Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

MEMA Home > Programs> Communication> News > Flood Assistance Expanded to Penobscot County

Flood Assistance Expanded to Penobscot County


May 16, 2008


AUGUSTA – Governor John Baldacci received word late today that President Bush has expanded the major disaster declaration to include Penobscot County as a result of the record flooding that struck the County earlier this month. Assistance has been granted for individuals and businesses.

Individuals and business owners can begin the application process immediately by calling 1-800-621-3362; 1-800-462-7585 (TYY). Individuals can also register at

The federal assistance may be used for temporary housing, repairs and for disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs.

FEMA assistance does not typically cover the entire cost to repair storm damage. For people with insurance, the aid may help pay for basic needs not covered by insurance.

The assistance for individuals will come in the form of grants or low interest SBA loans. SBA loans for uninsured damage or economic injury are available to businesses.

“People shouldn’t be reluctant to apply for assistance. Even if they have insurance or aren’t sure if they’re eligible, people impacted by the flooding should register with FEMA,” Governor Baldacci said. “This program is intended to help people get back on their feet after a disaster, and it should be put to use.”

Aroostook County has also qualified for assistance to individuals and businesses. Aroostook, Knox, Lincoln, Piscataquis, Somerset and Waldo counties have qualified for assistance in repairing public property, such as roads, bridges and water treatment facilities.

Anyone who has called 211 to report damages should also call FEMA to begin the application process for assistance.



Maine Emergency Management Agency


Last update: 07/20/10