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Call 811
•All Six States use Call 811

•ME has been effective 
since

Jan 3 2007 ME DN 2005-785 
Commission Order 

Jan 3 2007

•NH has been effective 
since

July 10 2006 NH DT 05-198 
Commission Order 24,636

•VT has been effective since
Oct 18 2006 VT DN 7177

PSB Order Oct 18 2006

2007

2006

2006
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Presenter
Presentation Notes

 Federal Communications Commission (FCC) In The Matter Of The Use Of N11 Codes And Other Abbreviated Dialing Arrangements, CC Docket No. 92-105, Order, 20 FCC Rcd. 5539 released March 14, 2005 (811 Order) requires the use of the 811 dialing code nationwide to implement certain provisions of the Pipeline Safety Improvement Act of 2002 (Pipeline Safety Act). 

Maine Public Utilities Commission (PUC)
NH  Public Utlities Commission (PUC)
Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission (PUC)
Vermont Public Service Board (PSB)
Massacusetts Department of Public Utilitites (DPU)
Connecticut Department of Public Utilities Control (DPUC)




Call 811 (continued)

•RI has been effective since
Apr 2007 RI DN 3720 No 
Commission Order coincide 
with FERC 2 year 
implementation date

•MA has been effective 
since

Feb 10 2006 MA DTE 05-82 
Commission Order Feb 10 
2006

•CT has been effective since
Apr 2007 CT No DPUC dkt

No Commission Order 
coincide with FERC 2 year 
implementation date 

2006

2007

2007

2006

2007

2006

3

Presenter
Presentation Notes

 Federal Communications Commission (FCC) In The Matter Of The Use Of N11 Codes And Other Abbreviated Dialing Arrangements, CC Docket No. 92-105, Order, 20 FCC Rcd. 5539 released March 14, 2005 (811 Order) requires the use of the 811 dialing code nationwide to implement certain provisions of the Pipeline Safety Improvement Act of 2002 (Pipeline Safety Act). 

Maine Public Utilities Commission
NH  Public Utlities Commission
Vermont Public Service Board





New England One Call Centers

•888-DIG-SAFE or
•888-344-7233
•All 5 States

ME- NH VT- MA-RI
Operated by Dig Safe 
System, Inc.

One Call Center 
located in 
Woburn, MA 

-------------------------------
•800-922-4455
•Single State ---

CT
Operated by Call Before You 
Dig, Inc.

One Call Center 
located in Hamden, CT

www.digsafe.com

www.cbyd.com
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Presenter
Presentation Notes
DIG SAFE Hours of Operation: 6 am to 6 pm    (12 hours)  M-F
CBYD Hours of Operation in CT 7 am to 5 pm   (10 hours) M-F 

Both accept Internet Tickets 24 hours /day 7 Days per Week, both have printing capability both systems are based on using the same base vendor (ASPLUNDH) 

DIG SAFE Internet is called QUICK TICKET only accepts regular or non Emergency Tickets, (Need to talk to a real voice for Emergencies (which is available anytime 24 hours a day) 

CBYD Internet is called E-TICKET and does allow Emergency Tickets





State Law 
HISTORY

•1977 Connecticut 

•1980 Massachusetts

•1983 New Hampshire

•1984 Rhode Island

•1988 Vermont

•1993 Maine

1988

1977

1980

1984

1983

1993
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Presenter
Presentation Notes
Some of the oldest State Damage Prevention Laws in the country 
Oldest is over 33 years old  a 1/3 of the century with CT Public Act 77-350
33+30+27+26+22+17 = 155 years or 26 years on average these have been in place.  They should be widely known
And some of these programs are at the national forefront of the underground damage prevention programs 



Observed 
Holidays

•New Year’s Day 
•M.L.K. Day 
•President’s Day 
•Memorial Day
•Independence Day 
•Labor Day 
•Columbus Day
•Veteran's Day,
•Thanksgiving Day 
• Christmas Day
•Day After Thanksgiving (CT, MA, 
RI, VT, ME) 
•Good Friday (CT only)
•Patriots Day (ME, MA)
•Victory Day (RI only)
•Election Day (NH only –even 
years only) 

Patriot’s Day

Patriot’s Day

Victory Day

Election Day

Day aft Thanksgiving

Good Friday

Day aft Thanksgiving

Day aft Thanksgiving

Day aft Thanksgiving

Day aft Thanksgiving10
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Presentation Notes
10 basic holidays 

Then the differences start
5 of 6 states get the Day after Thanksgiving

NH is the hardest working state only gets 11 holidays per year some years, other gets only 10
VT is the second hardest working state

