Sec. A-1. Appropriations and allocations. The following appropriations and allocations are made.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF

Revenue Services - Bureau of 0002

Initiative: Reduces funding for general operations at Maine Revenue Services. This initiative relates to curtailment of allotments ordered by the Governor pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 5, section 1668.

Ref. #: 3	Committee Vote:	ote: AFA Vo		⁷ ote:		
GENERAL FUND		2010-11	2011-12	2012-13		
All Other		(\$218,850)	\$0	\$0		
GENERAL FUND TOTAL		(\$218,850)	\$0	\$0		
Justification:						
Through a redesign of withholding forms ar	nd change in the threshold from \$500 to	o \$1,000 for sending certific	ed mail, the			
department can curtail one-time spending of	f \$218,850.					

ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF

DEPARTMENT TOTALS	2010-11	2011-12	2012-13
GENERAL FUND	(\$218,850)	\$0	\$0
DEPARTMENT TOTAL - ALL FUNDS	(\$218,850)	\$0	\$0

Sec. A-44. Appropriations and allocations. The following appropriations and allocations are made. PROPERTY TAX REVIEW, STATE BOARD OF **Property Tax Review - State Board of 0357** Initiative: Reduces funding to achieve targeted savings. Ref. #: 449 Committee Vote: AFA Vote: **GENERAL FUND** 2010-11 2011-12 2012-13 (\$803) \$0 \$0 All Other GENERAL FUND TOTAL (\$803) \$0 \$0 Justification: This initiative reduces funding for technology expenditures in order to achieve targeted savings for this program.

PROPERTY TAX REVIEW, STATE BOARD OF

DEPARTMENT TOTALS	2010-11	2011-12	2012-13
GENERAL FUND	(\$803)	\$0	\$0
DEPARTMENT TOTAL - ALL FUNDS	(\$803)	\$0	\$0

Sec. A-52. Appropriations and allocations.

The following appropriations and allocations are made.

TREASURER OF STATE, OFFICE OF

Disproportionate Tax Burden Fund 0472

OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS

OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS TOTAL

All Other

Initiative: Provides funding to bring allocations into line with projected available resources based on the reprojection of revenue by the Revenue Forecasting Committee in December 2010.

Ref. #: 515	Committee Vote:	AFA Vot	e:	
OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE All Other	FUNDS	2010-11 \$730,596	2011-12 \$0	2012-1 .
OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE F	UNDS TOTAL	\$730,596	\$0	\$(
	evenue Sharing to municipalities and for Dispropo Revenue Forecasting Committee in December 20		based on	
Disproportionate Tax Burden F				
Initiative: Reduces funding to pro	vide for the transfer of additional revenue sharing	g funds to the General Fund	l in fiscal year	
2010-11.				
	Committee Vote:	AFA Vot	e:	
2010-11. Ref. #: 516		AFA Vote	e:	2012-1
2010-11.				2012-1 :
2010-11. Ref. #: 516 OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE	FUNDS	2010-11	2011-12	\$0
2010-11. Ref. #: 516 OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE All Other OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE F Justification: Language proposed in Part N of ti undedicated revenue by \$3,875,00	FUNDS UNDS TOTAL his bill would increase the transfer of revenue shades for fiscal year 2010-11. This initiative reduces the Disproportionate Tax Burden Fund account the	2010-11 (\$620,011) (\$620,011) aring funds to the General F the allocation in the State-	2011-12 \$0 \$0 \$0	
2010-11. Ref. #: 516 OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE All Other OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE F Justification: Language proposed in Part N of tundedicated revenue by \$3,875,00000000000000000000000000000000000	FUNDS UNDS TOTAL his bill would increase the transfer of revenue shad for fiscal year 2010-11. This initiative reduces the Disproportionate Tax Burden Fund account the ed.	2010-11 (\$620,011) (\$620,011) aring funds to the General F the allocation in the State-	2011-12 \$0 \$0 \$0	\$0
2010-11. Ref. #: 516 OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE All Other OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE F Justification: Language proposed in Part N of t undedicated revenue by \$3,875,00 Revenue Sharing account and in t additional fund transfer is approved. State - Municipal Revenue Shar Initiative: Provides funding to bri	FUNDS UNDS TOTAL his bill would increase the transfer of revenue shad for fiscal year 2010-11. This initiative reduces the Disproportionate Tax Burden Fund account the ed.	2010-11 (\$620,011) (\$620,011) aring funds to the General F the allocation in the State-lat will no longer be require	\$0 \$0 \$0 Sund Municipal d if the	\$0

LR1996(1) - App-Alloc (TAX) Part A Sec. 52

2010-11

\$3,835,633

\$3,835,633

2011-12

\$0

\$0

2012-13

\$0

\$0

Justification:

Adjusts funding for Municipal Revenue Sharing to municipalities and for Disproportionate Tax Burden Fund based on revenue forecast approved by the Revenue Forecasting Committee in December 2010.

