Maine Library Commission

The Library Commission, a 17-member board appointed by the Governor, is broadly representative of the state's library community. The Commission establishes the policies and operations of the State Library, gives advice and makes recommendations on the expenditure of state and federal funds, and establishes guidelines and policies for statewide library programs.

Composition of the Maine Library Commission is defined in MRSA 27, Section 111.

Present Maine Library Commission Board Members with contact information
SOS* Seat # Area Represented Name Address Phone Fax Email
3 Academic Joyce Rumery
Chair
Fogler Library, University of Maine, Orono 207.581.1660   rumery@maine.edu
14 District-CMLD Art Turley 178 Webber Ave,    Lewiston, ME 04240 207.784.1868   ajt@ajturley.com
10 At Large-Disadvantaged Vacant
       
4 Special Charles Campo 37 Main Road South, Hampden, ME 04444 207.862.4113   ccampo@roadrunner.com
12 District-NMLD Helen Fogler, Vice Chair Thompson Free Library
186 East Main Street
Dover-Foxcroft, ME  04426
207.564.3350 207.564.3531 hfogler@thompson.lib.me.us
6 At Large Richard Thompson 263 McGrath Pond Road Oakland, Maine 04963 207.716.1060   dickthompson008@gmail.com
5 Institutional Cora Damon Maine General Medical Center, Alfond Center for Health, Library Resource Center
35 Medical Center Parkway, Augusta, ME 04330
207.626.6928   cora.damon@mainegeneral.org
15 Trustee Michael Hays PO Box 416, Bass Harbor, ME 04653 207.244.9548   michael.hays.mdi@gmail.com
7 Handicapped Vacant      
1 Public Library Heidi Grimm Yarmouth Memorial Library, 215 Main Street, Yarmouth, ME 04096 207.846.4763   hgrimm@yarmouthlibrary.org
8 At Large Vacant  
2 School Debe Averill 265 Main Street
Orono, ME
04473
    maverill@adelphia.net
13 District-SMLD Jeffrey Cabral McArthur Library, 270 Main Street, Biddeford, ME 04005 207.284.4181   jcabral@mcarthur.lib.me.us
11 At Large Melissa St. John 62 Deer Hill Road, Harrison, ME 04040 207.583.6912   mstj616@gmail.com
9 At Large Vacant      
16 Non Voting ARRC Sarah Campbell Portland Public Library, 5 Monument Square, Portland, ME 04101-4072 207.871.1700 207.871.1703 campbell@portland.lib.me.us
17 Non Voting ARRC Barbara McDade Bangor Public Library, 145 Harlow Street, Bangor, ME 04401 207.947.8336 207.945.6694 bmcdade@ bpl.lib.me.us

*SOS=Secretary of State