


STATE OF MAINE
COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENTAL ETHICS
AND ELECTION PRACTICES
135 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE
043330135

To;  Commissioneis
From: Benjamin Dyer, Political Committee and Lobbyist Registrar
Date: August 12,2014

Re:  Request for Waiver of Late-Filing Penalty by Maine Democratic Party

In the thirteen days before an election, all political action committees, ballot question
commiitees and political parties must file a report within 24 hours of receiving any single
contribution of $5,000 or more or making any expenditure of $1,000 or more,’ The
Maine Democratic Party (the Party) received a $10,000 contribution during the 24-hour
reporting period before the June 10, 2014 primary election, but was late in reporting this

transaction.

LEGAL REQUIREMENTS

Party committees are required to report any single contribution of $5,000 or more
received or single expenditure of $1,000 or more made during the 13 days before an |
clection within 24 hours of that transaction, (21-A M.R.S.A. § 1017-A(4-A)(E)) If the
party committee is fate in filing the 24-hour report, the amount of the penalty is set by a
formula which takes into consideration the amount of the transaction, the number of prior
violations within a two-year period, and the number of days the report is late. (21-A

M.R.S.A. § 1020-A(4-A))

' Candidates have a similar 24-hour reporting requirement, except with a lower reporting threshold
{$1,000) for contributions.



DISCUSSION

On June 3, 2014, the Party received a $10,000 contribution from the International
Association of Fire Fighters. On June 22, 2014, the Party recorded the receipt of the
contribution in the Commission’s campaign finance reporting éystem, triggering a
reminder that the Party was required to file a 24-hour Report, which the Party filed that

day.

Based on the statutory formula for calculating late-filed report penalties, the preliminary

penalty amount is $4,800, calculated as follows:

Transaction Date F:l:?itg;l Pg:'t]ety Days Late Pr;l;z:lx:;u'y
Contribution 6/3/2014 $10,000 1% 48 $4,800
from
International
Association of
Fire Fighters

In arguing for a waiver, the Party explains that the “MDP did not undertake any election
activity in the June primary and as such, were not focused on the need to file 24-hour

reports ... [TThe filing error was inadvertent and based on an oversight that the 24-hour
filing rules still applied to those [committees] that were not participating in the primary.”
The Party argues that the preliminary penalty is disproportionate to the harm suffered by

the public, because of the Party’s lack of participation in the June primary election. The

Party also highlights its history of timely reporting.



STAFF RECOMMENDATION

Violations of the 24-hour reporting requirements can be serious matters. 24-hour reports
play an important role in informing the electorate about how money is changing hands in
the critical days just before an election. In this situation $10,000 changed hands without
being disclosed in a timely manner. In fact, the Party only belatedly filed the 24-hour
report at the prompting of the Commission’s e-filing system. The Party is a sophisticated
actor in the Maine political process and, despite the state and federal campaign finance
reporting burdens placed upon it, should have the resources and expertise at its disposal

to ensure compliance with reporting deadlines.

That said, there are mitigating factors which suggest that a reduction in the preliminary
penalty would be appropriate. As confirmed in its 42-Day Post-Primary report, the Party
made no expenditures to support or oppose candidates during the primary election 24-
hour reporting period. In addition, the Party has not been subject to late campaign
finance report penalties since 2009. Weighing these factors, the staff recommends that

the Commission reduce the penalty to $500.

Thank you for your consideration of this memo.




Benjamin K. Graat, Chairman
Pam Fenrich, Vice Chair
Heidi Brooks, Secretary
Betty Johnson, Treasurer

Roy Gedat, Assistant Treasurer

Maine Democratic Party
P.O. Box 5258

Augusta, ME 04332-5258
P 207.622.6233

www.mainedems.org

Dear Mr. Dyer,

The Maine Democratic Party (MDP) writes to request a waiver of preliminary penalties issued by
Commission staff for our late filing of a 24-hour report. The 24-hour report was due on June 4™ for a
single contribution of $10,000 from the International Association of Fire Firefighters. As you may be
aware, MDP did not undertake any election activity in the June primary and as such, were not focused on
the need to file 24-hour reports. Quite simply, we were not active in any primary clection activities and
were not trying to influence the outcome of any election. When filing our 42-Day Post Primary report, the
system alerted us to the error and we immediately filed the required 24-hour repoit. As outlined above,
the filing error was inadvertent and based on an oversight that the 24-hour filing rules still applied to
those not participating in the primary., While the MDP takes full responsibility for the error, we also
believe that our lack of primary participation makes the harm to the public minimal. We were not making
expenditures to influence the primary election — and we did not spend any of the $10,000 contribution on
primary aclivities.

