Master Electrician
Senior Master Electrician (over 70 years of age)

A Master Electrician is an individual engaging in, or about to engage in, the business of installing electrical wires, conduits, apparatus, fixtures and other electrical equipment.

MILITARY EXPERIENCE AND TRAINING
The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation wants to make sure that individuals who have military experience and training and who wish to obtain a electricians license receive appropriate credit for their military training and experience. If you have military experience and training in the electrical field and want to become licensed in Maine as a Master, Journeyman or Limited Electrician, please contact Bob LeClair (207-624-8678 or robert.v.leclair@maine.gov) or Catherine Carroll (207-624-8605 or catherine.m.carroll@maine.gov) before submitting an application. They will explain the application process and assist you in preparing your application for licensure.

Military documentation that may need to accompany your examination application includes:

  • A copy of your DD Form 214, Report of Discharge
  • A copy of your DD Form 2586, Verification of Military Experience and Training (VMET)

How to apply

Fees
  • License fee of $150.00 for Master Electrician, $20.00 for Senior Master Electrician (over age 70)
  • Application fee of $25.00
  • SBI Report fee of $21.00
Term
  • Two years from date of first licensure
Requirements
  • Examination - Complete at least 4,000 hours of service as a journeyman electrician or at least 12,000 hours of experience in electrical installations, as defined in section 1101, and complete a program of study comprising 576 hours as approved by the Electricians' Examining Board or from an accredited institution. The 576 hours shall consist of 450 hours of required study, including a course of not less than 45 hours in the current National Electrical Code and 126 hours of degree-related courses.
  • Reciprocity - The Electricians' Examining Board shall issue a license to any person who files a sworn application, is licensed by another state or territory of the United States that has a reciprocity agreement with the State of Maine, and who has been licensed and actively engaged in work as an electrician for a minimum of six years. The State of Maine presently has reciprocity agreements with New Hampshire and Vermont.
Apply Now

Examination:

Online applications are now available. To apply online, click here.

Reciprocity: Download Application (PDF)

Get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 or higher to access PDF files.

Renewal fees and information

Fees
  • Biennial renewal fee of $150.00 for Master Electrician
  • $20.00 for Senior Master Electrician (over age 70)
Terms
  • Two years based on first licensure date
Requirements
  • Continuing Education - 15 Hour current National Electrical Code update every three years.
  • A late fee of $50.00 is assessed for licenses renewed up to 90 days after the license expiration date.
  • Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the expiration date but not more than 2 years may reinstate by paying the $150 license fee and $100 penalty fee.
    Reinstatement application
  • Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 2 years after the expiration date but not more than 10 years may reinstate by requesting a meeting with the Electricians' Examining Board. The Board will determine whether to grant reinstatement or require an examination be completed.
    Reinstatement application over 2 yrs
Renew Now

The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

 

Email the Board's Permit Staff

Email the Board's Code Staff

Email the Board

 

Last Updated: March 3, 2014