
STATE OF MAINE 
COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENTAL ETHICS 

AND ELECTION PRACTICES 
135 STATE HOUSE STATION 

AUGUSTA, MAINE 
04333-0135

To: Commissioners 

From: Benjamin Dyer, Political Committee and Lobbyist Registrar 

Date: November 5, 2015 

Re: Request for Waiver of Late-Filing Penalty by Legalize Maine PAC 

All political action committees are required to file campaign finance reports by deadlines 

set in statute.  The Legalize Maine PAC (the PAC), a PAC formed to promote the 

passage of a citizens’ initiative to legalize marijuana, was required to file its regular 2015 

October Quarterly report by October 5, 2015, but did not do so until October 13. 

LEGAL REQUIREMENTS 

PACs are required to file campaign finance reports according to a schedule set by statute.  

(21-A M.R.S.A. §1059(2))  The 2015 October Quarterly report was due on October 5, 

2015.  If a PAC is late in filing a campaign finance report, the amount of the preliminary 

penalty is set by a formula which takes into consideration the amount of the contributions 

or expenditures (whichever is greater) that were reported late, the number of prior 

violations within a two-year period, and the number of days the report is late.  (21-A 

M.R.S.A. § 1062-A(3)) 

DISCUSSION 

The PAC registered with the Commission on November 11, 2014, and timely-filed one 

post-election report and three quarterly reports thereafter.  After the PAC failed to file its 
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2015 October Quarterly report, Commission staff mailed a reminder to file on October 6, 

2015.  The PAC filed the report eight days late on October 13, 2015.  

 

Based on the statutory formula for calculating late-filed report penalties, the preliminary 

penalty amount is calculated as follows: 

Filing Due Date Financial 
Activity 

Penalty 
Rate 

Days 
Late 

Preliminary 
Penalty 

2015 
October 
Quarterly 
Report 

10/5/2015 $47,816.26 1% 8 $3,825.28 

 

In its request for a waiver, the PAC accepts responsibility for the late filing of the report 

and offers three justifications for a waiver of the preliminary penalty: that the PAC’s 

treasurer is inexperienced at managing a PAC, the treasurer fell ill with the flu around the 

filing deadline, and there was missing contributor employer/occupation information that 

the PAC did not receive until after the filing deadline.  The PAC also notes that it has 

brought in a volunteer with experience as an officer manager to assist the treasurer in his 

record-keeping and filing responsibilities. 

 

STAFF RECOMMENDATION 

The timely filing of accurate campaign finance reports is the bedrock of Maine’s 

campaign finance disclosure system.  Violations of these reporting requirements can be 

serious because the public is denied information it needs to determine who is financing 

campaign activity in Maine and the connections among entities that money creates.  In 

this case, over $47,000 in contributions were not reported by the filing deadline.  The 

Commission staff does not believe that the absence of employer/occupation information 
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justifies the late filing of a campaign finance report.  Organizations should indicate that 

this information is requested and later amend the transactions when that information is 

received.  The Commission staff is also reluctant to view the flu as a “valid emergency of 

the committee treasurer” sufficient to warrant a waiver.  However, the Commission staff 

does view the inexperience of treasurer as a significant mitigating factor warranting a 

reduction in the preliminary penalty.  As noted above, the PAC initially registered in 

November of 2014, and the treasurer has not previously been an officer in an 

organization reporting to the Commission.  In addition, while the 2015 October Quarterly 

report was the fifth regular campaign finance report filed by the PAC, it was only the 

third report with financial activity.  The PAC indicates that, to prevent late-filings in the 

future, its treasurer has enlisted the help of a volunteer to assist with record-keeping and 

provide a backup for report filing.  Considering these factors, the staff recommends that 

the Commission grant a partial waiver and reduce the penalty to $1,000. 

 

Thank you for your consideration of this memo. 
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21-A M.R.S.A. § 1059. REPORT; FILING REQUIREMENTS 
 

Committees required to register under section 1052-A, 1053-B or 1056-B shall file an initial campaign 
finance report at the time of registration and thereafter shall file reports in compliance with this section. All 
reports must be filed by 11:59 p.m. on the day of the filing deadline, except that reports submitted to a 
municipal clerk must be filed by the close of business on the day of the filing deadline.  