As a state party, we are keenly aware of our reporting obligations ¢n both the state and federal level. We
make our best efforts to comply with Maine Elections faw and value the service the Ethics Commission
provides. The MDP also complies with federal elections laws and reports to the Federal Election
Commission (FEC) on a monthly basis. We make our best efforts to follow ail the various rules and
guidelines of political reporting and regret this inadvertent error,

While we take full responsibility for the error, based on our history of accurate and timely reporiing, we
argue that the preliminary penalty is vastly disproportionate to the mistake made. In this instance, we
believe the harm to the public was minimal and ask for a substantial waiver of the preliminary penalty.

Thank you for considering this request.

Best,

e ol e

Mary Erin Casale

Executive Director

Paid for and printed in house by the Maine Democratic Party, PO Box 5258, Augusta, ME 04332-5258. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s commitiee.

|




STATE OF MAINE
COMMISSION ON GOYBRNMENTAL ETHICS
AND BLBCTION PRACTICES
135 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE
04333-0135

July 28, 2014

Betty Johnson, Treasurer

Maine Democratic State Committee
320 Water St, sSRD FLR

PO Box 5258

Augusta, ME 04332

Re: Late Filing of 24-Hour Report
Dear Ms, Johnson,

The Commission staff has made a preliminary determination that the Maine State Demoeratic
Committee {the Party) was late in filing the 24-Hour Report required for a $10,000 contribution
it received from the International Association of Fire Fighters Party reported receiving on June
3, 2014, The report was due by 11:59 p.m. on June 4, 2014, but was not filed until July 22, 2014,
Under the Commission’s statutes, the late filing of a report triggers an enforcement process,
(21-A M.RS.A, § 1020-A(4-A)). Based on the amount of financial activity in the report, the
number of calendar days the report was late, and the Party’s history of violations, the
commission staff has determined that a penalty of $4,800.00 is owed. (Please see attached
penalty matrix for the calculation), ‘

The Party may make a written request that the Commission waive the violation or penalty in
whole or in part, Any request for a waiver must be made within 14 calendar days of your receipt
of this notice. The request must be in writing and contain a full explanation of the reasons the
Party filed late. Upon receiving your request, the Commission staff will schedule your appeal for
an upcoming Commission meeting.

The Commission may waive the penalty if it determines that the report was late due to
mitigating circumstances, which are defined as (1) a valid emergency; (2) an error made by the
Commission staff} or (3) relevant evidence that the Party made a bona fide effort to file the
report on time, Also, the Commission may waive the penalty if it is disproportionate to the level
of experience of the person filing the report or the harm suffered by the public from the late
disclosure, ,

Please call me at (207) 287-6221 or send me an email at benjamin.p.dyer@maine.gov if you
have questions,

Sinférely, %
Benjamin P. Dyer /7’%/
Political Committee and Lobbyist Registiar

Enclosure: payment receipt & penalty matrix

" OFFICE LOCATED AT: 45 MeMORIAL CIRCLE, AUGUSTA, MAINE

WEBSITE: www,MAINE,GOV/ETHICS
PHONE: {207) 287-4179 FAX: (207) 287-6775




Payment Receipt

Mail payment to:

The Maine Ethiecs Commission
135 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333

Make checks payable to: “Treasurer, State of Maine.”

