Physician Assessment Form
Rural Medical Access Program
Fiscal Year July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023

Physician Name 	__________________________________________
Mailing Address	__________________________________________
				__________________________________________
E-mail address		__________________________________________
Telephone #	 	_____________________	 Maine Physician License #. __________________________
Name & phone # of person completing this form (if self, please note): ________________________________________
If you are exempt from the RMAP assessment, please note the reason below and provide an explanation:
 Not practicing in Maine        Telemedicine or radiology/film consultation        Federal Tort Claims Act      Retired      Other 
Explanation: ___________________________________________________________________________________________
If you are retired, please enter your retirement date______________.
(If you are exempt, you do not need to complete the remainder of this form.)

If you or someone else on your behalf paid the 2022-2023 RMAP assessment to an insurance company you do not need to remit an assessment with this form, but we require the following information:

Name of employer (if applicable):	_________________________________________

Employer contact person & phone #:	_________________________________________

Name of the insurance company:	_________________________________________

Malpractice policy #:  			_________________________________________

If you need to remit payment with this form, please calculate your assessment payment below.

Instructions for the Calculation of Assessment Due:
1) Locate your appropriate specialty area, class code, and rate class on the attached “Class Group Table” and enter it on the assessment form. For example, if you are a plastic surgeon, locate that specialty on the table and note the corresponding class code of 80156 and rate class of #8.
2) Using the attached “Annual Assessment Determination” table, locate your rate class on the left side and your number of years licensed in Maine along the top to determine your assessment. For example, a plastic surgeon (rate class #8) licensed for five or more years, would have an assessment of $132.  
3) If you did not practice medicine in Maine during the policy year, no assessment fee shall be collected; however, if you practiced part-time, or for any period of time, the assessment shall be prorated.  Examples of prorated calculations are enclosed.  
4) If the assessment is calculated to be less than $5.00, the assessment is waived, but the assessment form must still be submitted.
Class Code    __________ 		Rate Class    __________
Number of Years with Maine License (Please Circle One):	1	2	3	4	5+

Annual Assessment $ _________   Amount Paid $_________ Check #_________ Less than $5 Waived  |_|

Please make check payable to Rural Medical Access Program and mail the completed form with your assessment payment to:	 			Medical Mutual Insurance Company
RMAP Assessment
One City Center
P.O. Box 15275
Portland, ME 04112-5275
DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION OF FORM AND ASSESSMENT:  	December 1, 2023