1. Contents; quarterly reports and election year reports. 

[ 2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §35 (RP) .] 

2. Reporting schedule.  Committees shall file reports according to the following schedule. 
A. All committees shall file quarterly reports: 

(1) On January 15th, and the report must be complete as of December 31st; 
(2) On April 10th, and the report must be complete as of March 31st; 
(3) On July 15th, and the report must be complete as of June 30th; and 
(4) On October 5th, and the report must be complete as of September 30th.  

B. General and primary election reports must be filed: 
(1) On the 11th day before the date on which the election is held and must be complete as of the 
14th day before that date; and 
(2) On the 42nd day after the date on which the election is held and must be complete as of the 
35th day after that date.  

C. Preelection and post-election reports for special elections or ballot measure campaigns must be 
filed: 

(1) On the 11th day before the date on which the election is held and must be complete as of the 
14th day before that date; and 
(2) On the 42nd day after the date on which the election is held and must be complete as of the 
35th day after that date.  

D. A committee that files an election report under paragraph B or C is not required to file a quarterly 
report when the deadline for that quarterly report falls within 10 days of the filing deadline established 
in paragraph B or C.  
E. A committee shall report any single contribution of $5,000 or more received or single expenditure 
of $1,000 or more made after the 14th day before the election and more than 24 hours before 5:00 p.m. 
on the day of the election within 24 hours of that contribution or expenditure. The treasurer is not 
required to include in this report expenditures for overhead expenses or compensation paid to an 
employee or other member of the campaign staff who has received payments at regular intervals that 
have been disclosed in previously filed campaign finance reports. As used in this paragraph, "overhead 
expenses" includes, but is not limited to, rent, utility payments, taxes, insurance premiums or similar 
administrative expenses.   

3. Report of expenditures made after the 11th day and more than 48 hours before any election. 

[ 1989, c. 504, §§28, 31 (RP) .] 

4. Special election reports. 

[ 1989, c. 504, §§28, 31 (RP) .] 
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5. Electronic filing.  Committees shall file each report required by this section through an electronic 
filing system developed by the commission. The commission may make an exception to this electronic 
filing requirement if a committee submits a written request that states that the committee lacks access to the 
technology or the technological ability to file reports electronically. The request for an exception must be 
submitted within 30 days of the registration of the committee. The commission shall grant all reasonable 
requests for exceptions. 
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21-A M.R.S.A. § 1062-A. FAILURE TO FILE ON TIME 
 

1. Registration.  A political action committee required to register under section 
1052-A or 1053-B or a ballot question committee required to register under section 1056-
B that fails to do so or that fails to provide the information required by the commission 
for registration may be assessed a fine of no more than $2,500. In assessing a fine, the 
commission shall consider, among other things, whether the violation was intentional, the 
amount of campaign and financial activity that occurred before the committee registered, 
whether the committee intended to conceal its campaign or financial activity and the level 
of experience of the committee's volunteers and staff. 

[ 2013, c. 334, §30 (AMD) .] 

2. Campaign finance reports.  A campaign finance report is not timely filed unless 
a properly signed or electronically submitted copy of the report, substantially conforming 
to the disclosure requirements of this subchapter, is received by the commission by 11:59 
p.m. on the date it is due. Except as provided in subsection 6, the commission shall 
determine whether a required report satisfies the requirements for timely filing. The 
commission may waive a penalty in whole or in part if it is disproportionate to the level 
of experience of the person filing the report or to the harm suffered by the public from the 
late disclosure. The commission may waive the penalty in whole or in part if the 
commission determines the failure to file a timely report was due to mitigating 
circumstances. For purposes of this section, "mitigating circumstances" means: 

A. A valid emergency of the committee treasurer determined by the commission, in 
the interest of the sound administration of justice, to warrant the waiver of the 
penalty in whole or in part; [1999, c. 729, §9 (AMD).] 
B. An error by the commission staff; or [1999, c. 729, §9 (AMD).] 
C. Other circumstances determined by the commission that warrant mitigation of the 
penalty, based upon relevant evidence presented that a bona fide effort was made to 
file the report in accordance with the statutory requirements, including, but not 
limited to, unexplained delays in postal service or interruptions in Internet service. 
[2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §38 (AMD).] 

