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REVISED 05/06/2014 

 

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 

OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 

 
EXAM APPLICATION 

APPLICANT INFORMATION  (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME         FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED: 

MAILING ADDRESS  
CITY                                                           STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 
PHONE #  (       )                                        FAX #  (       )                                E-MAIL 

 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.  
By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of 
my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines, 
suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

 
 
SIGNATURE 

 
 

DATE 

DATE OF BIRTH            mm /  dd  / yyyy                                        SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER                -            - 

PAYMENT OPTIONS:   
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)        FIRST                                  MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation to 

charge my          ⁫  VISA                  ⁫  MASTERCARD  the following amount:  $____________ 

   ⁫  I UNDERSTAND THAT FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 

Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

 
 
SIGNATURE                                                                      DATE 

APPLICATION FOR  THE  
LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER EXAM (AP) 

 
 
 
 

X 
 

LICENSED REAL ESTATE APPRAISER  (AP) 
EXAM 

$30 

Office Use Only 
Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic. #________________ 
Issue Date___________ 
Exp. Date____________ 

Office Use Only: 
 

4695 
 
APPLICATION FEE 
1446—$30  
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REVISED 05/06/2014 

INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE AN APPLICATION TO SIT FOR THE 
LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER 

EXAM 
 

1. Complete the appraiser exam application (one page) 
 
2. Complete educational experience form and attach certificates of completion for  the following AQB ap-

proved courses: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ALL COURSES MUST BE APPRAISER QUAIFICATIONS BOARD (AQB) APPROVED.  THE CURRENT 
AQB  

APPROVED COURSE LIST IS AVAILABLE AT THE WEB SITE NOTED BELOW UNDER  THE 
EDUCATION PROGRAMS TAB, “AQB APPROVED REAL PROPERTY COURSES” 

 
https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s38ddcf9630f4e009 

 
 
3. Enclose check or money order payable to “Treasurer State of Maine” for $30.00 .  Alternatively you may 

fill out the credit card portion of the application. 
 

4. You may fax or email your application to the board if you are using a credit card. 
 
   FAX NUMBER: 207-624-8637   EMAIL:  rlestateappr.board@maine.gov 
 
 Or you may mail your application through the  U.S. Postal Service via, regular, priority, or express mail ser-

vices to: 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 

35 STATE HOUSE STATION 
AUGUSTA  ME  04333-0035 

 
(Please note that the USPS will only deliver to the address above and will NOT deliver to our physical 

location) 
 

If you wish to use an overnight mail service such as FedEx or UPS.  Please use our physical  
location: 

 
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 

BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 
76 NORTHERN AVENUE 
GARDINER, ME  04345 

15 HOURS RESIDENTIAL MARKET ANALYSIS AND HIGHEST AND BEST USE  

15 HOURS RESIDENTIAL APPRAISER SITE VALUATION AND COST APPROACH  

30 HOURS RESIDENTIAL SALES COMPARISON AND INCOME APPROACHES  

15 HOURS RESIDENTIAL REPORT WRITING AND CASE STUDIES  
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REVISED 05/06/2014 

 
EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE 

 
 
APPLICANT’S NAME:__________________________________________________________________ 

 
THE CURRENT AQB APPROVED COURSE LIST IS AVAILABLE ON THE WEB SITE UNDER  THE 

EDUCATION PROGRAMS TAB, “AQB APPROVED REAL PROPERTY COURSES” 
 

https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s38ddcf9630f4e009 
 
 

COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATES MUST ACCOMPANY THIS ATTACHMENT 
 
 

COURSE TITLE COURSE SPONSOR DATES TAKEN NO. 
HOURS 

FOR OFFICE 
USE 
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REVISED 05/06/2014 

INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE A  
LICENSE APPLICATION 

FOR A LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER (AP) 
  

UPGRADING FROM A TRAINEE 
 
 

1. Complete the 2000 hour and 1 year minimum of experience requirement.  If you have not submitted your 
monthly experience reports you should attach them with the license application 

 
2. If you have not already submitted an exam application you should submit one with the  
 license application. 
 
3. Complete the  license application. 
 
4. After your application has been reviewed, you will be requested by letter  to submit 3 appraisal samples 

randomly selected by the board.  Do not submit samples with your license application. 
 
5. Enclose check or money order payable to “Treasurer State of Maine” for $431.00.  Alternatively you may 

fill out the credit card portion of the application using a Visa or Mastercard. 
 

6. You may fax or email your application to the board if you are using a credit card. 
 
   FAX NUMBER: 207-624-8637  EMAIL:  rlestateappr.board@maine.gov 
 
 Or you may mail your application through the  U.S. Postal Service via, regular, priority, or express mail  
 services to: 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 

35 STATE HOUSE STATION 
AUGUSTA  ME  04333 

 
(Please note that the USPS will only deliver to the address above and will NOT deliver to our physical location) 

 
 
 
 

If you wish to use an overnight mail service such as FedEx or UPS.  Please use our physical location: 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 

76 NORTHERN AVENUE 
GARDINER, ME  04345 
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REVISED 05/06/2014 

INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE A LICENSE APPLICATION  
FOR A LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER (AP) 

 
VIA RECIPROCITY WITH ANOTHER STATE 

 
 Complete the one page licensed residential real property appraiser license application 
 
 Enclose an original “Certificate of Good Standing” from current license state 
 
 Enclose check or money order payable to “Treasurer State of Maine” for $431.00 .  Alternatively you 

may fill out the credit card portion of the application using a Visa or Mastercard 
 
 You may fax or email your application to the board if you are using a credit card. 
 
