Education Forums Assist Social Security Beneficiaries in Identifying Work Opportunities Bookmark and Share

June 3, 2013

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 3, 2013
Contact: Julie Rabinowitz, 207-621-5009

Ticket-to-Work offers statewide workshops for people with disabilities

AUGUSTA—Maine CareerCenters are hosting a series of community forums in June highlighting work incentives that assist people receiving Social Security disability benefits in returning to work. The public is welcome to attend. Pre-registration is encouraged.

“Hiring workers with disabilities makes good business sense because research shows that people with disabilities are loyal employees and loyal customers,” said Governor Paul R. LePage. “We want to assist every Maine citizen in gaining meaningful employment.”

More information about the Ticket-to-Work program is available here http://www.mainecareercenter.com/docs/TickettoWork_brochure.pdf .

“People with disabilities can achieve their employment goals without fear of losing essential services,” explained Commissioner of Labor Jeanne Paquette. “These workshops showcase the many support services available to people with disabilities. The Department of Labor can help people identify training programs, find a good job and make new connections with their community and a wider network of support. We also assist businesses in hiring or keeping workers who have disabilities.”

Participants will learn about the Ticket-to-Work initiative that provides many Social Security beneficiaries with more choices for receiving employment services. The program encourages eligible Mainers to work through the CareerCenter network to access employment and training services, vocational rehabilitation and other support services necessary to achieve an employment goal. Each CareerCenter in the state has staff available to assist people with disabilities.

To register or to learn more, people interested should contact their regional CareerCenter. The contact information for each CareerCenter’s Ticket-to-Work liaison is listed along with the June workshop date and time. Additional employment resources for individuals with disabilities are available at http://www.employmentforme.org. TTY users should call Maine Relay 711.

Augusta CareerCenter, June 13, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Tracy Hotham, 207-624-5120 or 1-800-760-1573, Tracy.H.Hotham@maine.gov

Bangor CareerCenter, June 20, 2013, 1–3 p.m. Contact: Mike Johnson or Gwen LaPointe, 207-561-4050 or 1-888-828-0568, Michael.J.Johnson@maine.gov or GLapointe@emdc.org

Brunswick CareerCenter, June 7, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Patrice Daigle, 207-373-4012, Patrice.A.Daigle@maine.gov

Lewiston CareerCenter, June 13, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Linda Roberts or Patti Gray, 207-753-9000 or 1-800-741-2991, Linda.J.Roberts@maine.gov or Patricia.L.Gray@maine.gov

Machias CareerCenter, June 3, 2013, 10 –11:30 a.m. Contact: Donald Rice, 207-454-7551 or 1-800-543-0303, Donald.K.Rice@maine.gov or Lori Joy, 207-255-1934 or 1-800-292-8929, Lorinda.M.Joy@maine.gov

Presque Isle CareerCenter, June 18, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Peter Lento, 207-760-6300, Peter.Lento@maine.gov or Kent DeMerchant, 1-800-635-0357, KDemerchant@nmdc.org

Portland CareerCenter: June 17, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Senja St. John, 207-771-5627 or 1-877-594-5627, Senja.St.John@maine.gov

Rockland CareerCenter, June 5, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Kathy Wochomurka, 207-596-2603, Kathy.Wochomurka@maine.gov

Wilton CareerCenter, June 20, 2013, 10 –11:30 a.m. Contact: Cheryl Moran, 207-753-9030, Cheryl.A.Moran@maine.gov

York County CareerCenter, June 18, 2013, 1:30 –3 p.m., Springvale. Contact: Damian Cortez, 207-324-5460 or 1-1800-343-0151, Damian.P.Cortez@maine.gov

Maine’s statewide network of CareerCenters provide one-stop employment resources, including computers and Internet access, for job seekers and employers. Services for job seekers include job referrals, career counseling, job hunting workshops, labor market information, skills assessment and information on training. CareerCenters also offer specialized employment services for people with disabilities.

For more information, visit your local CareerCenter or call 1-888-457-888 (TTY users dial Maine Relay 711) or visit http://www.mainecareercenter.com .

-end-

Ticket-to-Work offers statewide workshops for people with disabilities