CT, ME, MA, RI always get 12 days





Municipality Exemption
•VT and CT have no exemptions 
•MA Municipal operator must 
markout but.. no penalty for 
mismarks, no penalty for not 
marking out in time  
•NH Municipal operators are 
exempt because they are not 
considered public utilities but 
can voluntarily join
•RI Municipalities are exempt 
but can voluntarily join. 
…Should strongly consider 
participation ..and should be 
marked appropriately
•ME municipals can be 
considered non members and 
contacted directly
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Presenter
Presentation Notes
(3) Many public, private and municipal utilities are located underground including, but not limited to, gas, water, electric, cable television, telephone and sewers. Excavation in the vicinity of such utilities can be dangerous and the utilities should be marked appropriately to avoid damage, injury or public emergency; and
(4) All utilities whether public, private or municipal should strongly consider participation in the utility damage prevention program known as Dig Safe System, Inc. to insure the highest level of safety and awareness of utility facility locations.



Notification of LP 
Operators

•NH, VT and RI is LP 
jurisdictional facilities only 
required to comply with 
CFR 49 Part 192.614 
•ME is LP jurisidictional
facilities + any 
underground tanks (even 
those not regulated by CFR 
49 Part 192.614 
•CT is all underground 
facilities inclusive 
jurisdictional and non 
jurisdictional
•MA no requirement for LP 
Operators whether 
jurisdictional and non 
jurisdictional
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Presentation Notes
NH PUC 802.12  Operator is defined as Jurisdictional Facilities defined in Nat Gas Pipeline Safety Act
VT  Law Title 30 Chapter 86 7001 Definitions (2) "Company" means any public utility company which supplies gas, electricity, or telecommunications service and which maintains underground utility facilities, and any cable television company operating a cable television system as defined in section 501 of this title and which maintains underground utility facilities. Because of this LP operators are not companies and 7002 requires 
Maine Chapter 895 definition of T&U 
CT see 16-345-1 definition of Facilities and Public Utility





Notification Required 
for Hand Tools

•ME, CT, RI have no requirement for 
notification unless power tools

•VT exempts routine gardening w/ 
hand tools outside public ROW & 
easements if for highway 
maintenance, and company 
personnel to locate and service 
company facilities {i.e. elec poles} 
Chapter 86 -7001 (4) 

•NH exempts landscaping & 
maintenance of res property 
performed w/non-mechanized 

equipment  RSA 374:48 (III)

•MA exempts excavation by tools 
manipulated only by human power 
for gardening purposes MA Chap 82 Section 40

1
2

3
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Presentation Notes
Maine Chapter 895 2 Definitions of Excavation K.	Excavation.  "Excavation" means any operation in which earth, rock or other material below the ground is moved or otherwise displaced, by means of power tools, power equipment or explosives and includes grading, trenching, digging, ditching, drilling, auguring, tunneling, scraping and cable or pipe driving, except tilling of soil and gardening or displacement of earth, rock or other material for agricultural purposes.  

Rhode Island 39-1.2-1. Definitions. --
(6) "Excavation" means an operation for the purpose of movement or removal of earth, rock, or other materials in or on the ground, or otherwise disturbing the subsurface of the earth, by the use of powered or mechanized equipment, including but not limited to digging, blasting,
auguring, back filling, test boring, drilling, pile driving, grading, plowing in, hammering, pulling in, trenching, and tunneling; excluding the movement of earth by tools manipulated only by human or animal power and the tilling of soil for agricultural purposes.
Connecticut: Sec. 16-345-1. Definitions e) “Excavation” means an operation for the purposes of movement or removal of earth, rock or other materials in or on the ground, or otherwise disturbing the subsurface of the earth, by the use of powered or mechanized equipment, including but not limited to digging, blasting, auguring, back filling, test boring, drilling, pile driving, grading, plowing-in, hammering pulling-in, trenching and tunneling. Reclaimation processes, and milling; excluding the movement of earth by tools manipulated only by human or animal power and the tilling of soil for agricultural purposes. 



Wait Times

•Vermont has always 
been 48 hours
•Rhode Island recently 
switched from 48
hours to 72 hours in 
November 2009
•Massachusetts and
Maine and New 
Hampshire, have 
always been 72 hours
•Connecticut requires 
2 full days (working) 
not necessarily 48
hours

72 hrs 

72 hrs

48 – 72 hrs

72 hrs

72 hrs

48 hrs
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Presentation Notes
Vermont: Vermont Statutes Title 30 Chapter 86 § 7004. Notice of excavation activities (b) At least 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays, but not more than 30 days before commencing excavation activities, each person required to give notice of excavation activities shall notify the system referred to in section 7002 of this title.

