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2. 

The Maine Bureau of Insurance regulates the insurance 

industry to protect and to serve the public. 

A company may nonrenew your policy for any reason after giving a  
minimum of 30 days notice before the expiration date of the policy. If your 
policy has been nonrenewed, you are not entitled to a hearing before the  
Superintendent of Insurance. 

Other Types of Insurance to Consider 

There are other types of insurance coverage that are available to business  
owners besides the two types of coverages described in this booklet. Check 
with your insurance agent to choose the insurance coverage that best meets 
your needs. 

Boiler and Machinery pays for loss or damage to your property as a result of a 
sudden and accidental breakdown of equipments. 

Business Income or Interruption pays for lost earnings if you must close your 
business because of an insured property loss. 

Cargo and Transportation insurance covers products transported by your 
company. 

Inland Marine insurance covers your equipment that is used off premises. 

Workers Compensation insurance covers on-the-job injuries of your employees. 
It may also be possible to cover yourself, check with your agent. 

Visit the Bureau’s Website at: 

www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance 
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Contact information:Contact information:Contact information:Contact information:    

Bureau of Insurance  
34 State House Station 
Augusta  ME 04333 

1.800.300.5000 (in Maine)5 207.654.84755 
TTY Please Use Maine Relay 711



Liability Insurance 
 
Liability coverage protects you if someone is hurt while using your product or 
service or if someone is injured while on your property. Liability insurance can 
be an important coverage as a lawsuit could mean a large loss to your business. 
Consequently, you should carry enough liability insurance to protect your  

business from financial loss resulting from injuries, 
deaths, or property damage that are caused by your prod-
ucts, business operations, or employees. 
 
The Farmowners policy provides liability coverage for 
your personal exposure as well as your farm exposure. It 
includes coverage for damage caused to others due to 
sale of produce or ownership of animals. 
 

 

What Happens if my Policy is Cancelled or Nonrenewed? 
 
Cancellation means that the insurance company is terminating your policy at 
some time between the effective date of your policy and its anniversary date. 
 
Nonrenewal is when the company decides that it will not continue your  
policy after the anniversary date of your current policy. 
 
A company can cancel your policy for one of the following reasons: 

• Nonpayment of premium; 

• Fraud or material misrepresentation made in obtaining the policy, 

continuing the policy, or in presenting a claim under the policy; 

• Substantial change in the risk which increases the risk of loss; 

• Failure to comply with reasonable loss control recommendations 

made by the company; 

• Substantial breach of contractual duties, conditions or warranties;  

• Determination by the Superintendent that continuation of the class 

of business will jeopardize the company’s solvency or place the 
insurer in violation of the insurance laws. 

If your policy has been in effect for 60 days or more when a notice of  
cancellation is mailed from your insurer, you may request a hearing before the 
Superintendent of Insurance. You can do so by sending a written request to the 
Bureau of Insurance by mail or by fax, or by calling us. (See the contact infor-
mation on the next page.) You must request the hearing within 45 days of your 
receipt of the notice.  
 
Policies in effect less than 60 days when the cancellation notice is mailed or 
otherwise delivered do not have the right to a hearing, unless the policy is a  
renewal of a prior policy with that insurer. 
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Insuring Your Farm...  

The Basics of Property & Liability Coverage 
 

Although Maine law does not require you to have property and liability  
insurance on your business, you may want to buy coverage to protect you, your  
property, and your financial investment. Without insurance protection your 
business could face financial ruin either because of a property loss or a lawsuit. 
Although there are various types of coverage that a small business owner can or 
must buy, this brochure describes only property and liability coverage. If you 
have questions concerning coverage, check with your insurance agent or call the 
Maine Bureau of Insurance at (800) 300-5000 (in Maine) or (207) 624-8475. 
 
