Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help


Maine Occupational Research Agenda (MORA)
Steering Committee Meeting

Bureau of Labor Standards

Third Floor Conference Room

May 14, 2003


Staff Present: Terry Hathaway, Lynne Lamstein (via phone), & John Rioux.

Members Present:), Peter Crockett (MLGH), Peter Doran (MIOHE), Ron Dyer (DEP), Carol Eckert (MIOHE), Jonathan Lepoff (Consultant), Jeff Levesque (Maine Workers’ Compensation Board), Kim Lim (Bureau of Labor Standards), Steve Minkowsky (Maine Workers Compensation Board), Louise Morang (MAOHN), Ivan Most (Strategic Occupational Health), Jonathan Torres (WorkMed), & Leslie Walleigh (Workplace Health).

Members Absent: Brad Brown (Bureau of Insurance), Denise Dumont (U.S. HealthWorks), Brenda Joly (Maine Center for Public Health), Ruth Lawson-Stopps (Occupational Health Associates), Pat Philbrook (Maine State Nurses Association), Andy Smith (Bureau of Health), & Castine Verrill (Maine Cancer Registry).

Guests: Peter Snell (Peter Snell & Associates), Heather Mason (Communications Director, Maine Safety Council), & Michael Glover (USM Student Intern, Maine Safety Council).


Peter Doran called the meeting to order at 9:06 A.M. Peter introduced Louise Morang to the steering committee & brief introductions were made.

Approval of April 9, 2003 Minutes. Steve Minkowksy amended minutes to read, "Jeff Levesque will be added to the membership listing". Ivan made a motion to accept the minutes, as amended. Kim Lim, seconded. Vote, unanimous.

Legislative Update. Steve Minkowsky provided an update on L.D. 398, "An Act to Improve Collection of Information about Work-Related Injuries and To Enhance Injury Prevention Efforts". He handed out Committee Amendment "A", which calls for EDI and staff support to implement in workers’ compensation.

2003 Symposium Details. Kim Lim announced that everything is ready and rooms are assigned. "Guidelines for Facilitators at Research Symposium" were handed out to those who will be facilitators. Kim emphasized that each facilitator should know their topics and the implications for occupational safety and health.

Kim received a phone call from Denise. She has two (2) more symposium sponsors: WorkMed and OHM.

Overall, there are approximately 135 presenters and participants; there are 70 presenters. Lynne Lamstein and Leslie Ingraham have taken care of conference arrangements.

Ivan suggested that facilitators come up with some questions just in case there are none from the participants.

Kim stated that the "Portland Press Herald" would be covering the symposium.

Peter announced that the Earl Dotter exhibit would be at MEMIC for the summer.

Lynne Lamstein joined the meeting via phone. Members had an opportunity to ask questions about the symposium. One question concerned power point presentations. Lynne asked that folks either e-mail their actual power point presentations or e-mail her the information; Lynne will put into power point and make it a consistent format. Lynne needs information for cost drivers for the "What is MORA" packet insert. Lynne & Peter (Doran) will help pack up Earl Dotter’s exhibit at the end of the symposium. Lynne will check her list of steering committee members who are staying overnight.

A discussion of gifts for the keynote speakers ensued. It was decided that they would receive a copy of Earl Dotter’s book.

Peter will discuss further with Lynne the format for the wrap-up of the symposium to be held Thursday, May 22nd, from 11:30 to noon.

Membership Listing. Terry handed out a revised membership listing for folks to review and contact her for correcting errors.

Steve Minkowsky made a motion to have Heather Mason, Maine Safety Council, become a part of the MORA steering committee. Carol Eckert, seconded. Vote, unanimous.

Next Meeting. The next meeting of the MORA Steering Committee will take place on Wednesday, June 4, 2003, at 9:00 AM in the third floor conference room at the Bureau of Labor Standards.

Agenda items will include: celebration, MORA structure and where do we go from here, and inviting the new Commissioner of Labor, Laura Fortman.

Other. There being no further business, Peter adjourned the meeting at 10:34 A.M.


Respectfully submitted,

Terry M. Hathaway