Rhode Island: SECTION 1. of the General Laws in Chapter 39-1.2 entitled "Excavation Near Underground Utility Facilities“ 39-1.2-5. Notice of excavation Except as provided in section 39-1.2-9, any person,
public agency or public utility responsible for excavating within one hundred feet (100') or for
discharging explosives within one hundred feet (100') of a public utility facility shall notify the
association of the proposed excavation or discharge by telephone at least forty-eight (48) seventy
two (72) hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, but not more than thirty (30) days
before commencing the excavation or discharge of explosives.

Massachusetts: STATE OF MASSACHUSETTS CHAPTER 82  - SECTION 40A.
No excavator installing a new facility or an addition to an existing facility or the relay or repair of
an existing facility shall, except in an emergency, make an excavation, in any public or private
way, any company right-of-way or easement or any public or privately owned land or way, unless
at least 72 hours, exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays but not more than 30 days
before the proposed excavation is to be made, such excavator has premarked not more than 500
feet of the proposed excavation and given an initial notice to the system. 
220 CMR: DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC UTILITIES
220 Code of Mass Regulations (CMR) 99.00: PROCEDURES FOR THE DETERMINATION AND ENFORCEMENT OF VIOLATIONS OF M.G.L c. 82, §§ 40 THROUGH 40E ("DIG SAFE").
99.04: Excavation Notification (1) Notice of a excavation shall be tendered to the system at least 72 hours,
exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays or holidays, but not more than 30 days prior to the commencement of an excavation.
New Hampshire: 
374:51 Notification by Excavator. II. At least 72 hours before a proposed excavation, but not including Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays, each person required to give notice of an excavation shall notify the damage prevention
system referred to in RSA 374:49. 
374:53 Response by Operator.
Within 72 hours after receipt of notice from a proposed excavator or from the system of a proposed excavation, but not including Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays, an operator shall mark the location of its underground facilities in the area of the proposed excavation. 
PART Puc 805 DUTIES OF AN EXCAVATOR  Puc 805.01 Notification Required Prior to Excavation.
Excavators shall, pursuant to RSA 374:51 notify the notification center: (1) Not less than 72 hours prior to a proposed excavation, not including Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays; and …..
MAINE:23 §3360-A. PROTECTION OF UNDERGROUND FACILITIES
23 §3360-A. PROTECTION OF UNDERGROUND FACILITIES 3. Notice by excavator. A person may not begin excavation without first giving notice as required by
this section, unless exempted pursuant to this section.
A. In addition to any other notices required under this section, each excavator shall notify the system
of the location of the intended excavation at least 3 business days but not more than 30 calendar days
prior to the commencement of excavation, except as provided in paragraph G.
CHAPTER 895 - UNDERGROUND FACILITY DAMAGE PREVENTION
REQUIREMENTS § 4	RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE EXCAVATOR   B.	Notification
 1.	Notification to the Dig Safe System
 
			a.	Notice process.  Except for emergency notifications and as provided in Subsection 4(B)(1)(a)(i), an excavator shall notify the Dig Safe System of the location of the intended excavation at least 72 hours, not including Saturdays, Sundays and legal Maine holidays, but not more than 30 calendar days, prior to the commencement of excavation.  
Connecticut: Sec. 16-345-4. Responsibilities of excavators (a) Any excavator responsible for excavating or discharging explosives at or near the location of public utility underground facilities or demolishing a structure containing any public utility facilities shall: 
(1) Except as provided in Section 16-345-4(a)(2) and Section 16-345-4(a)(3) of these regulations, at least two full days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, but not more than thirty days before commencing such excavation, discharge of explosives or demolition at or near the location of such public utilities facilities, notify the central clearinghouse of: ……



Expiration Date
•Rhode Island has start within 
30 days but construction 
completed within 60 days.  