Depending on the type of business, the best policy for you might be a  
commercial package policy or a Farmowners policy. With a commercial pack-
age policy, you and your agent choose the coverages you will buy, whereas  
Farmowner policies contain pre-packaged coverages. A Farmowners Policy is a 
specialized package that includes coverage for both your farm operations and 
your residence premises. These policies generally cover the personal exposures 
of the residence dwelling, other private structures (i.e. residential garages), 
household personal property and loss of use of your residence in addition to the 
commercial farm exposures (barns, hay, machinery, livestock and farm help). 
 
All policies contain exclusions and other limitations of coverage. It is important 
to review your entire policy to determine if you have exposures that may not be 
covered. It is also very important to note the coinsurance requirements of your 
policy. (Coinsurance is the minimum amount of insurance that you must carry 
before most companies will fully reimburse you for a partial loss.) You may 
want to discuss with your agent optional coverages such as Building Glass,  
Outdoor Signs, Boiler and Machinery or Mechanical Breakdown, Business  
Interruption, Extra Expense (to continue operations after a covered loss), Work-
er’s Compensation, Crop Insurance, Earthquake, Flood, or Peak-Season cover-
age. 
 

Property Damage – Residen-

tial 

This section of the policy covers damage to 
your home and personal property. Personal 
property includes the contents of your home 
and other personal belongings owned by 
you or family members who live with you.  
Some forms of personal property, such as silverware, computers, guns, money, 
antiques, and jewelry, have limited coverage under your policy and may need 
additional insurance. 
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You may choose to insure your home and belongings for either replacement 
cost or actual cash value. These terms are described below. Most policies 
require that you insure your home for a specified percentage (usually 80% 
or 100%) of the cost to replace the home. Under a homeowners policy, the 
limits for detached private structures, household contents, and loss of use 
are a percentage of the limit on the dwelling itself. Under a Farmowners 
policy, however, you may need to establish the limit you need for the 
household contents. It may also be necessary to separately list and  
determine the limit for your detached private garage and other structures. 
Loss of Use coverage is provided at a percentage, usually 10%, of the limit 
on the residence. This covers the additional expenses you incur if a covered 
loss makes the residence uninhabitable. 

 

 

Property Damage – Farm  
 

Your property is the building and equipment that 
you own. Property insurance is one of the most im-
portant types of insurance that you can buy to pro-
tect the property, the inventory, and equipment used 
in running your business. 
 

Types of Property Coverage 

 

Basic Form or Named Peril – The “basic form” or “named peril” policy 
only gives you protection from events that are specifically listed in the pol-
icy. Examples of these listed events include: fire, hail, vandalism, wind-
storm, building collapse, or sprinkler damage. The selection of covered 
perils is a balancing decision between cost of insurance and how much risk 
the farm is willing to assume or what property is worth. Because this type 
of policy provides more restricted coverage, the premium may be lower. 
 
Broad Form – The “broad form” policy includes the coverage listed in the  
basic form policy plus coverage for losses from additional perils such as 
collapse of roof due to weight of ice or snow or damage caused by  
accidental discharge of water or steam. Again, the types of losses that are 
covered are specifically listed in the policy. 
 
Special Form or All Risk – Contrary to its name, the “all risk” or “special 
form” policy does not actually cover all losses. The “all risk” or “special 
form” policy does not cover losses that are specifically listed as exclusions 
in the policy. Farmowners policies are generally written on this basis. 

 

4. 

Farm policies generally include schedules to list the coverage limit and de-
scriptions for livestock, farm machinery and farm products, supplies and tools 
that are covered. The policy will also define those items which are included in 
the category. 
 
For example, “Farm Products” generally include those items raised or pro-
duced in your operation for sale or distribution to others. “Farm Supplies” 
may include items used in the normal operation of your farm, such as fertiliz-
er, hay, feed, oils or fuels. “Farm Tools” may mean those items usual to the 
operation of your farm, like wheelbarrows, saws,  
shovels, irrigation equipment, and other apparatus. 
 
“Farm Machinery” generally means any motorized 
land vehicle, including its equipment, implements or 
farm wagons, used exclusively for farming purposes 
and designed for use principally off public roads. 
This term may include spare parts and accessories to 
be used with the machinery. 
 
Generally, each building and item insured will have 
its own deductible. 
 

