Funeral Practitioner or Director
- An individual who is currently licensed as a Practitioner or Director may request that his/her license be place on inactive status.
- Each applicant must no longer be actively practicing funeral service in the State of Maine
- All inactive status licensees are required to renew their licenses annually but are not required to meet the continuing education requirement required by 32 MRSA, Chapter 21, Subchapter III, Section 1506(2) and the rules adopted under it.
- In order to reinstate a licensee's active license, the holder must comply with the continuing education requirement and fees as are provided in 32 MRSA, Chapter 21 and the rules adopted under it.
How to apply
Please make your checks payable to: "Treasurer, State of Maine".
- Annual (Fixed renewal date of February 28th)
- A late fee of $50 is assessed for licenses renewed after
the February 28 license expiration date.
- A person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants and is required to reapply with an original license application, documentation and fees.
- Continuing Education - None required; however, a holder of an inactive license who wishes to "activate" the license must comply with the continuing education requirement applicable to that license category.
- Fill out the online renewal application and submit.
The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.
September 11, 2013