Betty Johnson, Treasurer

Maine Democratic State Committee
520 Water St, 3RD FLR

PO Box 5258

Augusta, ME 04332

Violation: Late 24-hour Report
Amount Due: $4,800.00




Committee Name: Malne Democralle State Committes Report Title:  24-Hour Report
Due Date: June 4, 2014

Previous Violation(s): N/A Filed Date: July 22, 2014

The penalty for late filing of a required report is a percentage of the total contributions or expenditures for the

filing period, whichever is greater, muifipiied by the number of calendar days the report is filed late, as follows:

For the first violation, 1%
For the second violation, 3%
For the third and each subsequent violalion, 6%

A penalty begins to accrue at 11:58 p.m. on the day the repotrt is due,.

Penalty Exampie:
The lreasurer files the Parly’s report two {2) days late. The Parly has
not had any previous late vielations this biennium. The Parly repords a
total of $2,500 in conlributions and $1,500 in expendliures for the §ling
period. The penally is

$2,500  Greater amount of the total contributions

Any penalty of less than $10 is waived,

Violations accumulate on reports with filing deadiines in a 2-year period that begins on January 1st of each
sven-numbered year. Waiver of a penalty does noi nullify the finding of a violation.

A requirad report that is sent by certified or registered United States mail and postmarked at least 2
days hefore the deadline is not subject to penalty,

MAXIMUM PENALTIES
24-A M.R.S.A, Section 1020-A(5)
$5,000 for Pre- and Post-Elsclion Reports, Quarterly Reports and 24-Hour Reports,
except that If the financlal activily reporied late exceeds $50,000,
the maximum penaily is ona-fifth of the amount reported laie,

Contributions / Expendilures. $10,000,00

3
!
!
(
!
!
!
!
received or expenditures made during the ] X
; Percent
filing period 1 Prescribed: 1%
|
X.01  Percent prescribed for first violation | $100.0
i X
i Number of
$26,00  One percent of total contributions i days late: 4
-1
X2  Number of calendar days late ! !
! Total penally accruad: $4,800.00 |
$50.00 Total Penally b 1




§1017-A. REPORTS OF CONTRIBUTIONS AND EXPENDITURES BY PARTY
COMMITTEES '

1. Contributions. A party committee shall report all contributions in cash or in
kind from a single contributor that in the aggregate total more than $200. The party
committee shall report the name, mailing address, occupation and place of business
of each contributor. Contributions of $200 or less must be reported, and these

contributions may be reported as a lump sum.

[ 2009, c. 190, Pt. A, §8 (AMD) .]

2. Expenditures to influence a campaign. A party commitiee shall report all
expenditures made to influence a campaign, as defined.in section 1052, subsection
1. The party committee shall report:

A. The name of each candidate, political committee, politicai action committee or
party committee; [2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §17 (AMD).]

B. The office sought by a candidate and the district that the candidate seeks to
represent; and [1991, ¢. 839, §23 (NEW); 1991, c¢. 839, §33 (AFF).]

C. The date, amount and purpose of each expenditure. [2007, ¢. 443, Pt. A, §17
(AMD).]
[2011, c. 389, §16 (AMD) ]

3. Other expenditures. Operational expenses and other expenditures that are
not made to influence a campaign, as defined in section 1052, subsection 1 must be
reported separately. The party committee shall report:

A. The name and address of each payee; [2009, ¢. 190, Pt. A, §10 (AMD).]
B. The purpose for the expenditure; and {2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §17 (AMD).]
C. The date and amount of each expenditure. [1993, c. 715, §2 (NEW).]

[ 2011, c. 389, §17 (AMD) ]
4. Filing schedule.
2003, ¢. 302, §2 (RP) .]

4-A. Filing schedule. A state party commitiee shall file its reports according to
the following schedule.
A. Quarterly reports must be filed by 11:59 p.m.:
(1) On January 15th and must be complete up to December 31st;
{(2) On Aprii 10th and must be complete up to March 31st;
{3) On July 15th and must be compiete up to June 30th; and



{4) On October 5th and must be complete up to September 30th. [2011, ¢.
367, §1 (AMD).]

B. General and primary election reports must be filed by 11:59 p.m.:

(1) On the 11th day before the date on which the election is held and must be
complete up to the 14th day before that date; and

(2) On the 42nd day after the date on which the election is held and must be
complete up to the 35th day after that date. [2007, ¢. 443, Pt. A, §17 (AMD).]

