Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Municipal Services > Burn Permits

Burn Permits

The Maine Forest Service and InforME are pleased to offer citizens the option to purchase open burning permits online. Through the online process citizens in the southern portion of the State and all unorganized territories may purchase an open burning permit 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, providing permits are being issued at the time. Citizens can print a permit at the end of the online process. Open Burning Permits are valid for 48 hours from time of issuance.

How to Participate

Participation in the online open burning permit system is currently available in many southern Maine towns and all unorganized areas. This pilot project, approved by the Maine Legislature, will be subject to review at a later date.

If your municipality does not currently participate in this online service and you would like to express interest as a citizen, please complete the online interest form. Your submission will be sent to the Maine Forest Service.

Contact Information

Maine Forest Service
Kent Nelson
(207) 287-4989

InforME
Kimberly Duplisea
eGovernment Specialist
(207) 621.2600 ext 57
(877) 212.6500 ext 57