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APPLICANT INFORMATION GUIDE 

The application material you have requested from the Board of Counseling Professionals is enclosed. It 
contains all the relevant materials you need to complete your application for registration as a counselor 
in the State of Maine. Please read all the information carefully. If you have any questions after reading 
this packet, please call or e-mail our office. 
 
FURNISHED TO APPLICANT 
 

• Applicant Information Guide 

• Individual License Application 

• Disclosure Statement Information Sheet  

• NPDB/HIPDB Self-query Report Information Sheet 
 
ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 
 
 

• Licensing Law for Counseling Professionals 

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for 
knowing and complying with all Maine Laws throughout your licensure. 
 

Available: http://janus.state.me.us/legis/statutes/32/title32ch119sec0.html or call (207) 624-8674 
 

• Licensing Rules for Counseling Professionals 

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for 
knowing and complying with all Board Rules throughout your licensure. 
Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#514 or call (207) 624-8674 

 

• Licensing Rules for the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation 
Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041  
 

• Statutory Authority, Titles 5 & 10 

Available: http://janus.state.me.us/legis/statutes/10/title10ch0sec0.html  

  http://janus.state.me.us/legis/statutes/5/title5ch0sec0.html  
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APPLICATION PROCEDURE 
 

 Please submit your application materials by mail or hand delivery to our offices. Fax submissions 
will not be accepted. If the application you submit to us is complete, it will be prepared and 
presented to the Board for official action.  

 
 If there are deficiencies with your application, you will be notified by mail.  

 
 If all components of the application are not complete ten (10) days prior to the Board 

meeting the application will not be reviewed at that meeting. Due to the volume of 
applications being reviewed by the Board at any given time, we cannot guarantee a particular 
review date, but the Board will endeavor to expedite the review of your application 

 
 Please do not call our office regarding the status of your application. Information about the status 

of applications may be found at the Office of Licensing & Registration’s website: 
http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing. We appreciate your thoughtful attention to this 
request. 

 
 

Registration 
 

A complete application shall include the following:  
 

 A completed and signed Application;  

 A copy of your Disclosure Statement;  

 NPDB/HIPDB Self-Query Reports; 

 Payment of an Application fee of $25.00;  

 Payment of a Registration fee of $50.00; and 

 Payment of a Criminal History Check fee of $21.00.  
Note:  All fees can be in one payment. 

                                  
Page 2 



 

 

 
 

 
Frequently Asked Questions: 

 

• Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  
04333-0035. 

 
• Where are you located?  122 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 

 
• What hours are you open?  8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays. 

 
• Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application?  Yes. You will not leave with a license, though. 

 
• Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you. 

 
• How can I check the status of my application? You can check our website: 

www.maine.gov/professionallicensing/license_search.htm.  
 

• How far back do I go answering the criminal conviction question?  Any conviction, ever. 
 

• Can I fax my application? No. 
 

 
 

NOTICES 
 

BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Licensing and Registration requires a criminal history records check as part of the 
application process for all applicants. 
 
PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq).  Public 
records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as 
part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to 
which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses 
listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)).  Disclosure of your Social 
Security Number Is mandatory.  Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA 
§175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)).  Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State 
Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised 
Statutes.  No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 
MRSA §191. 
 
 
 
 

 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 

 Complete every item on the application including the criminal background disclosure question. 
 Sign and date your application. 
 Include the required fee(s). Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or complete the    

      credit card section on the application. DO NOT SEND CASH. 
 Make a copy of your application to keep for your records. 
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STATE OF MAINE 
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL 

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
OFFICE OF LICENSING AND REGISTRATION 

 

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION 

  

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print) 
  
FULL LEGAL NAME             FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 
  
  
ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED 
  
  
DATE OF BIRTH      mm /  dd / yyyy 

  
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
  

  
MAILING ADDRESS 
  
  
CITY                                                STATE                    ZIP CODE                       COUNTY 
 
  
PHONE (       )                                FAX (       )                                  E-MAIL 
 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE   
NOTE:  Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license. 

