Story Photo

Reps. Amy Volk (above), Wayne Parry, and Matt Pouliot will sit on the legislative apportionment commission.
(Click image for larger view)

In this Story
Contact Our Office

Maine House Republicans
Room 332, State House
2 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0002

Phone: (207) 287-1440

For Immediate Release

Date: 12/11/12

Republicans Name Members of Apportionment Commission

Members bring both experience and new ideas

AUGUSTA - House and Senate Republican leaders today named their appointees to the Apportionment Commission, which will convene throughout the winter and spring to redraw the state's House and Senate districts. The Maine Constitution requires redistricting every 10 years in order to ensure that state legislative districts comport with population changes. The commission is made up of 15 members, three of whom are named by House Republicans, two by Senate Republicans, one is the Maine Republican Party chairman, and another is a Republican member of the public.

The appointees are as follows: Senators Andre Cushing III and Garrett Mason, Representatives Wayne Parry, Matthew Pouliot, and Amy Volk, Maine Republican Party chairman-elect Richard Cebra, and former House Republican Leader Joshua Tardy.

House Republican Leader Ken Fredette (R-Newport) was optimistic about the appointees. "We have a great team here that combines experience, new ideas, and geographic representation," he said. "I am optimistic that they will put their best foot forward toward reaching consensus on what is fundamentally a political process."

Senate Republican Leader Michael Thibodeau (R-Waldo) expressed confidence in his picks. "Senators Mason and Cushing are lifelong Maine residents who understand the importance of this commission and its implications for all of our citizens," he said.

Republican members of the commission will meet weekly throughout the legislative session, and the full commission has historically met about a dozen times throughout the process. The seven Republican members of the commission are:

Sen. Andre Cushing III (R-Penobscot)

Sen. Cushing is serving his first term in the Maine Senate representing District 33, which is west of Bangor. He previously served as Assistant House Majority Leader before being elected to the Senate in November. Cushing is a real estate developer and a member of the Hampden Town Council.

Sen. Garrett Mason (R-Androscoggin)

Sen. Mason is serving his second term in the Maine Senate representing District 17 in Androscoggin County. A graduate of Pensacola Christian College, he worked in sports management for the Portland Sea Dogs and Lewiston MAINEiacs before being elected to office.

Rep. Wayne Parry (R-Arundel)

Parry is serving his second term representing House District 140, which includes Arundel, Dayton, part of Kennebunk, and part of Lyman. Rep. Parry is a lobsterman and a small business owner who also serves his community as a member of the Arundel Historical Society, Arundel Business Association, and the Maine Lobstermen's Association.

Rep. Matthew Pouliot (R-Augusta)

A freshman, Pouliot represents District 57, which includes northwest Augusta. He holds a degree from Umaine-Augusta and works as a realtor. Pouliot serves as a board member of the Kennebec Valley Board of Realtors, the Augusta Rotary Club, the Augusta Downtown Alliance, and Junior Achievement of Maine. He is a member of the Calumet Club in Augusta.

Rep. Amy Volk (R-Scarborough)

Amy Volk is serving her second term representing House District 127, which includes part of Scarborough. Rep. Volk is a Umaine graduate, former substitute teacher, and small business owner. She is active in her church and in Scarborough charitable organizations.

Hon. Richard Cebra

Rich Cebra was recently elected chairman of the Maine Republican Party, a post he will assume in January. Cebra recently concluded four terms of service in the Maine House, where he represented Naples and surrounding communities. He owns Steamboat Landing Mini Golf in Naples.

Hon. Joshua Tardy

Josh Tardy is a lawyer and founding partner of Irwin, Tardy & Morris, LLP. He served four terms in the Maine House, one as Assistant Republican Leader and two as Republican Leader. Tardy was the public member chosen by Republicans to serve on last year's congressional apportionment commission as well as the 2003 commission.


David Sorensen, Communications Director
Maine House Republicans
Tel: (207) 205-7793