CLASS GROUP TABLE
JULY 1, 2022 – JUNE 30, 2023


	SPECIALTY
	CLASS CODE
	RATE CLASS
	
	SPECIALTY
	CLASS CODE
	RATE CLASS

	Administrative medicine
	80111
	1B
	
	Nephrology (minor surg.)
	80287
	2A

	Aerospace medicine
	80230
	1C
	
	Neurology
	80261
	3

	Allergy
	80254
	1B
	
	Neuroradiologist
	80142
	8

	Anesthesiology
	80151
	2B
	
	Neurosurgery
	80152
	12

	Bariatric Surgery
	80104
	10
	
	Nutrition Medicine
	80248
	1C

	Cardiac Surgery
	80141
	10
	
	OB/Gyn Specialist Surgery
	80153
	11

	Cardiovascular Disease
 (minor surg.)
	80281
	4A
	
	Occupational Medicine
	80233
	1C

	Cardiovascular Disease
 (no cath.)
	80255
	2
	
	Oncology
	80473
	3A

	Consultant, NOC
	80268
	1D
	
	Ophthalmology
	80114
	3

	Dermatology (major surg.)
	80172
	6
	
	Oral Surgery
	80211
	5

	Dermatology (minor surg.)
	80282
	2A
	
	Orthopedic Surg. (excl. spine)
	80354
	7

	Dermatology (no surg.)
	80256
	1B
	
	Orthopedic Surg. (incl. spine)
	80154
	9

	Emergency Medicine
	80102
	5
	
	Orthopedics (no surg.)
	80469
	1

	Endocrinology
	80238
	1D
	
	Otorhinolaryngology
(major surg.)
	80159
	6

	Family/General Practice
	80420
	1
	
	Otorhinolaryngology 
(minor surg.)
	80291
	3B

	Family/Gen. Practice
(minor surg.)
	80423
	3A
	
	Pain Management
	80298
	4B

	Family/Gen. Practice (with OB)
	80421
	5
	
	Pathology
	80266
	1C

	Forensic/legal medicine
	80240
	1B
	
	Pathology (minor surg.)
	80292
	3A

	Gastroenterology (minor surg.)
	80274
	3B
	
	Pediatrics
	80267
	1

	General Preventative (no surg.)
	80231
	1C
	
	Physical Med. & Rehab
	80235
	1B

	General Surgery
	80143
	9
	
	Plastic Surgery
	80156
	8

	Geriatrics
	80243
	1D
	
	Podiatrist (no surg.)
	70992
	1

	Gynecological Surgery
	80167
	7
	
	Podiatrist Surgery
	80993
	4B

	Gynecology (no surg.)
	80244
	1
	
	Psychiatry
	80249
	1B

	Hand Surgery
	80169
	7
	
	Public Health
	80236
	1C

	Hematology
	80245
	1
	
	Pulmonary Medicine
	80489
	3A

	Hospitalist
	70284
	2B
	
	Radiation Oncology Therapy
	80262
	1D

	Infectious Diseases
	80246
	2
	
	Radiology
	80280
	4B

	Intensive Care Medicine
	80283
	3B
	
	Rheumatology
	80252
	1D

	Internal Medicine (minor surg.)
	80284
	3A
	
	Thoracic Surgery
	80144
	10

	Internal Medicine (no surg.)
	80257
	2
	
	Urgent Care
	80424
	2B

	Neonatology
	80471
	3
	
	Urology Surgery
	80145
	6

	Neoplastic Disease
 (minor surg.)
	80286
	3A
	
	Vascular Surgery
	80146
	10



Please see reverse side for annual assessment table


ANNUAL ASSESSMENT DETERMINATION
JULY 1, 2022 – JUNE 30, 2023
	
	RATE CLASS
	Years Licensed in Maine
	

	
	
	1
	2
	3
	4
	5
	

	
	1B
	$7
	$14
	$21
	$23
	$25
	

	
	1C
	$9
	$17
	$26
	$29
	$31
	

	
	1D
	$10
	$19
	$28
	$31
	$34
	

	
	1
	$11
	$23
	$33
	$37
	$40
	

	
	2
	$12
	$24
	$36
	$40
	$43
	

	
	2A
	$13
	$26
	$39
	$43
	$47
	

	
	2B
	$14
	$28
	$41
	$45
	$49
	

	
	3
	$15
	$29
	$43
	$48
	$52
	

	
	3A
	$16
	$31
	$45
	$51
	$55
	

	
	3B
	$17
	$33
	$48
	$54
	$58
	

	
	4A
	$19
	$37
	$54
	$60
	$65
	

	
	4B
	$22
	$42
	$62
	$69
	$75
	

	
	5
	$23
	$45
	$66
	$74
	$80
	

	
	6
	$24
	$48
	$70
	$79
	$85
	

	
	7
	$34
	$66
	$98
	$109
	$118
	

	
	8
	$38
	$74
	$109
	$122
	$132 
	

	
	9
	$44
	$87
	$127
	$143
	$154
	

	
	10
	$49
	$96
	$141
	$158
	$171
	

	
	11
	$57
	$112
	$164
	$183
	$197
	

	
	12
	$83
	$163
	$240
	$268
	$289
	


PLEASE NOTE THAT THE ABOVE ASSESSMENTS AND CLASS GROUPS HAVE CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR:  7/1/2021 – 6/30/2022.

How to calculate assessment for part time physicians
Examples:
A Podiatrist (surgery) with 5+ years 
Class = 4B
Rate = $75

working 1 day a month
1/30 = .0333
$105 x .0333 = $2.50 waived

working 1 day a week
1/7 = .14
$105 x .14 = $10.50

working only 3 months in fiscal year July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023
3/12 = .25
$105 x .25 = $18.75