 

1.  Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime?   (circle one)        NO             YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment. 
 

2.  Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,  
     or denied your application for licensure?  (circle one)                                      NO            YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents. 
By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and 
belief.  By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Licensing and Registration will rely upon this information for issuance of 
my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines, 
suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

SIGNATURE             DATE 

 
Board of Counseling Professionals Licensure 

 
Required Fee: $96 

(includes Criminal History Records Check Fee)  
 
Please Select License Type: 

 
   Registered Counselor (RC1421) 

 
 

 
 

Rev. 7/2008 

  
  
  

  
  

  
  

  
 

PAYMENT OPTIONS: 
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)        FIRST                                  MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 
  
I authorize the Dept. of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Licensing and Registration to charge my 
   VISA                   MASTERCARD                  the following amount:  $____________ 
  
 
                                                            Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 
SIGNATURE                                                                  DATE 

Office Use Only: 
 

Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic.  #_______________ 

Office Use Only: 
  

1421 - $50.00 
1446 - $25.00 
2619 - $21.00 



 
TRAINING 

Any statements of education and training shall be accompanied by documentation, i.e. copy of 
diploma, transcript, course certificate, etc. 

Sponsoring Agency or Organization: 
 
 

Sponsor’s Mailing Address: 
 
 

City: 
 
 

State: Zip Code: 

Objectives of Training: 

Date(s) of Training Hours of Training: 

 

Certificate Earned? 
 

 

[   ] YES  [   ] NO     (If yes, please attach a copy.) 
 

 

Document Hours Earned: 
 

College Credits _________ 
 

CEUs _________ 
 

Contact Hours _________ 

 

TRAINING 
Any statements of education and training shall be accompanied by documentation, i.e. copy of 

diploma, transcript, course certificate, etc. 
Sponsoring Agency or Organization: 
 
 

Sponsor’s Mailing Address: 
 
 

City: 
 
 

State: Zip Code: 

Objectives of Training: 

Date(s) of Training Hours of Training: 

 

Certificate Earned? 
 

 

[   ] YES  [   ] NO    (If yes, please attach a copy.) 
 

 

Document Hours Earned: 
 

College Credits _________ 
 

CEUs _________ 
 

Contact Hours _________ 
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TRAINING 
Any statements of education and training shall be accompanied by documentation, i.e. copy of 

diploma, transcript, course certificate, etc. 
Sponsoring Agency or Organization: 
 
 

Sponsor’s Mailing Address: 
 
 

City: 
 
 

State: Zip Code: 

Objectives of Training: 
 
 

Date(s) of Training: 
 
 

Hours of Training: 

 

Certificate Earned? 
 

 

[   ] YES  [   ] NO     (If yes, please attach a copy.) 
 

 

Document Hours Earned: 
 

College Credits _________ 
 

CEUs _________ 
 

Contact Hours _________ 

 
EDUCATION 

Include major fields of study, including degress and professional certifications held, and  
from where they were conferred. Specify highest degree. 

 School Name 
& Address 

Total 
Credit 
Hours 

Date 
Graduated

Major Minor Degree Number of 
Relevant 

Credit 
Hrs. 

High 
School 

 N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A 

GED 
 

 N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A 

College 
 
 

       

Graduate 
 
 

       

Post 
Graduate 
 
 

       

Other 
 
 

       

Total Relevant Credit Hours  
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Paid Work Experience 
Name of Employer: 
 
 

Name of Supervisor: 

Mailing Address: 
 
 

City: 
 
 

State: Zip Code: 

Term of Employment from: 
     Month/Year: ________________   to   Month/Year: ________________   
 

My Employer Considered this: 
     [   ] Full time     [   ] Half Time     [   ] Other, specify __________________ 
 
Duties: (be specific) 
 
 
 

Paid Work Experience 
Name of Employer: 
 
 

Name of Supervisor: 

Mailing Address: 
 
 

City: 
 
 