State - Municipal Revenue Sharing 0020

Initiative: Reduces funding to provide for the transfer of additional revenue sharing funds to the General Fund in fiscal year 2010-11.

Ref. #: 508 Committee Vote: AFA Vote:

OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS	2010-11	2011-12	2012-13
All Other	(\$3,255,058)	\$0	\$0
OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS TOTAL	(\$3,255,058)	<u>\$0</u>	\$0

Justification:

Language proposed in Part N of this bill would increase the transfer of revenue sharing funds to the General Fund undedicated revenue by \$3,875,069 for fiscal year 2010-11. This initiative reduces the allocation in the State-Municipal Revenue Sharing account and in the Disproportionate Tax Burden Fund account that will no longer be required if the additional fund transfer is approved.

TREASURER OF STATE, OFFICE OF

DEPARTMENT TOTALS	2010-11	2011-12	2012-13
OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS	\$691,160	\$0	\$0
DEPARTMENT TOTAL - ALL FUNDS	\$691,160	\$0	\$0

Sec. B-1. Appropriations and allocations.

The following appropriations and allocations are made.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF

Revenue Services - Bureau of 0002

Initiative: RECLASSIFICATIONS

Ref. #: 4	Committee Vote:	AFA Vot	e:		
GENERAL FUND		2010-11	2011-12	2012-13	
Personal Services		\$5,669	\$0	\$0	
All Other		(\$5,669)	\$0	\$0	
GENERAL FUND TOTAL		\$0	\$0	\$0	
ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINAN	CIAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF				
DEPARTMENT TOTALS		2010-11	2011-12	2012-13	
GENERAL FUND		\$0	\$0	\$0	
DEPARTMENT TOTAL - ALL FU	UNDS	<u>\$0</u>	\$0	\$0	

1	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2	PART N
3 4	Sec. N-1. 30-A MRSA §5681, sub-§5-C, as amended by PL 2009, c. 571, Pt. JJ, §1, is further amended to read:
5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14	5-C. Transfers to General Fund. For the months beginning on or after July 1, 2009, \$25,383,491 in fiscal year 2009-10 and \$35,270,254 \$39,145,323 in fiscal year 2010-11 from the total transfers pursuant to subsection 5 must be transferred to General Fund undedicated revenue each fiscal year pursuant to this subsection must be deducted from the distributions required by subsections 4-A and 4-B based on the percentage share of the transfers to the Local Government Fund pursuant to subsection 5. The reductions in this subsection must be allocated to each month proportionately based on the budgeted monthly transfers to the Local Government Fund as determined at the beginning of the fiscal year.
15 16 17 18 19 20 21	Sec. N-2. Transfers to General Fund for fiscal year 2010-11. Notwithstanding the requirement in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 30-A, section 5681, subsection 5-C that amounts must be transferred to General Fund undedicated revenue on a proportionate basis based on budgeted monthly transfers to the Local Government Fund as determined at the beginning of fiscal year 2010-11, for fiscal year 2010-11, \$3,875,069 must be transferred on a proportional basis based on the number of months remaining in fiscal year 2010-11 following the effective date of this Part.
22 23 24 25 26	Sec. N-3. Additional transfer to General Fund for fiscal year 2010-11. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the State Controller shall, in addition to the transfers in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 30-A, section 5681, subsection 5-C, transfer any additional revenue collections exceeding \$125,858,350 for fiscal year 2010-11 to General Fund undedicated revenue by June 30, 2011.
27	SUMMARY
28	PART N
29	This Part does the following.
30 31	1. It increases the revenue sharing transfer to General Fund undedicated revenue by \$3,875,069, from \$35,270,254 to \$39,145,323, for fiscal year 2010-11.
32 33	2. It provides for the revenue increase to General Fund undedicated revenue to be proportional based on the number of months remaining in fiscal year 2010-11 following

3. It requires that the State Controller transfer any additional revenue collections exceeding \$125,858,350 for fiscal year 2010-11 to General Fund undedicated revenue by June 30, 2011.

the effective date of this Part.

