

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY MAINE EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 152 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333



MICHAEL SAUSCHUCK COMMISSIONER

> WIL O'NEAL DIRECTOR

TRAUMA ADVISORY COMMITTEE

January 23, 2024

Meeting conducted via Zoom

MINUTES DRAFT

Members Present: Rick Petrie (Chair), Amy Fenwick (NL-EMMC), Guy Nuki (Bluewater), Matthew Sholl (MEMS), Cynthia Richards (CMMC), Joanne Lebrun (Tri-County), Tom Judge (LFOM), Chris Pare (Kennebunk EMS), Ben Zetterman (Van Buren EMS), Jonnathan Busko (St. Joesph), Julie Ontengco (MH-MMC), Tammy Lachance (CMMC), Sarah Robinson (NL-EMMC)

Guests: Sarah Robinson (NL-EMMC), Mary Powell (CDC), Erica Dyer (CDC), Casey Woods (EMMC), Jeanne Clark (EMMC), Norm Dinerman (LFOM)

Staff Present: Ashley Moody (Trauma Systems Manager), Marc Minkler (MEMS), Anthony Roberts (MEMS).

This meeting was conducted virtually on Zoom.

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Petrie at 12:35

Rick Petrie read a roll call for TAC member attendance.

Mr. Petrie read the Maine EMS mission statement and the Confidentiality statement.

The mission of Maine EMS is to promote and provide for a comprehensive and effective Emergency Medical Services system to ensure optimum patient care with standards for all providers. All members of this board/committee should strive to promote the core values of excellence, support, collaboration, and integrity. In serving on this Board/Committee, we commit to serve the respective providers, communities, and residents of the jurisdictions that we represent.

The Trauma Advisory Committee meeting you are attending today is intended to promote traumarelated education and quality improvement among health care providers and other TAC members and to use these discussions to plan trauma system improvement. By signing this document [or participating in this meeting virtually without verbalizing disagreement of this statement to the Chair], you agree that you shall regard as confidential any information provided in this program which may serve to identify individuals, institutions, or health professionals. You further agree that you will not disclose such

• Excellence • Support • Collaboration • Integrity

PHONE: (207) 626-3860 TTY: (207) 287-3659 FAX: (207) 287-6251

information without the written consent of 1.) the individual or the authorized agent of the individual, 2.) the institution (s), and 3.) the Director of Maine Emergency Medical Services.

Motion # 1 by Tom Judge to approve October 24, 2023, Trauma Advisory Committee meeting minutes. Seconded by Joanne Lebrun.

Motion Passed with two abstentions.

Membership Update: Tonya Brown has accepted the ED Nurse Position. Anna Moses has resigned from the critical care rep role. A vacancy remains for the small hospital administrator and trauma system user. EMMC will update who will be taking over as the trauma program manager.

After the resignation of Kate Zimmerman as the Trauma Program Manager, Maine EMS Deputy Director Anthony Roberts promoted Ashley Moody as the new Trauma Program Manager.

TACTAT Visits – Will start reaching out to a few hospitals that are interested.

Trauma Center Check-Ins

CMMC – American College of Surgeons has extended their Level III Trauma Center verification until November 2025. Dr. King will be leaving CMMC in April.

EMMC – Still looking for a new trauma manager.

MMC – ACS Verification is scheduled for February 2024. MMC has a new surgeon Tovah Moss.

Subcommittee Updates

Trauma Plan Rural Committee – The initial initiative is to create a position of rural trauma support that would be employed and funded by the Maine Hospital Association. The Trauma Plan Rural Committee has created a job description and a one-page proposal that the group needs to present to the MHA. Rick Petrie provided the MHA is aware that this proposal is coming.

Data – Maine EMS has started the service level EMS outcome data retrieval. This is in the infancy stages. The need remains to determine a plan moving forward with the Statewide Trauma Registry. Trauma Center program managers will get together to initiate the conversations again.

MDPB Update – Currently working with the group on the implementation phase of the 2023-2024 protocols. There will be a debriefing process soon with the plan to start the next round in the next few months.

Trauma Plan Subcommittee –Need to establish a committee to work on the trauma plan. Tammy Lachance, Julie Ontengco, Tom Judge, Guy Nuki, Marc Minkler, Rick Petrie, and Ashley Moody either volunteered or were recommended to be on the committee.

Meeting adjourned at 1313 --- Next regular meeting: April 24, 2024

Minutes submitted by ANM

Minutes approved on 04.23.2024