[ 2009, c. 190, Pt. A, §29 (AMD) .] 

3. Basis for penalties.  The penalty for late filing of a report required under this 
subchapter is a percentage of the total contributions or expenditures for the filing period, 
whichever is greater, multiplied by the number of calendar days late, as follows: 

A. For the first violation, 1%; [1995, c. 483, §21 (NEW).] 
B. For the 2nd violation, 3%; and [1995, c. 483, §21 (NEW).] 
C. For the 3rd and subsequent violations, 5%. [1995, c. 483, §21 (NEW).] 

Any penalty of less than $10 is waived. 
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Violations accumulate on reports with filing deadlines in a 2-year period that begins on 
January 1st of each even-numbered calendar year. Waiver of a penalty does not nullify 
the finding of a violation. 
A report required to be filed under this subchapter that is sent by certified or registered 
United States mail and postmarked at least 2 days before the deadline is not subject to 
penalty. 
A required report may be provisionally filed by transmission of a facsimile copy of the 
duly executed report to the commission, as long as an original of the same report is 
received by the commission within 5 calendar days thereafter. 

[ 2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §39 (AMD) .] 

4. Maximum penalties.  The maximum penalty under this subchapter is $10,000 for 
reports required under section 1056-B or section 1059, except that if the financial activity 
reported late exceeds $50,000, the maximum penalty is 1/5 of the amount reported late. 

[ 2011, c. 389, §49 (AMD) .] 

5. Request for a commission determination.  If the commission staff finds that a 
political action committee has failed to file a report required under this subchapter, the 
commission staff shall mail a notice to the treasurer of the political action committee 
within 3 business days following the filing deadline informing the treasurer that a report 
was not received. If a political action committee files a report required under this 
subchapter late, a notice of preliminary penalty must be forwarded to the treasurer of the 
political action committee whose report is not received by 11:59 p.m. on the deadline 
date, informing the treasurer of the commission staff finding of violation and preliminary 
penalty calculated under subsection 3 and providing the treasurer with an opportunity to 
request a determination by the commission. A request for determination must be made 
within 14 calendar days of receipt of the commission's notice. A principal officer or 
treasurer requesting a determination may either appear in person or designate a 
representative to appear on the principal officer's or treasurer's behalf or submit a sworn 
statement explaining the mitigating circumstances for consideration by the commission. 
A final determination by the commission may be appealed to the Superior Court in 
accordance with Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 7 and the Maine Rules of Civil 
Procedure, Rule 80C. 

[ 2013, c. 334, §31 (AMD) .] 

6. Final notice of penalty.  After a commission meeting, notice of the final 
determination of the commission and the penalty, if any, imposed pursuant to this 
subchapter must be sent to the principal officer and the treasurer of the political action 
committee. 
If a determination is not requested, the preliminary penalty calculated by the commission 
staff is final. The commission staff shall mail final notice of the penalty to the principal 
officer and to the treasurer of the political action committee. A detailed summary of all 
notices must be provided to the commission. 
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[ 2009, c. 302, §9 (AMD) .] 

7. List of late-filing committees.  The commission shall prepare a list of the names 
of political action committees that are late in filing a report required under section 1059, 
subsection 2, paragraph B, subparagraph (1) or section 1059, subsection 2, paragraph C 
or D within 30 days of the date of the election and shall make that list available for public 
inspection. 

[ 2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §41 (AMD) .] 

8. Failure to file.  A person who fails to file a report as required by this subchapter 
within 30 days of the filing deadline is guilty of a Class E crime, except that, if a penalty 
pursuant to subsection 8-A is assessed and collected by the commission, the State may 
not prosecute a violation under this subsection. 

[ 2003, c. 628, Pt. A, §8 (AMD) .] 

8-A. Penalties for failure to file report.  The commission may assess a civil penalty 
for failure to file a report required by this subchapter. The maximum penalty for failure to 
file a report required under section 1056-B or section 1059 is $10,000. 

[ 2009, c. 190, Pt. A, §31 (AMD) .] 

9. Enforcement.  A penalty assessed pursuant to this section that has not been paid 
in full within 30 days after issuance of a notice of the final determination may be 
enforced in accordance with section 1004-B. 

[ 2009, c. 302, §10 (RPR) .] 
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