34

35 36

Fiscal Note - Part N

	FY 2010-11	FY 2011-12	FY 2012-13	Projections FY 2013-14	Projections FY 2014-15
Revenue					
General Fund					
PART N, Section 1	\$3,875,069	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0
Other Special Reven	ue Funds				
PART N, Section 1	(\$3,875,069)	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0

2 PART P

1

3

4

5 6

7

8

9

12

13 14

15

16 17

- **Sec. P-1. 36 MRSA §111, sub-§1-A,** as amended by PL 2009, c. 596, §1 and affected by §2, is further amended to read:
 - **1-A.** Code. "Code" means the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and amendments to that Code as of March 2 December 31, 2010.
 - **Sec. P-2. Application.** This Part applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010 and to any prior tax years as specifically provided by the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and amendments to that Code as of December 31, 2010.

10 SUMMARY

11 PART P

This Part updates references to the United States Internal Revenue Code contained in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 36 so that they refer to the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1986 as amended through December 31, 2010 for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010 and for any prior tax years as specifically provided by the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1986. The Part primarily affects the State's income tax laws.

Fiscal Note - Part P

	FY 2010-11	FY 2011-12	FY 2012-13	Projections FY 2013-14	Projections FY 2014-15
Revenue					
General Fund					
PART P, Section 1	(\$4,517,913)	(\$7,924,538)	(\$32,351)	\$7,688,384	\$7,055,595
	F 1				
Other Special Reven	iue Funds				
PART P, Section 1	(\$237,785)	(\$417,081)	(\$1,703)	\$404,652	\$371,347

1	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2	PART BB
3 4	Sec. BB-1. 36 MRSA $\$141$, sub- $\$2$, \PC , as amended by PL 2001, c. 396, $\$4$, is further amended to read:
5	C. An assessment may be made at any time with respect to a time period for which a
6	return has become due but has not been filed. If any a person failing who has failed to
7	file a return fails to produce does not provide to the assessor, within 30 60 days after
8	of receipt of notice, information that the State Tax Assessor believes assessor
9	considers necessary to determine the person's tax liability for the that period involved,
10	the State Tax Assessor assessor may assess an estimated tax liability based upon the
11	best information otherwise available. In any proceeding for the collection of tax for
12	the that period involved, that estimate constitutes is prima facie evidence of the tax
13 14	liability. The 30-day 60-day period provided by this paragraph is must be extended for up to 90 an additional 60 days if the taxpayer requests an extension in writing
15	prior to the expiration of the 30 day original 60-day period.
13	prior to the expiration of the 50-day <u>original oo-day</u> period.
16	Sec. BB-2. 36 MRSA §5276-A, sub-§2, as amended by PL 1993, c. 395, §23, is
17	further amended to read:
18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25	2. Notice and hearing. At the time a setoff is made, the State Tax Assessor assessor shall provide notice to the individual or corporate taxpayer of the setoff or setoffs and of the taxpayer's right to request, within 30 60 days of the taxpayer's receipt of the notice of the setoff, a hearing before the creditor agency or agencies. The hearing or hearings are must be held pursuant to in accordance with the provisions of the Maine Administrative Procedure Act, Title 5, chapter 375, but are is limited to the issues of whether the debt or debts became liquidated and whether any postliquidation events have event has affected the liability.
26	Sec. BB-3. Application. This Part takes effect July 1, 2011.
27	SUMMARY
28	PART BB
29 30 31	This Part increases the period for providing certain information required by the Department of Administrative and Financial Services, Bureau of Revenue Services and for requesting a hearing before a creditor agency from 30 to 60 days.

