Peace of mind is a click away.™

In Maine, you can be stopped and fined for failing to use your seat belt. Seat belts save lives.



IMSAFE!

© Child Safety Solutions, Inc. • www.imsafe.com

TAKE THE PLEDGE ⇒ Buckling Up Starts Here.



Maine's Occupant Protection Laws

45% of highway deaths in Maine occurred to occupants who were unrestrained.¹

All occupants in a vehicle must wear a seat belt. You can be fined \$50 for each person who is not buckled up.

- Children must ride in a rear-facing child restraint system until they turn two years of age.*
 - Children who weigh 55 lbs. or less, must ride in a federally approved five-point harness child restraint system.*
- Children who weigh less than 80 lbs., are less than 4'9" in height, and are less than 8 years of age, must be in a booster seat.
- A child under 12 years old shall be properly secured in the back seat of the vehicle, if possible.

*Unless in rare circumstances, the child exceeds the child safety seat manufacturer's instructions, and no other option is available.

1) 2022 Preliminary State Fatal Data.



Printed with funding from NHTSA

Buckling Up Starts Now.

I commit to being a responsible driver/passenger.

- I will buckle my seat belt every time I am in a car.
- I will speak up if a driver/passenger is not buckled.

Signature:

Date: