Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home >Utility Issues>Laws and Policies> Location Permits >State Urban Compact Municipalities

State Urban Compact Municipalities

Urban Compact Municipalities are those in which the population according to the last United States census

  • Exceeds 7,500 inhabitants. Is less than 7,500 inhabitants but more than 2,499 inhabitants, and in which the ratio of people whose place of employment is in a given municipality to employed people residing in that same municipality is 1.0 or greater, and when the municipality has not exercised the opt-out provision of this section.
  • "Compact" or "Built-up sections" means a section of the highway where structures are nearer than 200 feet apart for a distance of 1/4 of a mile, unless otherwise defined; reference MRSA 23 sub-section 754, revised July 1, 1999.
    Presently there are 43 Urban Compact Municipalities.
  • The Urban areas over 7,500 population are: Auburn, Augusta, Bangor, Bath, Biddeford, Brewer, Brunswick, Cape Elizabeth, Caribou, Falmouth, Gorham, Kennebunk, Kittery, Lewiston, Lisbon, Old Orchard Beach, Old Town, Orono, Portland, Presque Isle, Rockland, Saco, Sanford, Scarborough, Skowhegan, South Portland, Standish, Topsham, Waterville, Wells, Westbrook, Windham, Winslow, Yarmouth and York.
  • The Urban areas over 6,000 but less than 7,500 that did not have the opt-out option are: Belfast, Fairfield, Farmington, Freeport, Gardiner, Houlton, Millinocket, Rumford.


This page last updated on 10/16/13