3 4	Sec. CC-1. 36 MRSA §2558, sub-§2, as enacted by PL 2003, c. 673, Pt. V, §25 and affected by §29, is amended to read:
5 6 7 8	2. Amended return filed. The amended return must be filed within 90 180 days of an audit finding affecting that affects a person's liability under this chapter or within 90 180 days of the time date that a person learns of any other a change or correction affecting its that affects that person's liability under this chapter.
9 10	Sec. CC-2. 36 MRSA §4075, as amended by PL 2007, c. 693, §30, is further amended to read:
11	§4075. Amount of tax determined
12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21	The State Tax Assessor shall determine the amount of tax due and payable upon any estate or part of that estate. If, after determination and certification of the full amount of the tax upon an estate or any interest in or part of an estate, the estate receives or becomes entitled to property in addition to that shown in the estate tax return filed with the assessor or the United States Internal Revenue Service changes any item increasing the estate's liability shown in the Maine estate tax return filed with the assessor, the personal representative shall within 90 180 days of any receipt, entitlement or change file an amended Maine estate tax return. The assessor shall determine the amount of additional tax and shall certify the amount due, including interest and penalties, to the person by whom the tax is payable.
22 23	Sec. CC-3. 36 MRSA §5227-A, sub-§2, as enacted by PL 2003, c. 588, §19, is amended to read:
24 25 26 27 28	2. Amended return filed. The amended Maine return must be filed within 90 180 days from the date of the final determination of the change or correction or the filing of the federal amended return. For purposes of this subsection, "date of the final determination" means the date on which the earliest of the following events occurs with respect to a federal taxable year:
29 30 31 32	A. The taxpayer has made payment of an additional income tax liability resulting from a federal audit, the taxpayer has not filed a petition for redetermination or claim for refund for the portions of the audit for which payment was made and the time for filing a petition for redetermination or refund claim has expired;
33 34	B. The taxpayer receives a refund from the United States Treasury that resulted from a federal audit;
35 36	C. The taxpayer signs Form 870-AD or another Internal Revenue Service form consenting to a deficiency or accepting an overassessment;
37 38	D. The taxpayer's time for filing a petition for redetermination with the United States Tax Court expires;

PART CC

1

- 1 E. The taxpayer and the Internal Revenue Service enter into a closing agreement; and
- 2 F. A decision from the United States Tax Court, a District Court, a federal court of appeals, the United States Court of Federal Claims or the United States Supreme 3 4 Court becomes final.
 - **Sec. CC-4. 36 MRSA §5245,** as enacted by PL 2007, c. 693, §34, is amended to read:

§5245. Amended returns

5 6

7

8

9 10

11

12

13

14 15

16

17

18 19

20

21 22

23

24 25

26 27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

39

- 1. Amended return required. Every partnership or S corporation that is required by section 5241 to file a return shall file an amended Maine return whenever the partnership or S corporation files an amended federal return affecting its net income under this Part or the amount of the distributive share of any partner or shareholder under this Part, whenever the United States Internal Revenue Service changes or corrects any item affecting the taxpayer's net income under this Part or the amount of the distributive share of any partner or shareholder under this Part or whenever for any reason there is a change or correction affecting the taxpayer's net income under this Part or the amount of the distributive share of any partner or shareholder under this Part. The amended Maine return must be filed within 90 180 days from the date of the final determination of the change or correction or the date of the filing of the federal amended return. For purposes of this subsection, "date of the final determination" has the same meaning as provided in section 5227-A, subsection 2.
- 2. Contents of amended return. The amended Maine return must indicate the change or correction and the reason for that change or correction. The amended return constitutes an admission as to the correctness of the change unless the taxpayer includes with the return a written explanation of the reason the change or correction is erroneous. If the taxpayer files an amended federal return, a copy of the amended federal return must be attached to the amended Maine return. The State Tax Assessor may require additional information to be filed with the amended Maine return. The assessor may prescribe exceptions to the requirements of this section.
- 3. Notice of change or correction. A claim for credit or refund arising from an amended return filed pursuant to this section may not be made by a partner or shareholder of the partnership or S corporation unless the amended return is filed by the partnership or S corporation within 3 years from the time date the original return was filed. For purposes of this subsection, any a return filed before the last day prescribed for the filing of a return is considered as deemed to be filed on that last day.
- **Sec. CC-5. Effective date.** This Part takes effect July 1, 2011.

SUMMARY 36

37 38

This Part increases the period allowed for filing an amended Maine income tax return based on a federal change and for filing an amended service provider tax return or estate

PART CC

- tax return under certain circumstances from 90 days to 180 days, and clarifies that it is the date of the final determination that triggers a requirement to file an amended Maine 1
- 2 3
- income tax return.

