Journeyman Oil Burner and/or Solid Fuel Technician

A Journeyman Oil Burner Technician is a person who is licensed by the Board to engage in the business of installing or servicing oil-burning equipment in the State of Maine. A Journeyman Solid Fuel Technician is a person licensed by the Board to engage in the business of installing and servicing solid fuel burning equipment in the State of Maine. A Journeyman Oil Burner and/or Solid Fuel Technician must be under the indirect supervision of a Master Oil Burner and/or Solid Fuel Technician.

MILITARY EXPERIENCE AND TRAINING
The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation wants to make sure that individuals who have military experience and training and who wish to obtain an oil and solid fuel or propane and natural gas technician's license receive appropriate credit for their military training and experience. If you have military experience and training in the oil, solid fuel, propane and natural gas field and want to become licensed in Maine as a Master or Journeyman Oil and Solid Fuel Technician or a Propane and Natural Gas Technician, please contact Bob LeClair (207-624-8678 or robert.v.leclair@maine.gov) or Catherine Carroll (207-624-8605 or catherine.m.carroll@maine.gov) before submitting an application. They will explain the application process and assist you in preparing your application for licensure.

Military documentation that may need to accompany your examination application includes:

  • A copy of your DD Form 214, Report of Discharge
  • A copy of your DD Form 2586, Verification of Military Experience and Training (VMET)

How to apply

Fees
  • Application fee of $25.00
  • License fee of $100.00
  • Criminal background check fee of $21.00
Term
  • Two years based on first licensure date
Requirements
  • Complete at least 1 year of experience as a licensed apprentice;
  • Successfully complete a Board approved course consisting, at a minimum, of 160 hours of study, of which at least 75 hours are made up of laboratory work on oil burning equipment and related systems and 6 months experience as a licensed apprentice; or
  • Successfully complete a minimum one-year accredited heating course at a Maine community college consisting, at a minimum, of 320 hours of study, of which at least 150 hours are made up of laboratory work on oil burning equipment and related systems
  • Affidavit signed by licensed Master Oil Burner Technician verifying required licensed hours
  • Student Certificate, Diploma or Transcript if applicant has completed 160 or 320 hours of study
Apply Now

Examination:

Examination Application form (PDF)

Get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 or higher to access PDF files.

Renewal fees and information

Fees
  • Biennial renewal fee of $100.00
Terms
  • Two years based on first licensure date.
Requirements
  • A late fee of $50.00 is assessed for licenses renewed up to 90 days after the license expiration date.
  • Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the expiration date but not more than 2 years may reinstate by paying the $100 license fee and $100 penalty fee.
    Reinstatement application
  • Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 2 years after the expiration date shall be subject to all requirements governing new applicants.
Renew Now
  • Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

    The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

Email the Board's Licensing Staff

Code Questions

Last Updated: August 21, 2014