State: Zip Code: 

Term of Employment from: 
     Month/Year: ________________   to   Month/Year: ________________   
 

My Employer Considered this: 
     [   ] Full time     [   ] Half Time     [   ] Other, specify __________________ 
 
Duties: (be specific) 
 
 
 

Paid Work Experience 
Name of Employer: 
 
 

Name of Supervisor: 

Mailing Address: 
 
 

City: 
 
 

State: Zip Code: 

Term of Employment from: 
     Month/Year: ________________   to   Month/Year: ________________   
 

My Employer Considered this: 
     [   ] Full time     [   ] Half Time     [   ] Other, specify __________________ 
 
Duties: (be specific) 
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Practice 

Describe your practice, highlighting areas of specialization and expertise: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                   
Method of Payment 

Method of Billing: (previous experience and policy with regard to third party payment) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The fee schedule and provision for pro bono (non-compensated) work or sliding scale modifications of 
the fee schedule: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                                                              
Credentialing History  

 
Have you ever held a professional license/certification/registration in this or 
any other state/country? 

 
 

[   ] YES  [   ] NO 
 

If yes: 
Profession  License # State/Country Date Issued Expiration Date 
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Disciplinary History 

      
1. Do you have pending against you any complaints from a regulatory 

board or professional organization? If yes, please enclose a detailed 
explanation. 

 
2. Have you ever been or are you currently a defendant in a civil 

proceeding related to your professional activities? If yes, please 
enclose a detailed explanation. 

 

 
 

[   ] YES  [   ] NO 
 
 
 
 

 
[   ] YES  [   ] NO 
 

 
Affirmation 

 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate 
to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of 
Licensing and Registration will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this 
information is truthful and factual. I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, 
fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 
 
SIGNATURE: _______________________________________   DATE: ______________________ 
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S T A T E  O F  M A I N E  
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  P R O F E S S I O N A L  

A N D  F I N A N C I A L  R E G U L A T I O N  
Board of Counseling Professionals Licensure  

3 5  S T A T E  H O U S E  S T A T I O N  
A U G U S T A ,  M A I N E  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

 

JOHN ELIAS BALDACCI  ANNE L. HEAD 
GOVERNOR  DIRECTOR 

SUGGESTED FORMAT FOR DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 
 

Disclosure Statement 
A. Name, M.S. 
 Such-and-such Counseling Service 
 555 Main Street 
 City, Maine   (207) 666-7777 
B. Degree:  Highest degree and related field of study  

Licensure:  Please indicate here the license/registration type, original or renewal license, and 
the projected begin and end date of license term (2 year cycle).  (If conditionally licensed, 
please indicate). 
(Example: LCPC, original:  9/03  expiration: 9/05) 

C.  Areas of competence - I am trained for work with individuals, couples, and ....(continued 
concisely, but with a much detail as necessary to give clients an idea of the range of your skills 
and scope of your license/registration). 

D.  Course of Action- At the first interview ....(Include a description of your usual process of 
intake, assessment, and goal setting.  If clinically licensed, please also explain your process 
for diagnosing and treating.  This is designed to give your prospective client an idea of what to 
expect in counseling). 

E. Confidentiality - A statement indicating the limits and scope of confidentiality.  The following 
exceptions must be included: 

 1. Threat of serious harm to self or others. 
 2. Reasonable suspicion of child abuse, or abuse of elder or any incapacitated person. 
 3. Court order. 
 4. Voluntary release signed by client or guardian. 
 5. In defense against legal action or formal complaint which client makes before a court   
 or regulatory board. 
 6. During supervisory consultations. 
F.   Supervision – A statement indicating supervision arrangement of counselor, when applicable. 
G. Fee schedule, hours of business, policy regarding third party payments – explained with 

words that are clearly understood. 
H.  Accountability - A statement to the effect that “the practice of counseling is regulated by the 

Department of Professional and Finance Regulation, and complaints may be registered by 
contacting:   Board of Counseling Professionals Licensure 

