Skip Maine state header navigation
Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation
|MaineDOT | Home | Contact Us||
Site Map |
Speed Limits in School Zones
State law is very specific when it comes to the regulation of vehicle speeds through school zones. Although the law has been around for years, some changes in 2001 clarified several issues relative to:
Changes made in the 120th Legislature were made under LD 843. This bill was passed as emergency legislation as 2001 PL 145 and became effective on May 14, 2001.
A “school” is defined as "any public or private elementary or secondary school in the State.”, as defined under 20-A MRSA § 6353 (7).
A “school zone” was also redefined under 29-A MRSA §101, 64B and “means the portion of the public highway abutting improved school property or 300 feet on either side of a school entrance, whichever is greater.”
“ Improved school property” now is defined under 29-A MRSA § 101, 28B as “the developed portion of school property including driveways, parking lots, playgrounds, athletic fields or school buildings.”
Speed Limit: except when conditions or other regulations require a lower speed,
Fifteen miles per hour (15 mph) when traveling in a school zone:
This page last updated on 1/9/13
|Copyright MaineDOT © 2010 All rights reserved.|