Skip Maine state header navigation
Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation
|Home | Contact Us | Calendar||
Site Map |
OTHER PFR AGENCIES
BOARD OF OPTOMETRY LICENSE RENEWAL
$350 renewal fee
Active and non-active licenses must be renewed annually on or before April 1st of each year.
License renewal applications will be mailed approximately sixty (60) days prior to April 1st.
PLEASE ALLOW 7 TO 10 BUSINESS DAYS FOR PROCESSING LICENSE RENEWALS.
MAINE STATUTE CHAPTER 34-A, SECTION 2426
The above referenced statute requires that licensed optometrists in Maine take 25 hours of Category 1 continuing education courses each calendar year (January 1st through December 31st). Courses, which meet the definition of Category 1 and are approved by the AOA, AMA, the American Academy of Ophthalmology, American Council on Pharmaceutical Education or the Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE), will be accepted by the Board without prior Board review. Any course not approved by one of these organizations must be submitted for prior approval at least 30 days in advance. For those optometrists with a therapeutic license (T, TA, TAG), at least 15 hours of the yearly CE must pertain to the diagnosis and treatment of ocular disease. A maximum of 2 hours of practice management, 5 hours of online and 2 hours of CPR, may be applied to the yearly requirement. All CPR courses need prior approval by the Boards CE officer.
10 DAY NOTIFICATION REPQUIREMENT (Effective 9/20/07)
Pursuant to Title 10, §8003-G(2):
Last Updated: March 14, 2013
Last Updated: May 8, 2013
About This Board
|Copyright © 2006 All rights reserved.|