General Description of the Program
The Department will auction 10 moose hunting permits to applicants who submit the highest bids through a written bid process. An applicant must submit the permit bid form along with a nonrefundable $25.00 bidding fee. Each person awarded a permit must pay the bid amount and must select a hunting district, hunting week, and permit type within 30 days after the permit is awarded. A permit winner has up to 30 days prior to the selected hunt to add or change a subpermittee or alternate subpermittee. The permittee may authorize the alternate subpermittee to participate in the hunt in place of the subpermittee, if the permittee notifies the Department in writing no later than five business days before their hunt begins. A person may apply in both the general public chance drawing and in the auction but can receive only one permit. If a successful bidder receives a permit in the public chance drawing, the person is no longer eligible in the auction; and the bidding fee and bid amount submitted by that person will be refunded. Pursuant to Title 12, §11154, sub - §11:k, the Commissioner may decline to issue any permit or any number of permits issuable pursuant to this subsection if, in the Commissioner's opinion, the auction bids received do not reflect the public value anticipated to meet the goals of this subsection. All other provisions of the moose hunting laws and regulations apply. All funds from the sale of these permits, will be deposited in a nonlapsing fund to be used to pay the costs to administer the program and to fund Youth Conservation Education Programs in Maine.
Moose Hunting Information
|Season Dates Choices:||September 22, 2014 - September 27, 2014|
|October 13, 2014 - October 18, 2014|
|(Proposed)||November 03, 2014 - November 08, 2014|
|November 03, 2014 - November 29, 2014|
|Maine Resident Only Day||November 01, 2014|
Area Open to Hunting: September hunting will occur in Wildlife Management Districts (WMDs) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 11, and 19 only. (bull only or anterless). October hunting will occur in the northern two thirds of Maine including Wildlife Management Districts WMDs 1 through 14, 17, 18, 19, 27, & 28 (bull only or antlerless). The November week hunting will occur in WMDs 1 through 5, 7, 8, & 19 (antlerless only). November hunting will occur in WMDs 15, 16, 22, 23, 25, & 26 (any-moose). November 1st for Maine Residents only will occur in WMDs 15, 16, 22, 23, 25, & 26 (any-moose permit). Actual gender and quanity will be determined in 2014.
Who May Hunt: Only holders of a valid moose hunting permit and their subpermittees may hunt moose.
Legal Methods for taking Moose: Please refer to Maine Moose Guide located on our website.
Other Restrictions: The bag limit is one moose per permit holder. Successful bidders may select either a "bull only" or an "antlerless only" permit or either for November. It may be harvested by either the permittee or subpermittee. It is illegal to drive moose.
How to Submit a Moose Permit Bid
General Instructions: Bids must be submitted on the standard bid form. A person may submit more than one bid but may only receive one moose hunting permit. For any person submitting more than one bid, the highest bid submitted will be the official bid. Request a Moose Permit Bid Packet
Bidding Deadline: Bids must be received at Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, 284 State Street, Augusta, Maine 04333, no later than 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on February 17, 2014.
Fees: A nonrefundable bid fee of $25.00 in U.S. funds must accompany each bid.
2013 Moose Auction bids ranged from the top bid of $11,734.56 to the low bid of $10,191.11.