PART DD

- Sec. DD-1. 36 MRSA §144, sub-§1, as amended by PL 2001, c. 396, §5, is further amended to read:
- 1. Generally. A taxpayer may request a credit or refund of any tax that is imposed by this Title or administered by the State Tax Assessor within 3 years from the time date the return was filed or 2 3 years from the time date the tax was paid, whichever period expires later. Every claim for refund must be submitted to the State Tax Assessor assessor in writing and must state the specific grounds upon which it the claim is founded and the tax period for which the refund is claimed. The If the taxpayer may requests in writing request an informal conference regarding the claim for refund, in which case the claim for refund is considered deemed to be a request for reconsideration of an assessment under section 151.
- **Sec. DD-2. 36 MRSA §4075-A, sub-§1,** as amended by PL 2005, c. 622, §24, is further amended to read:
- 1. **Refund.** A personal representative or responsible party otherwise liable for the tax imposed by this chapter may request a refund of any tax imposed by this chapter within 3 years from the time date the return was filed or 2 3 years from the time date the tax was paid, whichever period expires later. Every claim for refund must be submitted to the State Tax Assessor in writing and must state the specific grounds upon which the claim is founded. The claimant may in writing request an informal conference regarding the claim for refund pursuant to the provisions of section 151.
- **Sec. DD-3. 36 MRSA §5278,** as amended by PL 2009, c. 496, §26, is further amended to read:

§5278. Limitations on credit or refund

- **1. General.** A claim for credit or refund of an overpayment of any tax imposed by this Part must be filed by the taxpayer within 3 years from the time date the return was filed, whether or not the return was timely filed, or 3 years from the time date the tax was paid, whichever of such periods period expires the later. A credit or refund is not allowed or may not be made allowed after the expiration of the period of limitation prescribed in this subsection for the filing of a claim for credit or refund, unless a claim for credit or refund is filed by the taxpayer within such a that period. For purposes of this subsection, any a return filed before the last day prescribed for the filing of a return is considered as deemed to be filed on that last day.
- 2. Limit on amount of claim or refund. If the claim is filed by the taxpayer during the 3-year period prescribed in subsection 1, the amount of the credit or refund may not exceed the portion of the tax that was paid within the 3 years immediately preceding the filing of the claim plus the period of any extension of time for filing the return. If no a claim is not filed, any credit or refund allowed upon an audit of the taxpayer may not

exceed the amount that would be allowable under this subsection, if a claim had been filed by the taxpayer on the date the credit or refund is allowed.

- **3. Extension of time by agreement.** If an agreement for an extension of the period for assessment of income taxes is made within the period prescribed in subsection 1 for the filing of a claim for credit or refund, the period for filing a claim for credit or refund or for making allowing a credit or refund if no a claim is not filed, shall may not expire prior to earlier than 6 months after the expiration of the period within during which an assessment may be made pursuant to the agreement or any extension thereof of the agreement. The amount of such the credit or refund shall may not exceed the sum of the portion of the tax paid after the execution of the agreement and before the filing of the claim or the making of the credit or refund, as the case may be, plus and the portion of the tax paid within the period which that would be applicable under subsection 1 if a claim had been filed on the date the agreement was executed.
- **4. Notice of change or correction.** If a taxpayer is required by section 5227-A to file an amended Maine return, a claim for credit or refund of any resulting overpayment of the tax must be filed by the taxpayer within $2 \ \underline{3}$ years from the time date the filing of the amended return was required. The claim for credit or refund is limited to issues included in the federal amendment or adjustment and the amount of the credit or refund may not exceed the amount of the reduction in tax attributable to the federal amendment or adjustment. This subsection does not affect the time within which or the amount for which a claim for credit or refund may be filed apart from this subsection.
- **5. Special rules.** The following rules shall apply to claims for credit or refund pursuant to this section:
 - A. If the claim for credit or refund relates to an overpayment of tax on account of the deductibility by the taxpayer of a debt as a debt which that became worthless or a loss from worthlessness of a security or the effect that the deductibility of a debt or of a loss has on the application to the taxpayer of a carry-over, the claim may be made, under regulations prescribed by the assessor, within 7 years from the date prescribed by law for filing the return for the year with respect to which the claim is made, and
 - B. If the claim for credit or refund relates to an overpayment attributable to a net operating loss carry-back arising from a tax year beginning before January 1, 2002 or a credit carry-back, the claim may be made, under rules adopted by the assessor, within the period that ends with the 15th day of the 40th month following the end of the taxable year of the net operating loss or the unused credit that resulted in the carry-back or the period prescribed in subsection 3 in respect of that taxable year, whichever expires later. With respect to any portion of a credit carry-back from a taxable year that is attributable to a net operating loss carry-back or a capital loss carry-back from a subsequent taxable year, the period within which the claim may be made ends with the 15th day of the 40th month following the end of the subsequent taxable year or the period prescribed in subsection 3 in respect of that taxable year, whichever expires later.
 - **Sec. DD-4.** Effective date. This Part takes effect July 1, 2011.

