In this Story
Contact Our Office

Maine House Republicans
Room 332, State House
2 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0002

Phone: (207) 287-1440

For Immediate Release

Date: 01/31/11

Rep. Russell Black takes post on Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry Committee

AUGUSTA - State Representative Russell Black has been appointed to the Committee on Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, a high-profile assignment for a first term legislator. This position will give him an influential voice on a range of important issues from food safety and pesticides to farm land preservation and land for Maine's future.

"I am very pleased to be on this committee." said Rep. Black (R-Wilton), one of only two full-time farmers in the Legislature. "This was my first choice because I have such a rural district that depends on agriculture and the forest industry. On my own farm, we are very diversified, having a large beef herd, a maple syrup orchard and a tree farm.

"Maine has tremendous natural resources," he added, "and we need to build on them through the expansion of their use and by promoting the growing business of Agri-Tourism."

The Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry Committee has one of the broadest jurisdictional charters in the Legislature. It oversees the Department. of Agriculture, Maine Land Use Regulation Commission (LURC), the Department of Conservation, Baxter State Park and the Land for Maine's Future Program.

The panel also has jurisdiction over food safety, inspection and labeling; pesticide regulation; Submerged Lands and the Coastal Island Registry; the dairy industry; state parks, historic sites and public lands; agricultural fairs, products and marketing; and forest management.

The Maine Legislature has 16 bipartisan policy committees that handle bills and issues that fall within their area of jurisdiction. Each committee has 13 members, 3 Senators and 10 representatives.

Rep. Black serves House District 90, which includes Avon, New Vineyard, Phillips, Strong, Temple, Wilton and the unorganized territories of East Central Franklin, which includes parts of Freeman and Salem Townships and the Townships of Perkins and Washington. ###

Jay Finegan
Maine House Republicans
Tel: (207) 287-1445