•Maine and New Hampshire, 
have always been 30 Days and
no renewal allowed, thus new 
ticket

•Vermont is up to 30 days

•Connecticut has 30 days then 
renewal of existing ticket

•Massachusetts has no 
expiration if: marks are not 
faded, emergency rectified, 
new facilities installed in the 
area of marking

=30 days

If  > 30 days
Then renewal

<30 days

60 days

=30 days
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Presentation Notes
Almost all states want you to start before 30 days so as to prevent a lot of calls in too far in advance.  Some states the start and finish are the same.  
Rhode Island: SECTION 1. of the General Laws in Chapter 39-1.2 entitled "Excavation Near Underground Utility Facilities“ 39-1.2-5. Notice of excavation Actual excavation must thereupon be performed commence within thirty (30) days and be completed within sixty (60) days.
MAINE:23 §3360-A. PROTECTION OF UNDERGROUND FACILITIES
23 §3360-A. PROTECTION OF UNDERGROUND FACILITIES 3. Notice by excavator. A person may not begin excavation without first giving notice as required by
this section, unless exempted pursuant to this section.
A. In addition to any other notices required under this section, each excavator shall notify the system
of the location of the intended excavation at least 3 business days but not more than 30 calendar days
prior to the commencement of excavation, except as provided in paragraph G.
CHAPTER 895 - UNDERGROUND FACILITY DAMAGE PREVENTION
REQUIREMENTS § 4	RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE EXCAVATOR   B.	Notification
 1.	Notification to the Dig Safe System
 
			a.	Notice process.  Except for emergency notifications and as provided in Subsection 4(B)(1)(a)(i), The excavator shall re-notify the Dig Safe System pursuant to this subsection for each successive 30-day period.  
New Hampshire PART Puc 805 DUTIES OF AN EXCAVATOR  Puc 805.01 Notification Required Prior to Excavation.
(b) The excavator’s notification, required by (a) above, shall be valid for 30 calendar days from the date and time
the notification center confirms the notification.
Vermont: Vermont Statutes Title 30 Chapter 86 § 7004. Notice of excavation activities 
(e) Notice of excavation activities shall be valid for an excavation site until one of the
following occurs:
(1) The excavation is not completed within 30 days of the notification;
(2) The markings become faded, illegible, or destroyed; or
(3) The company installs new underground facilities in a marked area still under
excavation
Connecticut: Sec. 16-345-4. Responsibilities of excavators  
(c) An excavation notice given pursuant to Section 16-345(a)(1) of these regulations, shall expire at the end of thirty days from the date such notice is given to the clearinghouse. Whether or not an excavation, demolition or discharge of explosives has commenced pursuant to a valid notification at any time within the prior thirty days, if such activity has not been completed or is expected to last beyond the 30 day period, a renewal notice must be provided before the expiration of the thirty day period by the excavator. The renewal shall not be applicable for areas not designated in the prior notification. 
Massachusetts:
99.05: Marking Procedures
9) Markings shall be valid for an excavation site until one of the following events
occurs:
(a) the excavation does not commence within 30 days of the notification;
(b) the markings become faded, illegible or destroyed;
(c) a company installs new underground facilities in a marked area still
under excavation; and/or
(d) an emergency condition is brought to conclusion which nullifies any
markings installed during the emergency.



Trenchless 
Technology Provision
•VT expose, determine  depth 
and location for crossings and 
reasonable intervals for parallel 
excavations Chapter 86 -7600(b) 

•NH for HDD, Boring, Jacking, 
Tunneling, Pavement 
Reclamation  determine exact 
depth and clearance and 
incorporate details into 
procedure Puc 805.02 e 

•CT if using trenchless excavation 
then precise location is required 
when crossed or encroached. CT 
16-345-4 (5) 

•ME, MA and RI do not have 
specific provisions
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18 Inch Tolerance Zone

•NH known as “tolerance 
zone”

•MA known as “safety zone”

•ME uses “safety zone” for 
excavator and “tolerance 
zone” for marking. 

•RI, VT use “approximate 
location of underground 
facilities”  

•CT uses “approximate strip 
of land” 
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Presentation Notes
ME. Uses Safety in Chapter 895 Section 4 (C) 2 and uses Tolerance Zone for Marking in Chapter 895 Section 6 (B) 4 (b) 

RI in 39.1.2.1 (2) in Definition Section

VT in 7001. (7) Definition 

CT 16-345-5 (J) Definition



      
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

“Center line” Marks 
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“Center line” Marks 

Outer edges of 6 
inch pipe
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“Center line” Marks 

Edges of 
Tolerance 
Zone

Total width of Tolerance Zone is 42 inches

      
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

“Center line” Marks 
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Tolerance Zones
Nationally:

•26 states have 18 inch 

•20 states have 24 inch

•2 states have 36 inch
      

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

“Center line” Marks 
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Positive Response Required
•CT requires reasonable efforts 
be made to notify the excavator 
that no underground facilities are 
in the area and document it. 16-

345-3 (B)

•NH spells out 3 methods: 

(1)Field Marking

(2) Job Site Meeting

(3) Electronic Communication
NH Puc 804.02 (e)