1	SUMMARY
2	PART DD
3 4	This Part extends the period during which certain tax refunds may be requested to 3 years from the date of filing or payment, whichever is later.

3 4	Sec. EE-1. 36 MRSA §4074, as amended by PL 1991, c. 846, §35, is further amended to read:
5	§4074. Authority of State Tax Assessor
6 7 8 9	The State Tax Assessor shall collect all taxes, interest and penalties provided by chapter 7 and by this chapter and may institute proceedings of any nature necessary or desirable for that purpose, including such proceedings as may be necessary or desirable for the removal of personal representatives and trustees who have failed to pay the taxes due from estates in their hands.
11 12 13	The State Tax Assessor assessor may enforce the collection of any taxes secured by bond in a civil action brought on the bond regardless of the fact that some other another official may be named as obligee in the bond.
14 15 16 17 18	If any overpayment of tax imposed by this chapter is refunded within 3 months after the date last prescribed, or permitted by extension of time, for filing the return of that tax or within 3 months after the return is filed or within 3 months after a return requesting a refund of the overpayment is filed, whichever is later, no interest may be paid by the State Tax Assessor.
19 20	Sec. EE-2. 36 MRSA §4075-A, sub-§2, as enacted by PL 1995, c. 281, §23, is amended to read:
21 22 23 24 25 26	2. Limitation on payment of interest. Notwithstanding subsection 1, if any Interest may not be paid by the assessor on an overpayment of the tax imposed by this chapter that is refunded within 3 months 60 days after the date prescribed or permitted by extension of time for filing the return of that tax or within 3 months 60 days after the return is filed or within 3 months 60 days after a return requesting a refund of the overpayment is filed, whichever is later, no interest may be paid by the assessor.
27 28	Sec. EE-3. 36 MRSA §5279, as amended by PL 1991, c. 546, §37, is further amended to read:
29	§5279. Interest on overpayment
30 31 32 33 34	1. General. Interest, at the rate determined pursuant to section 186, shall <u>must</u> be paid upon on any <u>refund of an</u> overpayment in respect of the tax imposed by this Part from the date the return requesting a refund of the overpayment was filed or the date the payment was made, whichever is later. No interest shall be allowed or paid if the amount thereof is less than \$1.
35	2. Date of return or payment. For purposes of this section:

PART EE

1

2 shall be considered as of a return is deemed to be filed on such that last day, 3 determined without regard to any extension of time granted the taxpayer; and 4 Any A tax that is paid by the taxpayer before the last day prescribed for its payment, any income tax withheld from the taxpayer during any calendar a taxable 5 6 year and any amount or paid by the taxpayer as estimated income tax for a taxable year shall be is deemed to have been paid by him on the last day prescribed for the 7 paying thereof its payment. 8 9 3. Return and payment of withholding tax. For purposes of this section with 10 respect to any withholding tax: 11 A. If a return for any period ending with or within a calendar year is filed before 12 April 15th of the succeeding calendar year, such return shall be considered filed on April 15th of such succeeding calendar year; and 13 14 If a tax with respect to remuneration paid during any period ending with or 15 within a calendar year is paid before April 15th of the succeeding calendar year, such tax shall be considered paid on April 15th of such succeeding calendar year. 16 17 **4.** Exceptions. If any Notwithstanding subsection 1, interest may not be paid by the assessor on an overpayment of the tax imposed by this Part that is refunded within 3 18 months 60 days after the last date prescribed, or permitted by extension of time, for filing 19 20 the return of that tax or within 3 months 60 days after the date the return listing 21 requesting a refund of the overpayment was filed, whichever is later, no interest is 22 allowed under this section. In addition, no interest is allowed may not be paid with 23 respect to the a period during which a refund is delayed pending resolution of a proposed 24 setoff under section 5276-A. **Sec. EE-4. Effective date.** This Part takes effect July 1, 2011. 25 26 **SUMMARY** 27 **PART EE** 28 This Part reduces from 3 months to 60 days the period during which the State may 29 not pay interest on certain overpayments of tax that are refunded to the taxpayer.

Any A return that is filed before the last day prescribed for the filing thereof