C. Preelection and post-election reports for special elections, referenda,
initiatives, bond issues or constitutional amendments must be filed by 11:59 p.m.:

(1) On the 11th day before the date on which the election is held and must be
complete up to the 14th day before that date; and

(2) On the 42nd day after the date on which the election is held and must be
complete up to the 35th day after that date. [2011, ¢. 389, §18 (AMD).]

D. A state party committee that files an election report under paragraph Bor C is
not required to file a quarterly report under paragraph A when the deadline for
that quarterly report falls within 10 days of the filing deadline established in
paragraph B or C. [2003, ¢. 302, §3 (NEW).)

———=> E. A state party committee shall report any single contribution of $5,000 or more

received or any single expenditure of $1,000 or more made after the 14th day
before the election and more than 24 hours before 5:00 p.m. on the day of the
election within 24 hours of that contribution or expenditure. The committee is not
required to include in this report expenditures for overhead expenses or
compensation paid to an employee or other member of the campaign staff who
has received payments at regular intervals that have been disclosed in previously
filed campaign finance reports. As used in this paragraph, "overhead expenses”
includes, but is not limited to, rent, utility payments, taxes, insurance premiums or
similar administrative expenses. {2013, ¢. 334, §12 (AMD).]

[ 2013, c. 334, §12 (AMD) ]

4-B. Filing schedule for municipal, district and county party
committees. Municipal, district and county party committees shall file reports
according to the following schedule.

A. Reports filed during an election year must be filed with the commission by
11:59 p.m. on:

(1) July 15th and be complete as of June 30th;

(2) The 11th day before the date on which the general election is held and
must be complete up to the 14th day before that date; and

(3) January 15th and be complete as of December 31st. {2009, ¢. 190, Pt. A,
§12 (AMD).]

B. Reports filed during a nonelection year must be filed by 11:59 p.m. on:
(1) July 15th and be complete as of June 30th; and



(2) January 15th and be complete as of December 31st. [2007, ¢. 443, Pt. A,
§17 (AMD).]

C. A committee shall report any single contribution of $5,000 or more recelved or
any expenditure of $1,000 or more made after the 14th day before any election
and more than 24 hours before 11:59 p.m. on the day of the election within 24
hours of that contribution or expenditure. The committee is not required to include
in this report expenditures for overhead expenses or compensation paid to an
employee or other member of the campaign staff who has received payments at
regular intervals that have been disclosed in previously filed campaign finance
reports. As used in this paragraph, "overhead expenses" includes, but is not
limited to, rent, utility payments, taxes, insurance premiums or similar
administrative expenses. [2013, ¢. 334, §13 (AMD).]

[ 2013, ¢. 334, §13 (AMD) ]

4-C. Electronic filing. State party committees shall file each repott required by
this section through an electronic filing system developed by the commission. The
commission may make an exception fo this electronic filing requirement if a party
committee submits a written request that states that the party commitiee lacks
access to the technology or the technological ability to file reports electronically. The
request for an exception must be submitied by March 1st of the election year. The
commission shall grant all reasonable requests for exceptions.

[ 2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §17 (AMD) ]

5. Penalties. A party committee is subject to the penalties in section 1020-A,
subsection 4-A.

[ 2003, ¢. 1, §13 (COR) .]

6. Notice; forms. A state party committee shall notify all county, district and
municipal party commitiees of the same political party of the party commiitee
reporting requirements. The party committees shall obtain the necessary forms from
the commission to complete the filing requirements.

[ 1991, c. 839, §23 (NEW), 1991, c. 839, §33 (AFF) ]

7. Exemption. Any party committee receiving and expending less than $1,500 in
one calendar year is exempt from the reporting requirements of this section for that
year.

[ 1991, c. 839, §23 (NEW); 1991, c. 839, §33 (AFF) .]

8. Municipal elections. When a parly committee makes contributions or
expenditures on behalf of a candidate for municipal office subject to this subchapter,
it shall file a copy of the reports required by this section with the clerk in that
candidate's municipality.