•ME is similar to NH’s methods 1 
and 3 above
Chapter 895 Section 6 Responsibilities of 
Operator 

B Marking Subsection (1) 18



Required to Call 
911 if Damage

•CT No requirement -
only gas per CFR 192 
or hazardous liquid 

•ME no requirement

•VT no requirement

•RI no requirement

•NH required if release 
of gas or electric shock
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Excavator Required 
to Report Damage 

to Commission
•VT, MA, RI, CT have no 
requirements 

•NH PUC 805.05 (a) (6) 
doesn’t specify when or 
how 

•ME   Maine Chapter 895 

•Section 4 Responsibilities 
of Excavator 

D Reporting Subsection (2) 
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Presentation Notes
2.	Report to Commission.  An excavator involved in an excavation shall report to the Commission when it has reason to believe that one or more damage prevention incidents as defined in Section 2(E-1) have occurred associated with that excavation. 




Operator Required 
to Report Damage

•Rhode Island only gas 
companies report 
damage

•NH, CT, ME, MA and 
VT all utilities and 
operators report 
damage (LP, electric 
water, telecom, CATV, 
gas..) 
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Required Training 
for Locators

•ME, MA, RI, CT, VT have no training 
requirements for locators, all gas 
pipeline operators would rely on 
Operator Qualifications
• NH requires NULCA training or 
equivalent based on the at least the 
following competencies
(1)Electromagnetic locating;
(2) Instruction in the use of 
transmitters and receivers;
(3) Procedures for marking 
underground facilities;
(4) Training in the identification of 
facilities;
(5) Safety procedures;
(6) Operator map and record reading; 
and
(7) Familiarity with the NH specific 
rules 
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Civil Penalty Training 
Provided by Commission

•MA provides training but does it 
indirectly through MUST group 

•CT has no provision for training 
but relies on One Call Center to 
provide training

•ME and NH directly provide 
training 

•RI and VT have no requirements 
to provide training
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Civil Penalty

•9 states remain 
without Civil Penalty 
Provisions

•Many of the 
remaining states use 
AG office or another 
Agency (weak) 
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Enforcement by 
Commission

•RI - No enforcement by 
Commission but by Division 
staff only 
•NH – Enforcement delegated 
to Staff with an appeal process 
if necessary
•ME – Enforcement delegated 
to Staff w/appeal process
•CT – Enforcement with Staff 
•VT – Staff makes 
recommendation to Board 
which 95% of time accepts rec
•MA – Enforcement with Staff 
with appeal process if 
necessary
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Civil Penalties
•RI 39-1.2-13. Penalties. 

•1st offense up to $350

•2nd offense between $500 
and $2,500  if within 12 
months

•This is an increase from 
$200 and $200 to $1,000

•Ineligible to bid on state 
funded, state regulated, 
state subsidized public 
works contract 

•How Long? Forever
26
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Civil Penalties
•VT § 7008. Penalties

•1st offense up to $500

•2nd offense up to $1,000 
within 12 months

•3rd offense up to $1,500

within 12 months

•4th offense up to $5,000

• based on date of violation 
- not when final 
determination is made
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Civil Penalties
•NH RSA 374:58 (VIII)

•1st offense up to $500 or 
training approved by the 
commission (in house) 

•2nd offense up to $5,000 if 
within 12 months or if 
property damage greater than 
$50,000 or if bodily injury 

•3rd offense and beyond up to 
$5,000 if within 12 months

•Home owners receive no 
penalty if digging on own 
property (otherwise training) 
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Civil Penalties
•ME Chapter 895 § 8 
ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES

(D) penalty level

•1st offense up to $500 or 
training approved by the 
commission (in house) 

•2nd offense up to $5,000 
within 12 months

•3rd offense and beyond up to 
$5,000 within 12 months

29

ME



Civil Penalties
•MA 99.12: Civil Penalties

•1st offense up to $1,000

•2nd offense between 
$5,000 and $10,000

•If second offense is more 
than 12 months from the 
first offense then reverts 
back to $1,000

30
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Civil Penalties
•CT Sec. 16-345-9. 
Assessment of civil penalties 
•If no bodily injury and or 
property damage then..

1st offense $200 
2nd offense up to $5,000
3rd offense up to $40,000

•If property damage is $3,000 
or less penalty is up to 
$12,000
•If property damage is 
between$3,000 and $20,000 
penalty is up to $20,000
•If property damage is 
$20,000 or greater penalty is 
up to $40,000
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THANK YOU 
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See 
you in

Newport, RI
2011
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