Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home >The Midcoast Bypass Task Force

The Midcoast Bypass Task Force

The Midcoast Bypass Task Force was formed to create a diverse, regional group of stakeholders to help guide MaineDOT and the Federal Highway Administration through the public comment aspect of the Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) process.

This group consists of representatives from Wiscasset, Edgecomb, Alna, Westport Island, Woolwich, Newcastle, Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Lincoln County, the Sheepscot Valley Conservation Association, the Chewonki Foundation and Friends of Coastal Preservation.

Public participation is especially important in this process, as the federal and state government’s ability to successfully fund a bypass solution would depend on the communities’ ability to agree on a route that most people will be willing to accept.

Members of the Midcoast Bypass Task Force are:

  • David Nichols, Board of Selectmen, Wiscasset
  • Arthur Faucher, Town Manager, Wiscasset
  • Don Jones, Chair, Wiscasset Transportation Committee
  • Joanne Cameron, Edgecomb
  • Amanda Russell, Edgecomb
  • Barry Johnston, Edgecomb
  • Roy Potter, Edgecomb Fire Chief
  • Robert Faunce, Planning Director, Lincoln County
  • Douglas Baston, Chair, Planning Board, Alna
  • Patrice Hudson, Board of Selectmen, Newcastle
  • Lee Straw, Board of Selectmen, Newcastle
  • David King, Sr., Woolwich
  • David Bertran, Westport Island
  • Ross Edwards, Selectman, Boothbay
  • Tom Woodin, Town Manager, Boothbay Harbor
  • Jaimie Logan, Boothbay Harbor Region Chamber of Commerce
  • Leah Sprague, Sheepscot Valley Conservation Association
  • Don Hudson Jr., The Chewonki Foundation
  • Dr. Norma Dreyfus, Friends of Coastal Preservation
  • Kat Beaudoin, Chief Planner, Transportation Systems, MaineDOT
  • Gerry Audibert, Project Manager, MaineDOT
  • Edward Hanscom, Transportation Analysis, MaineDOT
  • Mark Hasselmann, Assistant Division Administrator, Maine Division, FHWA

Once the DEIS is published and distributed, the task force will work on a six-month timetable to reach resolution on the bypass' final route. Their recommendation must then be reviewed by MaineDOT for final approval by the Federal Highway Administration.


This page last updated on 12/14/11