Home → News & Events
May 1, 2014
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 1, 2014 Contact: Julie Rabinowitz, Maine Department of Labor, 207-621-5009
Courses offered in Augusta, Farmington, Machias, Portland, Presque Isle, Rockland and Wilton
AUGUSTA—The Maine Department of Labor’s SafetyWorks! training and safety consultation program announces free training courses for May.
"Maine's SafetyWorks! program has been recognized nationally for its commitment to worker safety" said Governor Paul R. LePage. "These free trainings can help employers prevent hazardous work environments and keep their employees safe on the job."
All courses are held in SafetyWorks! Training Institute (STI) at the Central Maine Commerce Center, 45 Commerce Drive in Augusta unless otherwise noted. To register, call (207) 623-7900 or register online at http://www.safetyworksmaine.com . Businesses with several employees requiring the same training course should contact SafetyWorks! to ask about the free onsite training program.
Mine Safety & Health Administration: Refresher May 5, 8 a.m. to 3 p.m., Rockland CareerCenter May 29, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., STI, Augusta
The Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) requires all surface mining (ex: stone crushing, gravel pit, etc.) employees to receive eight-hour annual training. Site-specific training will also need to be conducted once attendees return to their respective job sites.
Laws Governing Workplace Rights May 8, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., Washington County Community College, Calais May 20, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., University of Maine at Farmington
This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers, or payroll supervisors. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick leave, and domestic violence) and break requirements. Also, addresses commonly asked labor related questions.
OSHA Recordkeeping May 9, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Presque Isle CareerCenter May 15, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Seasons Event and Conference Center, Portland
This class provides thorough and comprehensive six-hour training for both new and experienced safety and human resources personnel. You will learn the OSHA rule (29 CFR 1904) regarding recording and reporting work-related injuries and illnesses as it applies to your organization. This class includes several hands-on activities on how to correctly fill out the required injury reporting forms.
10-Hour Construction Standards Training - May 12 and 13, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
This one-and-a-half-day course gives basic information on several of the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion card for construction. Class runs from 8:30-4:30 on day one and 8:30-12:30 on day two. OTI charges $5 per card.
Forklift Operator Training - May 16, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
This half-day class is designed for new operators and instruction will involve classroom and hands-on training. This training does not meet the requirements to qualify the participants to be a "qualified operator". Only the employer can provide such certification.
Machine Guarding - May 19, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Participants in this class will learn about the standards for metal and woodworking machines, as well as various machine guarding techniques. We will be applying basic guarding practices when specific issues aren't covered in the regulation. OSHA Subpart O will be covered.
Confined Space Entry - May 20, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
A confined space has limited or restrictive openings for going in and out and is not meant for continuous use by workers. OSHA uses the term "permit-required confined space" (permit-space) to describe a confined space in which workers are exposed to serious hazards. Employers must find out if confined spaces are permit-required. Attendees will learn how to evaluate confined spaces, monitor them during use, and set up rescue procedures.
Mine Safety and Health Administration: New Miner - May 21, 8 a.m. to 3 p.m., Wilton CareerCenter
The Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) requires all surface mining (ex: stone crushing, gravel pit, etc.) employees to receive eight-hour annual training. However,site-specific training will also need to be conducted once you return to your respective job sites.
Respiratory Protection - May 22, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Where workers are required to wear respirators to do their jobs, employers need a respiratory protection program. Learn about the types of respirators, their uses and limitations and how to decide which to use. We'll show you how to do fit-testing and teach you about medical screening, respirator cleaning and maintenance, and what should be included in a written program.
Silica Awareness-Protecting Workers from Silica - May 23, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
What do street sweeping, sandblasting, dry walling, cutting stone or brick, and working in a dusty environment have in common? All expose workers to silica dust, which can lead to silicosis - an often fatal lung disease - and other serious illnesses. Exposure to silica dust is so common and dangerous that OSHA is considering strengthening its rules. Learn about the health hazards of silica, the OSHA regulations, and how to protect workers from overexposure.
Trenching and Excavation - May 30, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
You will learn the dangers to employees, soil classifications, OSHA requirements, and the types of protective systems to prevent cave-ins. You will also learn what is meant by "competent Person."
SafetyWorks! is not OSHA and cannot issue fines or citations to private businesses. While SafetyWorks! helps businesses of any size, priority is given to small businesses. The program trains about 8,000 people and consults at nearly 1,000 worksites in Maine each year. Employers interested in learning more about the consulting and training services offered by SafetyWorks! should call 1-877-SAFE 345 (1-877-723-3345) or visit http://www.safetyworksmaine.com .
- end -