   FAX NUMBER: 207-624-8637   EMAIL:  rlestateappr.board@maine.gov 
 
 Or you may mail your application through the  U.S. Postal Service via, regular, priority, or express 

mail services to: 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 

35 STATE HOUSE STATION 
AUGUSTA  ME  04333 

 
(Please note that the USPS will only deliver to the address above and will NOT deliver to our physical location) 

 
 
 
 

If you wish to use an overnight mail service such as FedEx or UPS.  Please use our physical  
location: 

 
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 

BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 
76 NORTHERN AVENUE 
GARDINER, ME  04345 
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REVISED 05/06/2014 

 

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 

OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 
 BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 

 
LICENSE APPLICATION  

APPLICANT INFORMATION  (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME         FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED: 

MAILING ADDRESS  
CITY                                                           STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 
PHONE #  (       )                                        FAX #  (       )                                E-MAIL 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE   
NOTE:  Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license. 

 

1.  Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime?   (circle one)        NO             YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment. 
 

2.  Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,  
     or denied your application for licensure?  (circle one)                                      NO            YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents. 
3.  Have you graduated from high school or received a GED?  (circle one) NO YES 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.  
By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of 
my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines, 
suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

SIGNATURE DATE 

DATE OF BIRTH            mm /  dd  / yyyy                                        SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER                -            - 

LICENSE APPLICATION FOR  A  
LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER (AP) 

X 
LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY  

APPRAISER (AP)  
$431 

Office Use Only: 
4695 
1446—$30 
1421—$380(AP) 
2619—$21 

Office Use Only 
Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic. #________________ 
Issue Date___________ 
Exp. Date____________ 

PAYMENT OPTIONS:   
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)        FIRST                                  MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation to 

charge my          ⁫  VISA                  ⁫  MASTERCARD  the following amount:  $____________ 

   ⁫  I UNDERSTAND THAT FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 

Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

 
 
SIGNATURE                                                                      DATE 



  7 

 

REVISED 05/06/2014 

 

The following chart illustrates the current education, examination and experience requirements for 
real estate appraiser licensing as of 01/01/2008 

 
 
 

 
 
 

For more detailed information regarding the requirements for licensure please go to 
www.appraisalfoundation.org 

 
 
 

Appraiser Trainee (RA) Education: 
75 classroom appraisal course hours 
 
Must be supervised by CR or CG 

Licensed Residential Appraiser (AP) Education: 
150 classroom appraisal course ours 
 
Experience: 
2,000 hours in no fewer than 12 months 
 
Examination 

Certified Residential Appraiser (CR) Education: 
Associates Degree or 21 semester hours of required courses plus 200 classroom 
appraisal course hours 
 
Experience: 
2,500 hours in no fewer than 24 months 
 
 
Examination 

Certified General Appraiser (CG) Education: 
Bachelor’s Degree or 30 semester hours of required courses plus 300 classroom 
appraisal course hours 
 
Experience: 
3,000 hours in no fewer than 30 months 
 
Examination 
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REVISED 05/06/2014 

Frequently Asked Questions 
 

LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER (AP) 
 
 

 Is a high school diploma or GED required?  Yes 
 
 Hold old do I need to be to obtain a license?  You must be at least 18 years old. 
 
 I currently hold a trainee license.  Do l need a college degree to upgrade my  

license ?  The current licensing  criteria does not require a college degree to upgrade to a licensed 
residential appraiser, but an associates degree is required to upgrade to the certified residential level 
and a baccalaureate degree is required to upgrade to the certified general level. 

 
 I don’t have a college degree, are there any exceptions to the degree requirement?  In lieu of a 

degree the AQB will allow 21 semester hours for the associate degree and 30 semester hours for the 
baccalaureate degree.  The specific college courses are listed at the Appraisal Foundation web site:   
https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/sfd8ab4c6bab49fdb, in the “Real Property Appraiser 
Qualification Criteria”. 

 
 What is the core curriculum requirement for the licensed residential real property appraiser? 
 

 30 hours basic appraisal principles     
 30 hours basic appraisal procedures    
 15 hours the 15-hour national USPAP course or its equivalent  
 15 hours residential market analysis & highest and best use 
 15 hours residential appraiser site valuation & cost approach 
 30 hours residential sales comparison & income approaches 
 15 hours residential report writing and case studies 
  150 hours  TOTAL 

 
More core curriculum information may be found at:  https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/
sfd8ab4c6bab49fdb, in the “Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria”. 

 
 
 Where can I find a list of AQB approved courses and providers?  The approved course list may be 

found on the Appraisal Foundation’s web site:   
 

https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s38ddcf9630f4e009 
 

 
**NO COLLEGE DEGREE IS REQUIRED FOR THE  
LICENSED REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER (AP)  

LEVEL OF LICENSURE** 
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REVISED 05/06/2014 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 
 Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  

04333-0035 
 
 Where are you physically located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 
 What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays. 
 
 Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes.  You will not leave with a license, though. 
 
 Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license?  No.  Your license will be mailed to you. 
 
 How long does it take to process an application?  You can check our website: 

www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.  Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as  
your status is ACTIVE, you are authorized to practice. 

 
 How far back do I go answering the criminal question?  Any conviction, ever. 

 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 
 

 Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned) 
 Answer the criminal background disclosure questions 
 Sign and date your application 
 Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature) 
 Include any required transcripts or exam results 
 Make a copy of your application to keep for your records 
 DO NOT SEND CASH. 

NOTICES 
 

BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of 
the application process for all applicants. 
 

PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq).  Public 
records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part 
of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to which this 
information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or 
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974.  Disclosure of your Social Security 
Number Is mandatory.  Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 36 MRSA §175 as 
authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(c)(2)(C)(i)).  Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor 
or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes.  No further 
use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA §191. 


