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Unplanned School Closing — Teach-Out Option in Salon Setting #3/2015

(March 31, 2015)

On January 6, 2015, Mr. Bernard’s School of Hair Fashion, Inc. located at 711 Lisbon Street, Lewiston ME and
Mr. Bernard’s School of Hair Fashion, Inc. located at 66 Pine Street, Bangor ME closed abruptly, which caused
the displacement of about ninety-seven students and their inability to finish required hours to complete their
course of study in cosmetology.

Maine law provides a trainee track of study within a licensed salon (establishment) under the direct supervision
of a qualified licensed practitioner. A trainee may enroll in a licensed school to obtain theory-type education
and have those hours applied toward the 2,500 trainee course of study hours. However, program rules do not
address credit of hours or ability of a student with accumulated course hours obtained in a structured school
setting to apply those course hours toward a trainee course. The reason for not commingling hours between a
more structured educational school vs. non- structured on-the-job training is clear. However, the unplanned
closure of these two schools and the state’s interest in assisting these students causes the Department to take
steps to lessen the impact on students who have been unable to transition to another school.

Current rules of the program do not address this situation. In light of this, the Director issues this policy
statement to allow a student who was attending one of Mr. Bernard’s schools at the time of the schools’ closure
to obtain his or her remaining course hours of instruction through on- the- job experience in the practice of
cosmetology as a trainee.

Policy: A student who was enrolled at the time of the closing of the two schools identified herein with 1,000 or
more accumulated course hours may complete the balance of the required 1,500 school hours as a trainee at a
rate of one training hour for every .6 of a trainee instruction hour.

An affected student will be required to submit a trainee application for purposes of registration and submitting
information about the qualified supervisor who will conduct the training. Because a student enrolled in a
licensed school would have had to present post-secondary education and birthdate information, there will be no
further need to resubmit this information; there will be no charge for the trainee registration and no other
documentation required to be submitted by the affected student other than the information about the qualified
supervisor. However, upon filing for initial licensure, documentation of post-secondary education and birthdate
information may be required if it is not available from the student’s school records. A student who was enrolled
at the time of the closing of the two schools identified herein with less than 1,000 hours accumulated course
hours may request to have their accumulated cosmetology course hours applied toward completion of a full
trainee course of 2,500 hours.

Note: Final rules will be adopted in accordance with Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A of the Maine
Administrative Procedures Act. The final rules may differ somewhat from this policy statement, but the Office
will work with any individual who move forward prior to adoption to address any issues arising from those

differences.
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