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Call 811

•All Six States use Call 811

•ME has been effective 
since

Jan 3 2007 ME DN 2005-785 
Commission Order 

Jan 3 2007

•NH has been effective 
since

July 10 2006 NH DT 05-198 
Commission Order 24,636

•VT has been effective since
Oct 18 2006 VT DN 7177

PSB Order Oct 18 2006

2007

2006

2006
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Call 811 (continued)

•RI has been effective since
Apr 2007 RI DN 3720 No 
Commission Order coincide 
with FERC 2 year 
implementation date

•MA has been effective 
since

Feb 10 2006 MA DTE 05-82 
Commission Order Feb 10 
2006

•CT has been effective since
Apr 2007 CT No DPUC dkt

No Commission Order 
coincide with FERC 2 year 
implementation date 

2006

2007

2007

2006

2007

2006
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New England One Call Centers

•888-DIG-SAFE or

•888-344-7233

•All 5 States

ME- NH VT- MA-RI

Operated by Dig Safe 
System, Inc.

One Call Center 
located in 

Woburn, MA 

-------------------------------

•800-922-4455

•Single State ---

CT

Operated by Call Before You 
Dig, Inc.

One Call Center 
located in Hamden, CT

www.digsafe.com

www.cbyd.com
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State Law 

HISTORY

•1977 Connecticut 

•1980 Massachusetts

•1983 New Hampshire

•1984 Rhode Island

•1988 Vermont

•1993 Maine

1988

1977

1980

1984

1983

1993
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Observed 

Holidays
•New Year’s Day 
•M.L.K. Day 
•President’s Day 
•Memorial Day
•Independence Day 
•Labor Day 
•Columbus Day
•Veteran's Day,
•Thanksgiving Day 
• Christmas Day
•Day After Thanksgiving (CT, MA, 
RI, VT, ME) 
•Good Friday (CT only)
•Patriots Day (ME, MA)
•Victory Day (RI only)
•Election Day (NH only –even 
years only) 

Patriot’s Day

Patriot’s Day

Victory Day

Election Day

Day aft Thanksgiving

Good Friday

Day aft Thanksgiving

Day aft Thanksgiving

Day aft Thanksgiving

Day aft Thanksgiving10

6



Municipality Exemption

•VT and CT have no exemptions 

•MA Municipal operator must 
markout but.. no penalty for 
mismarks, no penalty for not 
marking out in time  

•NH Municipal operators are 
exempt because they are not 
considered public utilities but 
can voluntarily join

•RI Municipalities are exempt 
but can voluntarily join. 
…Should strongly consider 
participation ..and should be 
marked appropriately

•ME municipals can be 
considered non members and 
contacted directly
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Notification of LP 

Operators
•NH, VT and RI is LP 
jurisdictional facilities only 
required to comply with 
CFR 49 Part 192.614 
•ME is LP jurisidictional
facilities + any 
underground tanks (even 
those not regulated by CFR 
49 Part 192.614 
•CT is all underground 
facilities inclusive 
jurisdictional and non 
jurisdictional
•MA no requirement for LP 
Operators whether 
jurisdictional and non 
jurisdictional
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Notification Required 

for Hand Tools

•ME, CT, RI have no requirement for 
notification unless power tools

•VT exempts routine gardening w/ 
hand tools outside public ROW & 
easements if for highway 
maintenance, and company 
personnel to locate and service 
company facilities {i.e. elec poles} 
Chapter 86 -7001 (4) 

•NH exempts landscaping & 
maintenance of res property 
performed w/non-mechanized 

equipment  RSA 374:48 (III)

•MA exempts excavation by tools 
manipulated only by human power 
for gardening purposes MA Chap 82 Section 40

1

2

3
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Wait Times

•Vermont has always 
been 48 hours

•Rhode Island recently 
switched from 48
hours to 72 hours in 
November 2009

•Massachusetts and

Maine and New 
Hampshire, have 
always been 72 hours

•Connecticut requires 
2 full days (working) 
not necessarily 48
hours

72 hrs 

72 hrs

48 – 72 hrs

72 hrs

72 hrs

48 hrs
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Expiration Date

•Rhode Island has start within 
30 days but construction 
completed within 60 days.  

•Maine and New Hampshire, 
have always been 30 Days and
no renewal allowed, thus new 
ticket

•Vermont is up to 30 days

•Connecticut has 30 days then 
renewal of existing ticket

•Massachusetts has no 
expiration if: marks are not 
faded, emergency rectified, 
new facilities installed in the 
area of marking

=30 days

If  > 30 days
Then renewal

<30 days

60 days

=30 days

11



Trenchless 

Technology Provision
•VT expose, determine  depth 
and location for crossings and 
reasonable intervals for parallel 
excavations Chapter 86 -7600(b) 

•NH for HDD, Boring, Jacking, 
Tunneling, Pavement 
Reclamation  determine exact 
depth and clearance and 
incorporate details into 
procedure Puc 805.02 e 

•CT if using trenchless excavation 
then precise location is required 
when crossed or encroached. CT 
16-345-4 (5) 

•ME, MA and RI do not have 
specific provisions
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18 Inch Tolerance Zone

•NH known as “tolerance 
zone”

•MA known as “safety zone”

•ME uses “safety zone” for 
excavator and “tolerance 
zone” for marking. 