[2011, c. 389, §19 (AMD); 2011, c. 389, §62 (AFF) ]



21-A MRS § 1020-A. FAILURE TO FILE ON TIME

1. Registration. A candidate that fails to register the name of a candidate,
treasurer or political committee with the commission within the time allowed by
section 1013-A, subsection 1 may be assessed a forfeiture of $10. The commission
shall determine whether a registration satisfies the requirements for timely filing
under section 1013-A, subsection 1.

2. Campaign finance reports. A campaign finance report is not timely filed
unless a properly signed or electronically submitted copy of the report, substantially
conforming to the disclosure requirements of this subchapter, is received by the
commission by 11:59 p.m. on the date it is due. Except as provided in subsection 7,
the commission shall determine whether a report satisfies the requirements for timely
filing. The commission may waive a penalty in whole or in part if the commission
determines that the penalty is disproportionate {o the size of the candidate's
campaign, the level of experience of the candidate, ireasurer or campaign staff or the
harm suffered by the public from the late disclosure. The commission may waive the
penaity in whole or in part if the commission determines the failure to file a timely
report was due to mitigating circumstances. For purposes of this section, "mitigating
circumstances” means:

A. A valid emergency determined by the commission, in the interest of the sound
administration of justice, to warrant the waiver of the penalty in whole or in part;
[1999, ¢. 729, §5 (AMD}.]

B. An error by the commission staff, [1999, c. 729, §5 (AMD).]
C. Failure to receive notice of the filing deadline; or [1999, c. 729, §5 (AMD).]

D. Other circumstances determined by the commission that warrant mitigation of
the penalty, based upon relevant evidence presented that a bona fide effort was
made to file the report in accordance with the statutory requirements, including,
but not limited to, unexplained delays in postal service or interruptions in Internet
service. [2009, ¢. 190, Pt. A, §13 (AMD).]

3. Municipal campaign finance reports. Municipal campaign finance reports
must be filed, subject to all the provisions of this subchapter, with the municipal clerk
on forms prescribed by the Commission on Governmental Ethics and Election
Practices. The municipal clerk shall send any notice of lateness required by
subsection 6 and shall notify the commission of any late reports subject o a penalty.

4. Basis for penalties.
[ 2001, c. 470, §7 (AMD); T. 21-A, §1020-A, sub-§4 (RP) .]

4-A. Basis for penalties. The penally for late filing of a report required under
this subchapter is a percentage of the total contributions or expenditures for the filing
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MRS Title 21-A §1020-A. FAILURE TO FILE ON TiME

period, whichever is greater, multiplied by the number of calendar days late, as
follows:

A. For the first violation, 1%; [2001, ¢. 714, Pt. PP, §1 (NEW);, 2001, c. 714, Pt.
PP, §2 (AFF).]

B. For the 2nd violation, 3%; and [2001, ¢c. 714, Pt. PP, §1 (NEW); 2001, ¢. 714,
Pt. PP, §2 (AFF).]

C. For the 3rd and subsequent violations, 5%. [2001, c. 714, Pt. PP, §1 (NEW);
2001, c. 714, Pt. PP, §2 (AFF).]

Any penalty of less than $10 is waived.

Violations accumulate on reports with filing deadlines in a 2-year period that begins
on January 1st of each even-numbered year. Waiver of a penalty does not nullify the
finding of a violation.

A report required to be filed under this subchapter that is sent by certified or
registered United States mail and postmarked at least 2 days before the deadline is
not subject to penalty.

A registration or report may be provisionally filed by transmission of a facsimile copy
of the duly executed report to the commission, as long as the facsimile copy is filed
by the applicable deadline and an original of the same report is received by the
commission within 5 calendar days thereafter.

5. Maximum penalties.
[ 2001, c. 470, §8 (AMD); T.21-A, §1020-A, sub-§5 (RP) ]

5-A. Maximum penalties. Penalties assessed under this subchapter may not
exceed:

A. Five thousand dollars for reports required under section 1017, subsection 2,
paragraph B, C, D, E or H; section 1017, subsection 3-A, paragraph B, C, D, D-1
or F; and section 1017, subsection 4; [2011, c¢. 389, §23 (AMD)} ]

A-1. Five thousand dollars for reports required under section 1019-B, subséction
4, except that if the financial activity reported late exceeds $50,000, the maximum
penalty is 1/5 of the amount reported late; [2011, ¢. 389, §24 (NEW).]

