For Immediate Release
AUGUSTA - House Democrats today rammed through LD 405, "An Act To Increase Municipal Agent Fees for Licensing and Registration of Motor Vehicles," with a partisan, 84-52 vote. The bill authorizes a 50 percent fee increase for new motor vehicle licenses or registrations and a 67 percent increase for renewals.
"Mainers are getting hit from all angles," said House Republican Leader Ken Fredette (R-Newport). "Between federal payroll tax hikes and threats from Maine Democrats to raise income taxes, meals and lodging taxes, cigarette taxes, death taxes, and more, every little fee or tax adds up. The middle class is facing death by a thousand cuts under Democrats and their constant search for more revenue to fuel government growth."
According to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, there are approximately 1.5 million vehicles that require registration in the state currently. LD 405 will take roughly $3 million out of family budgets annually and put it in government coffers.
"Mainers already take a hit to the pocket book every time they head to the town office or BMV, the last thing the middle class needs is more fee increases," said Assistant House Republican Leader Alexander Willette (R-Mapleton).
The bill will now go to the Senate before heading to the governor's desk. Governor LePage has previously threatened to veto any bill that does not have broad, bipartisan support or does not promote job creation.
"This bill does neither, and is in fact an impediment to bipartisan cooperation and job creation," added Fredette. "If the governor vetoes it, I will vote to sustain his veto."
David Sorensen, Communications Director
Maine House Republicans
Tel: (207) 205-7793