The IT Accessibility Committee

No Boundaries Logo

Committee History

The Information Services Policy Board recognized the State's commitment to meeting the needs of its employees and citizens with disabilities and adopted a resolution in January 1998 that fully supported the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) regarding reasonable accommodations in the workplace. The Policy Board authorized the establishment of a standing accessibility committee to evaluate and advise the Board regarding technological developments and products to ensure compliance with the ADA and other relevant laws. The subcommittee's charge was broadened in November 1999 and their charter outlined as follows:

IT Accessibility Committee Charter

  • Propose and maintain standards for information technology accessibility
  • Expand and maintain an evaluation methodology for current and future information technology endeavors
  • Prepare periodic updates on technology, ADA compliance, and other legal requirements
  • Complete an annual report on previous year's accomplishments and proposed future work plan
  • Work in partnership with the Accessible Information Technology Coordinator on identifying issues and providing technical assistance and solutions

Functions of the Committee

The Committee provides oversight to chartered sub-committees and project teams that work in specific areas related to accessibility, while the Chair and Staff perform the administrative tasks related to managing the workflow of the Committee.

The Committee may establish project related work groups to address specific issues identified by the ISPB or the Committee.

The Committee is responsible for designing an ongoing process for membership recruitment, selection and decision making criteria that meet the ISPB policy mandate. The process shall include the review and approval of the ISPB.

Committee responsibilities include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Evaluate current and future technology and workarounds using the testing lab and independent verification and validation.
  • Facilitate accessibility demonstrations of products being considered for purchase or development by Maine State Government.
  • Evaluate national consensus standards to include but not be limited to: software applications and operating systems; web-based Intranet and Internet information and applications; telecommunications products; video and multimedia products; desktop and portable computers; information, documentation and support.
  • Review and stay current with standards being developed by nationally and internationally recognized public and private groups, to ensure they meet Maine's needs and provide recommendations to the ISPB.
  • Maintain and monitor procurement proposal for evaluation criteria in RFPs and vendor contracts.
  • Develop a process for monitoring progress toward information accessibility statewide.
  • Manage, expand and update the accessibility site and links.
  • Provide ongoing information on new products, techniques and other changes related to accessibility in a variety of formats, such as articles in the Maine IS Technology newsletter.
  • Review and stay current with federal and other states' legislation, policies, rules and regulations.
  • Review and provide ongoing lists of accessibility tools and resources.
  • Arrange for and provide information technology accessibility training for State employees, vendors, developers and buyers.
  • Provide technical assistance for Departments as requested.

Committee Membership

The IT Accessibility Committee membership shall include expertise in all of the major disability, accessibility and information technology specialty areas. Major core areas represented on the Committee should include deaf and hard of hearing, blind and visually impaired, mobility and speech impaired and cognitive considerations. Members must have a vested interest in accessibility and represent a broad spectrum of skills and knowledge including legal, policy, national perspective, human resources, purchasing and various technologies.

Roles as defined by Membership Sub-Committee*

State and Community
Disability Seats
Technology Seats
CIO, Staff Support Cognitive Assistive Technology
ISMG Representative Hearing Application Development
University System Mobility Webmaster/Designer
BIS (Central IT) Visual Telecommunication
Community Hardware
Vocational Rehabilitation

*It's understood that one member may fill more than one role on the committee.

2004 Committee Members

Committee contact: Kathy Record, Office of the CIO, DAFS - Accessible Information Technology Coordinator for the State of Maine, Staff to the IT Accessibility Committee 624-7573 or

Valton Wood, Bureau of Information Services, DAFS, Committee Chair

Carolyn Bebee, Bureau of Rehabilitation Services, DOL

Pauline Lamontagne Esq., Department of Education

Kathleen Powers, Statewide Assistive Tech Project, MaineCITE Coordinating Center, University College, University of Maine System

Floyd White, Bureau of Information Services, DAFS

Jan DeVinney, Rehabilitation Services, Division of Deafness, DOL

[Back to the Table of Contents]