Frequently Asked Questions - Elevator Inspector Licensees
How do I qualify to be licensed as an elevator inspector?
You must be certified as a Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI) and pass a State of Maine examination.
Do I need to pass a test?
Yes. A State of Maine exam based on Maine elevator laws and rules.
How do I apply for an exam?
Click HERE to download an exam application.
How do I schedule my exam?
You must submit your exam application no later than the last day of the month prior to examination.
How often is the test given?
4 times a year.
How much does the test cost?
$100 exam fee, $25 application fee.
Can I inspect an elevator that I service?
No. As a private elevator inspector, you cannot inspect an elevator that you service within 12 months from the date of servicing that elevator.
Is my application confidential?
No. With the exception of Social Security Number, all application information is public. Contact information provided to the Program is posted on our website.
If you cannot find the answer to your question, click HERE to send an e-mail message to the Elevator and Tramway Safety Program.
Last Updated: March 5, 2014