You must attach a college catalog, description or syllabus to substantiate the specific material included in  
each course listed on the worksheet. 

 

Course Name Course No. RID/NAD/ASLTA/Instructor 
University/College/High School 

Clock Hours 

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

    

 

TOTAL HOURS     



 

 

**100 clock hours of instruction in the interpreting process, must include instruction in deaf  
culture and the ethics of interpreting.   
Credit may not be given for interpreting process clock hours that were completed prior to  
5 years from the date of application. 

Course Name Course No. RID/NAD/ASLTA/Instructor 
University/College/High School 

Clock Hours 

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

 

TOTAL HOURS     

Educational Requirements Worksheet for 
Licensed Limited Deaf Interpreter 

 
**INTERPRETING PROCESS - 100 CLOCK HOURS  

 
Applicant’s Name: _______________________    
 
Applicant’s School: ______________________ 

 
INSTRUCTIONS: Place the relevant course(s) from your transcripts into the appropriate category on the  
worksheets.  A course cannot be used twice to fulfill more than one (1) content area.   
 
NOTE: You must attach a college catalog, description or syllabus to substantiate the specific material  
included in each course listed on the worksheet. 