What is Pro-Rata Distribution? 

Pro-rata distribution applies when your farming operation is conducted at 
more than one location. The policy responds pro-rata of the value at the  
location in proportion to the total value of that type of property at all  
locations. For example, if you have two “insured locations” with $100,000 of 
farm machinery at each location, it is not sufficient to insure only $100,000 of 
the equipment on the assumption that it is unlikely both locations would be 
subject to the same loss. With a pro-rata distribution clause, carrying a limit 
of $100,000 compared to the $200,000 for all your farm machinery would 
result in a payment of only 50% of the value of the loss. This works in the 
same manner as a coinsurance clause. 
 
Pro-rata and/or coinsurance clauses generally apply to different categories of 
property such as: 
 Fences, corrals, pens, chutes, and feed racks; 
 Portable buildings and structures; 
 Residence and private buildings; 
 Farm buildings and structures; 
 Farm personal property, such as equipment, supplies, and machinery. 
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The insurer will pay $19,500 and you (the insured) become a co-insurer for 
the remaining $20,500 (i.e. $40,000 loss minus $19,500 insurance company 
payment = $20,500) because you didn’t meet the requirement of your policy 
to insure for at least 80% of the value at the time of loss ($200,000). Instead 
of having a policy for $200,000 of coverage, your policy was only $100,000, 
which resulted in you paying more out of pocket. 
 

Example 3 - Over-insurance 

If you have more insurance than is required by your policy, you will not 
receive more than the amount of your claim. If you have $300,000 of  
coverage and your policy requires you to have $200,000 (as in the examples 
above), the insurance company will not pay you more than the amount of 
your claim minus your deductible. In other words, there is no bonus for  
over-insuring. 
 
Whether you choose to insure your property on a replacement cost or actual 
cash value basis, it is important to keep your coverage current. Check with 
your agent yearly and whenever new property is added to make sure that 
your policy gives you enough coverage. You may be able to add a rider or  
endorsement to the policy that automatically increases your policy amounts 
to keep up with inflation. Remember, it is your responsi-
bility to choose the right amount of coverage. 
 

Other Options 

 
Some companies may offer a special loss settlement 
form which reduces the coinsurance amount to 70%, 60% or even 50%. This 
option is useful for older buildings, especially those with elaborate construc-
tion. In the case of a large loss, the special loss settlement form provides the 
cost of repair for partial losses when the owner will replace with lower cost, 
less elaborate construction following a large loss. Another option that may 
also be available is functional valuation coverage. This option does not 
change the coinsurance percentage, but instead determines replacement cost 
of a functionally equivalent building or repair/replacement using less expen-
sive materials. 
 

How do I Cover Loss to my Equipment? 
Fixtures and permanently installed equipment and machinery may be  
covered as part of the building and their value needs to be considered when 
determining the limit of coverage for the building.  This includes such items 
as fire extinguishing equipment, heating and air conditioning systems, refrig-
eration equipment, and permanently installed floor and window coverings. 
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How is the Value of My Property Loss Determined When I have a Claim? 

The amount of your claim payment will depend on whether you purchased 
replacement cost or actual cash value insurance. Regardless of the type of 
coverage purchased, the insurance does not include the value of your land. 
 
Replacement cost pays the cost to replace or rebuild your property with  
materials of like kind and quality without deducting anything for  
depreciation.  
 
Actual cash value (ACV) is defined in Maine law as “the replacement cost of 
an insured item of property at the time of loss, less the value of physical  
depreciation as to the item damaged.” (Title 24-A M.R.S.A. § 3004-A).  
Coverage on an ACV basis pays the cost of damaged property or goods after 
deducting an amount for depreciation. On an ACV basis, the older the  
property, the less money you will receive when there is a loss. 
 
Note: Do not confuse replacement cost or ACV with market value (the 
amount you paid for your property), or appraisal or assessment values.  
Insurance coverage is based on the cost necessary to fix or replace the  
property according to the terms in your contract. Property value as used in 
this brochure does not mean market value, real estate appraisal, or  

assessment value. 

