Barber

Barbering means any one or any combination of the following practices, when done for hire or compensation, upon the upper part of the human body for cosmetic purposes and not for the treatment of disease or physical or mental ailments:

A. Shaving or trimming the beard, manicuring the fingernails, or cutting, arranging, waving or styling the hair;

B. Giving facial and scalp massage or treatments with cosmetic preparations, either by hand or mechanical or electrical appliances;

C. Singeing, dyeing, tinting, bleaching or shampooing the hair or applying cosmetic preparations to the hair, scalp, face, neck or upper part of the body;

D. Removing superfluous hair from the face, neck or upper part of the body; or

E. Cutting, fitting, coloring or styling hairpieces or wigs.

How to apply

Fees

By Examination

  • License fee $20.00
  • Criminal Background Check fee $21.00
By Endorsement
  • License fee $20.00
  • Criminal Background Check fee $21.00
Term

By Examination

Annually October 31st.

By Endorsement

Annually October 31st.

Requirements

Requirements for Licensure By Examination:

Please contact D.L. Roope Administrations at PO Box 606, Hampden, Maine 04444 or call 888-375-2020 or www.dlroope.com. Make sure to complete and submit the application for Initial Licensure by Examination provided by D.L. Roope Administrations with the following information:

  • Appropriate fee made payable to Treasurer, State of Maine or if paying by credit card submit the credit card authorization form.
  • Notification of examination passing status.

Requirements for Licensure By Endorsement

Complete and submit the Application by Endorsement with the following information:

  • Appropriate fee made payable to the Treasurer, State of Maine or if paying by credit card submit the credit card authorization form.
  • Submit proof of being at least 17 years of age (birth certificate/driver's license, etc.).
  • Submit proof of having completed a 10th grade education or its equivalent;
  • An original verification of licensure from the state you currently hold your license. This document is used to verify:
    • Your professional education and hours granted;
    • Verify that you took and passed a state level written and practical examination. (You must have taken a state level examination for both the written and practical examination. If not, you will be subject to taking the Maine exam);
    • Current license and status of that license.
  • Licensed work experience may be considered if you have less than the required number of Barber curriculum hour from a licensed school. You must submit your evidence of Work Experience on the form provided in this application packet.
Apply Now

Get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to access PDF files.

Renewal fees and information

Fees
  • Annual renewal fee is $20.00.
Terms
  • This license renews annually October 31st.
Requirements
  • A person who submits an application for renewal after the expiration date is subject to a late fee of $50.00;
  • More than 90 days after license expiration date is subject to submitting a new application with appropriate fee and a late fee of $50.00 plus penalty fees of $25.00.
    • Lapsed license 4 years and beyond must pay required fee and retake the exam.
  • Reinstatement Application

Renewal reminders are mailed approximately 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Program informed of the current license address and/or to see that the license is renewed timely even if you do not receive a renewal reminder.

Renew Now
  • Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

    The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

 

Last Updated: May 5, 2014