Barber Instructor, Cosmetology Instructor

Instructor means a person may not instruct in any of the branches of aesthetics, barbering, limited barbering, cosmetology or nail technology unless that person holds a valid license to practice and is authorized to instruct in each respective practice issued under this chapter, except that when specifically authorized by law, physicians may instruct without holding a license to practice in a branch of aesthetics, barbering, limited barbering, cosmetology or nail technology.

How to apply

Fees
  • By Examination

    • License fee $20.00
    • Criminal background check fee $21.00

    By Endorsement

    • License fee $20.00
    • Criminal background check fee $21.00
Term
  • Coincides with practice license Annual October 31st
Requirements

Requirements for Licensure By Examination:

  • Submit an application for Instructor by Examination with appropriate fee made payable to Treasurer, State of Maine.
  • A high school diploma or its equivalent;
  • Hold a valid Maine Barber or Cosmetology License;
  • Demonstrate fifteen hundred (1500) hours of experience as a licensed barber or cosmetologist within three (3) years proceeding the date of application. Of the fifteen hundred (1500) hours, up to five hundred (500) hours may be substituted at the rate of one hundred (100) hours for each college credit earned. Evidence of work experience may be submitted by:
  • Copies of income tax "C" form for self-employment; or
  • W - 2 form for employment.

Educational requirements - In addition you must have completed one of the three requirements below:

  • Complete a course of study for the preparation of barber or cosmetology instructors consisting of at least one thousand (1,000) hours in not less than six (6) months in a school for barbering or cosmetology licensed by the Program; or
  • Complete twelve (12) credits from a post secondary school, college, or university in educational courses related to teachingt he Program has approved. The following topics are acceptable toward clock hours of post secondary credits:
    • History and philosophy of education;
    • Methods and materials in teaching;
    • Curriculum development;
    • Measurement and evaluation in teaching;
    • Business organization and management; or
    • Provide proof of a valid instructor license in another state and evidence of at least fourteen (14) clock hours or 1½ post-secondary credits of continuing education acquired within the past two (2) years from the date of application in courses or seminars relating to teaching.

    Once your application has been approved you will receive a packet with an affidavit in order for you to apply to take the exam. Exams are administered by D.L. Roope Administrations at PO Box 606, Hampden, Maine 04444 or call 888-375-2020 or www.dlroope.com.

    Once the Program receives nofication from you that you have passed the exams your instructors license will be issued.

    Requirements for Licensure By Endorsement:

    • Submit an application for Instructor by Endorsement with appropriate fee made payable to Treasurer, State of Maine.
    • A high school diploma or its equivalent;
    • Hold a valid Maine Barber or Cosmetology License;
    • Demonstrate fifteen hundred (1500) hours of experience as a licensed barber or cosmetologist within three (3) years proceeding the date of application. Of the fifteen hundred (1500) hours, up to five hundred (500) hours may be substituted at the rate of one hundred (100) hours for each college credit earned. Evidence of work experience may be submitted by:
    • Copiesof income tax "C" form for self-employment; or
    • W - 2 form for employment.

    Educational requirements - In addition you must have completed one of the three requirements below:

    • Complete a course of study for the preparation of barber or cosmetology instructors consisting of at least one thousand (1,000) hours in not less than six (6) months in a school for barbering or cosmetology licensed by the Program; or
    • Complete a course of study for the preparation of barber or cosmetology instructors consisting of at least one thousand (1,000) hours in not less than six (6) months in a school for barbering or cosmetology licensed by the Program; or
    • Complete twelve (12) credits from a post secondary school, college, or university in educational courses related to teaching the Program has approved. The following topics are acceptable toward clock hours of post secondary credits:
      • History and philosophy of education;
      • Methods and materials in teaching;
      • Curriculum development;
      • Measurement and evaluation in teaching;
      • Business

        or

        • Provide proof of a valid instructor license in another state and evidence of at least fourteen (14) clock hours or 1½ post-secondary credits of continuing education acquired within the past two (2) years from the date of application in courses or seminars relating to teaching.

      An original verification of licensure from the state you currently hold your license. This document is used to verify:

        Your professional education and hours granted;

        Verify that you took and passed a state level written and practical instructors examination. (You must have taken a state level instructors examination for both the written and practical examination. If not, you will be subject to taking the Maine exam);

        Current license and status of that license.

      An applicant who does not hold a current license issued by another state or other jurisdiction of the United States or another country may qualify for examination if the applicant presents proof of having satisfactorily completed a course of instruction in a licensed school or approved experience as a trainee
      considered by the director to have standards equivalent to or higher than the standards for instruction or experience set forth by this chapter, as long as no cause exists for denial of a license under section 14236-A. The applicant must also comply with all other requirements to become licensed and must pay the fee provided in section 14238.

Apply Now

Get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to access PDF files.

Renewal fees and information

Fees
  • Annual renewal fee is $20.00
Terms
  • This license renews annually October 31st.
Requirements
  • A person who submits an application for renewal after the expiration date is subject to a late fee of $50.00;
  • More than 90 days after license expiration date is subject to submitting a new application with appropriate fee and a late fee of $50.00 plus penalty fees of $25.00.
  • Lapsed license 4 years and beyond: Must pay required fee and retake the exam.
  • Reinstatement Application

Renewal reminders are mailed approximately 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Program informed of the current license address and/or to see that the license is renewed timely even if you do not recieve a renewal reminder.

  • Continuing Education - Once you officially hold an Instructor license, you will be required to comply with continuing education requirements in order to renew your license. You must also maintain a valid barber and/or cosmetology practice license (whichever applies in your case) at all times. All persons holding valid barber or cosmetology instructors licenses are required to complete fourteen (14) hours of continuing education prior to the October 31st renewals (biennially) i.e., 2011, 2013, 2015, etc.
Renew Now
  • Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

    The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

 

Last Updated: May 5, 2014