   35 State House Station 
   Augusta, ME  04333 
   (207) 624-8674 
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O F F I C E  P H O N E :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 7 4  
 

 
PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER 

 
 

F A X :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 3 7  

 
 

( 8 8 8 ) 5 7 7 - 6 6 9 0  ( H E A R I N G  I M P A I R E D )  
O F F I C E S  L O C A T E D  A T :   1 2 2  N O R T H E R N  A V E N U E ,  

G A R D I N E R ,  M A I N E  
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 

 
 



 

S T A T E  O F  M A I N E  
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  P R O F E S S I O N A L  

A N D  F I N A N C I A L  R E G U L A T I O N  
OFFICE OF LICENSING & REGISTRATION 

3 5  S T A T E  H O U S E  S T A T I O N  
A U G U S T A ,  M A I N E  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

 

JOHN ELIAS BALDACCI  ANNE L. HEAD 
GOVERNOR  DIRECTOR 

National Practitioner Data Bank (“NPDB”) and 
Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (“HIPDB”) 

Self-Query Reports 
 

Pursuant to 10 M.R.S.A. §8003, sub-§10*, the Office of Licensing and Registration will require all 
applicants to submit a NPDB/HIPDB Self-Query Report as part of the initial application for licensure 
within each of the following allied health licensure programs effective November 1, 2007.  Applications 
received without the NPDB/HIPDB self-query report will be considered incomplete which will further 
delay the application process. 
 
* “National disciplinary record system.  Within the limits of available revenues, all bureaus, offices, boards or 
commissions internal or affiliated with the department shall join or subscribe to the national disciplinary record 
system used to track interstate movement of regulated professionals who have been the subject of discipline by 
state boards, commissions or agencies and report disciplinary actions taken within this State to that system.” 
 

Alcohol and Drug Counselors 
 License Alcohol and Drug Counselors 
 Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor 
 Certified Clinical Supervisor 
 Alcohol and Drug Counselor Aide 
Athletic Trainers 
 Athletic Trainers 
Chiropractic Licensure 
 Chiropractor, Chiropractic Assistant 
 Chiropractic Acupuncture 
Complementary Health Care   
 Acupuncturist, Naturopathic Doctor, 
 Naturopathic Acupuncture, Chinese Herbal 
 Formulation Certification 
Counseling Professionals 
 LP, PC, LMFT, LCPC, RC 
 Including Conditional 
Dietetic Practice 
 DI, DT / Including Temporary 
Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters 
 Hearing Aid Dealer and Fitter / Trainees 
Massage Therapists 
 Massage Therapist 
Nursing Home Administrators 
 AD, MLA, RC 
Occupational Therapy 
 OT, OTA / Including Temporary 

 
 

Physical Therapy 
 Physical Therapists 
 Physical Therapists Assistants 
Pharmacy 
 Pharmacist 
 Pharmacist Technician 
 Pharmacies 
 Mail Order Pharmacies 
 Mail Order Contact Lens Suppliers 
 Wholesale Distributor 
 Manufacturer 
Podiatric Medicine 
 Podiatrist, Resident Podiatrist 
Psychologists 
 Psychologist, Psychologist Examiners 
 Including Conditional and Temporary 
Radiologic Technologists 
 Radiologic Technologists – 3 authorities 
 Limited Radiographers / Special Permit 
 Including Temporary 
Respiratory Care 
 Respiratory Therapist 
 Respiratory Technician 
 Associate 
Social Worker Licensure 
 LS, LX, LM, LC, MC 
SLP and Audiologists 
 SLP, Audiologist 

 

The instructions to request a self-query report are available at NPDB/HIPDB’s website: 
www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov  

 
The website includes a Fact Sheet on self-querying, as well as FAQs to assist you 
in requesting a report.  Customer Service Contact information is provided below: 

 
NPDB-HIPDB Customer Service Center 

Tel:   (800)767-6732 
TDD: (703)802-9395 

Dated: September 28, 2007 