•RI, VT use “approximate 
location of underground 
facilities”  

•CT uses “approximate strip 
of land” 
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“Center line” Marks 

Edges of 
Tolerance 
Zone

Total width of Tolerance Zone is 42 inches
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Tolerance Zones

Nationally:

•26 states have 18 inch 

•20 states have 24 inch

•2 states have 36 inch
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Positive Response Required

•CT requires reasonable efforts 
be made to notify the excavator 
that no underground facilities are 
in the area and document it. 16-

345-3 (B)

•NH spells out 3 methods: 

(1)Field Marking

(2) Job Site Meeting

(3) Electronic Communication

NH Puc 804.02 (e)

•ME is similar to NH’s methods 1 
and 3 above
Chapter 895 Section 6 Responsibilities of 
Operator 

B Marking Subsection (1) 18



Required to Call 

911 if Damage

•CT No requirement -
only gas per CFR 192 
or hazardous liquid 

•ME no requirement

•VT no requirement

•RI no requirement

•NH required if release 
of gas or electric shock
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Excavator Required 

to Report Damage 

to Commission
Vermont No

MA No

RI No

CT No

NH PUC 805.05 (a) (6) doesn’t specify 
when or how 

•ME   Maine Chapter 895 

Section 4 Responsibilities of Excavator 

D Reporting

Subsection (2) 
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Operator Required 

to Report Damage

•Rhode Island only gas 
companies report 
damage

•NH, CT, ME, MA and 
VT all utilities and 
operators report 
damage (LP, electric 
water, telecom, CATV, 
gas..) 
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Required Training 

for Locators
•ME, MA, RI, CT, VT have no training 
requirements for locators, all gas 
pipeline operators would rely on 
Operator Qualifications
• NH requires NULCA training or 
equivalent based on the at least the 
following competencies
(1)Electromagnetic locating;
(2) Instruction in the use of 
transmitters and receivers;
(3) Procedures for marking 
underground facilities;
(4) Training in the identification of 
facilities;
(5) Safety procedures;
(6) Operator map and record reading; 
and
(7) Familiarity with the NH specific 
rules 
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Civil Penalty Training 

Provided by Commission

•MA provides training but does it 
indirectly through MUST group 

•CT has no provision for training 
but relies on One Call Center to 
provide training

•ME and NH directly provide 
training 

•RI and VT have no requirements 
to provide training
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Civil Penalty

•9 states remain 
without Civil Penalty 
Provisions

•Many of the 
remaining states use 
AG office or another 
Agency (weak) 
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Enforcement by 

Commission

•RI - No enforcement by 
Commission but by Division 
staff only 

•NH – Enforcement delegated 
to Staff with an appeal process 
if necessary

•ME – Enforcement delegated 
to Staff w/appeal process

•CT – Enforcement with Staff 

•VT – Staff makes 
recommendation to Board 
which 95% of time accepts rec

•MA – Enforcement with Staff 
with appeal process if 
necessary
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Civil Penalties

•RI 39-1.2-13. Penalties. 

•1st offense up to $350

•2nd offense between $500 
and $2,500  if within 12 
months

•This is an increase from 
$200 and $200 to $1000

•Ineligible to bid on state 
funded, state regulated, 
state subsidized public 
works contract 

•How Long? 
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Civil Penalties

•VT § 7008. Penalties

•1st offense up to $500

•2nd offense up to $1000 
within 12 months

•3rd offense up to $1500

within 12 months

•4th offense up to $5000

based on date of violation 
not when final 
determination is made
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Civil Penalties

•NH RSA 374:58 (VIII)

•1st offense up to $500 or 
training approved by the 
commission (in house) 

•2nd offense up to $5000 
within 12 months or if 
property damage greater than 
$50,000 or if bodily injury 

•3rd offense and beyond up to 
$5000 within 12 months

•Home owners receive no 
penalty if digging on own 
property (otherwise training) 
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Civil Penalties

•ME Chapter 895 § 8 
ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES

(D) penalty level

•1st offense up to $500 or 
training approved by the 
commission (in house) 

•2nd offense up to $5000 
within 12 months

•3rd offense and beyond up to 
$5000 within 12 months
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Civil Penalties

•MA 99.12: Civil Penalties

•1st offense up to $1000

•2nd offense between $5000 
and $10,000

•If second offense is more 
than 12 months from the 
first offense then reverts 
back to $1000
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Civil Penalties

•CT Sec. 16-345-9. 
Assessment of civil penalties 

•If no bodily injury and or 
property damage then..

1st offense $200 

2nd offense up to $5000

3rd offense up to $40,000

•If property damage is $3,000 
or less penalty is up to 
$12,000

•If property damage is 
between$3,000 and $20,000 
penalty is up to $20,000

•If property damage is 
$20,000 or greater penalty is 
up to $40,000

31

CT



THANK YOU 
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