 
 

How Much Property Insurance Should I Buy? 

Most insurers require that you insure your property for a specific percentage 
of the replacement cost. This “coinsurance percentage” is stated in your  
policy and may affect the amount you receive for losses to your property. To 
have the full amount of a partial loss covered, you should buy coverage at 
least equal to the coinsurance percentage times the cost to repair or replace 
the property at the time of loss, as explained in the examples below. You 
must carry at least the required percentage or you will be responsible for 
paying part of the loss out of your own pocket. 
 
To receive full coverage for a total loss your coverage should be at least 
equal to the cost to replace the property at the time of loss. 
 
Most insurers require that the amount of coinsurance on property be at least 
80% of its replacement cost; however, some companies may require 100%. 
It is important that you know what the policy requires. The building value 
and business personal property/equipment values are separate limits with 
separate conditions. If your property is not insured to the percentage of its 

Common Questions about Property Coverage 

5. 



value that is required by your policy and you have a loss, the insurance  
company will apply a coinsurance penalty and you will not receive the 
total value of your loss. 
 
 

 
 
 

 
1.  The value of the property at the time of the loss. 
 The value that is important is the cost to repair or replace the 
 property at the time of the loss and not when you first purchased 
 the policy. Review your policy regularly and make adjustments, if 
 necessary, to ensure that the amount of coverage you have will be 
 adequate in case of a loss. 
 
2.  The coinsurance percentage required. 
 The percentage of coinsurance required by the company (generally 
 80%, 90%, or 100%) affects the amount you receive on a claim. 
 
3.  The amount of insurance selected. 
 The amount of insurance selected should be at least equal to or 
 greater than the value of the coinsurance (the value times the  
 percentage of coinsurance required). 
 
The easiest way to think of how coinsurance works is through the following 
formula: 
 
HAVE ÷ SHOULD x LOSS = the amount that the company will pay minus 
your deductible. 
 
That is: 

You HAVE this much insurance. 
 You SHOULD have had this much insurance based on the  
 coinsurance requirement. 
 
The resulting percentage in the above formula (obtained by dividing HAVE 
by SHOULD) is multiplied by the actual amount of the LOSS. The result is 
the amount the company will pay minus your deductible (which is the 
amount that you agree to pay before the company pays). Anything above 
this amount will be paid by you (the insured). 
 
The following examples explain how the coinsurance penalty works when a 
loss occurs. 

Three factors affect how a coinsurance clause works: 
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Example 1 – Adequate Insurance 

The value of your property (cost to replace) at the time of loss is $250,000. 
 

The coinsurance percentage required is 80%. 
 

The amount of insurance you have (HAVE) is $200,000. 
  
The deductible is $500. 
 

The amount of the loss is $40,000. 
 

Step 1: $250,000 x 80% = $200,000 – amount required by your policy 
 (SHOULD). 
 

Step 2: $200,000 ÷ by $200,000 = 1.00 (HAVE ÷ SHOULD). 
 

Step 3: $40,000 (loss) x 1.00 = $40,000. 
 

Step 4: $40,000 − $500 (your deductible) = $39,500. 
 
In the above example you (the insured) are paid for the entire amount of the 
loss minus the deductible. The amount of insurance that you have meets the 
coinsurance percentage required by your policy; you are NOT a co-insurer 
because you kept your promise to insure for at least 80% of the value to  
replace your property at the time of loss. 
 
 

Example 2 - Inadequate Insurance 

The value of the property (cost to replace it) at the time of loss is $250,000. 
 

The coinsurance percentage required is 80%. 
 

The amount of insurance you have (HAVE) is $100,000. 
 

The deductible is $500. 
 

The amount of the loss is $40,000. 
 

Step 1: $250,000 x 80% = $200,000 – amount required by your policy 
 (SHOULD). 
 

Step 2: $100,000 ÷ by $200,000 = .50 (HAVE ÷ SHOULD). 
 

Step 3: $40,000 (loss) x .50 = $20,000. 
 

Step 4: $20,000 − $500 (your deductible) = $19,500. 
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