Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Maine.gov > PFR Home > Insurance Regulation > Company Services > Schedule of Company Fees, Taxes & Deposits - Retaliatory Statement

STATE OF MAINE
BUREAU OF INSURANCE
SCHEDULE OF COMPANY FEES, TAXES, AND DEPOSITS
(RETALIATORY STATEMENT)
Life & Health, Property & Casualty, Title

Maine is a retaliatory state and all fees, premium taxes, deposits and other charges will be charged at the rate in Maine law or the rate charged by the domiciliary state, whichever is higher. Title 24-A, M.R.S.A. § 428 & Title 36, M.R.S.A. § 2519.

Section I – Fees (Payable to Treasurer, State of Maine) (Title 24-A, M.R.S.A.)
Admission Fees
  Certificate of Authority Application Fee (due at time of application)
$1,000
  Issuance Fee (billed at time of approval of application)
$100
   
Annual Fees
  Annual Statement Filing Fee (billed annually, in July)
$100
  Annual Continuation of Certificate of Authority (billed annually, in July)
$100
   
Other Fees
  Filing of Articles of Incorporation (due with amended document)
$25
  Filing of Bylaws (due with amended document)
$25
  Name Reservation for Name Change (due with reservation)
$25
  Redomestication
No Fee
  Addition/Deletion of Line of Business
No Fee
  Certificate of Deposit
$10
  Certificate of Compliance
$10
  Certificate of Valuation
$10
  Service of Process (due with filing of change of designee)
No Fee
  Replacement / Reissuance of Certificate of Authority
$10
   
Rate and Form Filing Fees  
Forms  
  Withdrawals
$20
  Delay Adoption & Non Adoption
$20
  Consent to Rate/Form (Initial & Individual Filings)
$20
  Amendment to Filing- * Before effective date*
No fee
  Amendment to Filing- * After effective date *
$20
Paper & Electronic Filings:  
  Rate & Rule
$20
  Form
$20
  Rate/Rule/& Form
$20
“Informational” filings. No fee required
     
Section II – Taxes
Premium Taxes on Business Written in the State (Title 36, M.R.S.A., Chapter 357). Click on the link below and scroll down to Insurance Premium Tax.
  Maine Revenue Services Froms, Applications and Publications
   
Life Insurance or Annuities issued in connection with the funding of qualified retirement plans are exempt from tax.
   
Section III – Deposit Requirements
   
General Deposit to operate in state (in place at time of admission in any admitted state)
$100,000


If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact Kendra Coates at
Phone: (207) 624-8495
Fax: (207) 624-8599
Email: Kendra.l.Coates@maine.gov

Last Updated: May 9, 2014