Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home >Maine's Transportation Systems >State Urban Compact Municipalities

State Urban Compact Municipalities

Urban Compact Municipalities are those in which the population according to the last United States census;

  1. Exceeds 7,500 inhabitants, or
  2. Is less than 7,500 inhabitants but more than 2,499 inhabitants, and in which the ratio of people whose place of employment is in a given municipality to employed people residing in that same municipality is 1.0 or greater, and when the municipality has not exercised the opt-out provision of this section.

"Compact" or "Built-up sections" means a section of the highway where structures are nearer than 200 feet apart for a distance of 1/4 of a mile, unless otherwise defined; reference MRSA 23 sub-section 754, revised July 1, 1999.

Presently there are 47 State Urban Compact Municipalities. The data from the 2010 US Census created four additional towns (Ellsworth, Gray, Buxton, and Waterboro) that became compact on July 1, 2012 because of population numbers over 7500. Pursuant to state law, each of these 47 municipalities have maintenance responsibilities within their defined compact areas.

To view the latest state urban compact boundary description, click on the municipality's name.

The State Urban Compact areas that meet one of the two definitions noted above:


The State Urban Compact areas over 6,000 but less than 7,500 that did not have the opt-out option in 1999

Winter Compact State Highway municipalities

Any municipality eligible to be an urban compact municipality, that had compact area state highway winter maintenance responsibilities on January 1, 1999, and that has opted out of summer maintenance responsibilities. These municipalities have winter maintenance responsibilities on compact areas of state highways.

  • Winter Compact Document (Word) (PDF)
  • Municipalities
    • Bar Harbor
    • Bridgton
    • Bucksport
    • Calais
    • Camden
    • Dexter
    • DoverFoxcroft
    • Fort Kent
    • Jay
    • Lincoln
    • Madawaska
    • Oxford
    • Pittsfield

Urban Compact Areas vs Federal Urban Areas 

In comparing Urban Compact Areas in Maine to Federal Urban Areas, there is different criteria that defines the boundaries of each Area. All of the above-mentioned compact areas are also Federal Urban Areas except for the following towns which are NOT Federal Urban Areas: All 14 of the Winter Compact State Highway municipalities, Fairfield, Farmington, Kennebunk, Standish, Wells, and York.

Urban Compact Areas vs Regional Service Centers

In comparing Urban Compact Areas in Maine to Regional Service Centers, there are different criteria that defines each entity. All of the above-mentioned compact areas are also Regional Service Centers except for the following towns which are NOT Regional Service Centers: Cape Elizabeth, Falmouth, Gorham, Kennebunk, Lisbon, Standish, Wells, Windham, Yarmouth, and York. In addition, all of the “winter compact-only” towns are Regional Service Centers except for Jay. Also, there are several Regional Service Centers which are NOT urban compact areas.

Regional Service Centers

Regional Service Centers as defined by Maine State Planning Office.


This page last updated on 5/1/14

free document readers


If your web browser or screen reader cannot view the documents that are listed on this page, please visit the Contact Page.