B. Five thousand dollars for state party committee reports required under section
1017-A, subsection 4-A, paragraphs A, B, C and E, except that if the financial
activity reported late exceeds $50,000, the maximum penalty is 1/5 of the amount
reported late; [2011, ¢. 389, §25 (AMD).]

C. One thousand dollars for reports required under section 1017, subsection 2,
paragraphs A and F and section 1017, subsection 3-A, paragraphs A and E; or
[2011, c. 558, §4 (AMD).]

D. Five hundred dollars for municipal, district and county committees for reports
required under section 1017-A, subsection 4-B. [2011, ¢. 558, §4 (AMD).]

E. [2011, c. 558, §5 (RP).]
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MRS Title 21-A §1020-A. FAILURE TO FILE ON TIME

[ 2011, c. 558, §§4, 5 (AMD) ]

6. Request for a commission determination. If the commission staff finds that
a candidate or political commiitee has failed to file a report required under this
subchapter, the commission staff shall mail a notice to the candidate or political
committee within 3 business days following the filing deadline informing the candidate
or political committee that a report was not received. if a candidate or a political
committee files a report required under this subchapter late, a notice of preliminary
penalty must be sent to the candidate or political committee whose registration or
campaign finance report was not received by 11:59 p.m. on the deadline date,
informing the candidate or political committee of the staff finding of violation and
preliminary penaity calculated under subsection 4-A and providing the candidate or
political committee with an opportunity to request a determination by the commission.
Any request for a determination must be made within 14 calendar days of receipt of
the commission's notice. A candidate or political committee requesting a
determination may either appear in person or designate a representative to appear
on the candidate's or political committee's behaif or submit a sworn statement
explaining the mitigating circumstances for consideration by the commission. A final
determination by the commission may be appealed to the Superior Court in
accordance with Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 7 and the Maine Rules of Civil
Procedure, Rule 80C.

[ 2013, c. 334, §17 (AMD) ]

7. Final notice of penalty. If a determination has been requested by the
candidate or political committee and made by the commission, notice of the
commission's final determination and the penalty, if any, imposed pursuant to this
subchapter must be sent to the candidate and the political committee.

If a determination is not requested, the preliminary penalty calculated by the
commission staff is final. The commission staff shall mail final notice of the penalty to
the candidate and treasurer. A detailed summary of all notices must be provided to
the commission.

[ 2009, ¢. 302, §6 (AMD) ]

8. Failure to file report. The commission shall notify a candidate who has failed
to file a report required by this subchapter, in writing, informing the candidate of the
requirement to file a report. The notice must be sent by certified mall. If a candidate
fails to file a report after 2 notices have been sent by the commission, the
commission shall send a final notice by certified mail informing the candidate of the
requirement to file and that the matter may be referred to the Attorney General for
criminal prosecution. A candidate who fails to file a report as required by this
subchapter after the commission has sent the notices required by this subsection is
guilty of a Class E crime.

[ 2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §25 (AMD) ]
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MRS Tille 21-A §1020-A. FAILURE TO FILE ON TIME

8-A. Penalties for failure to file report. The penaity for failure to file a report
required under this subchapter may not exceed the maximum penalties as provided
in subsection 5-A.

[ 2003, c. 628, Pt. A, §6 (NEW) ]

9. List of late-filing candidates. The commission shall prepare a list of the
names of candidaies who are late in filing a report required under section 1017,
subsection 2, paragraph C or D or section 1017, subsection 3-A, paragraph B or C
within 30 days of the date of the election and shall make that list available for public
inspection.

[ 1995, c. 483, §15 (NEW) .]

10. Enforcement. A penalty assessed pursuant to this section that has not been
paid in full within 30 days after issuance of a notice of the final determination may be
enforced in accordance with section 1004-B.

[ 2009, ¢. 302, §7 (RPR) ]
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