

[bookmark: _GoBack]To:  Applicant for Professional Investigator License

Subject:  Professional Investigator Application Procedure

Enclosed is an application for a Professional Investigator License, Laws Relating to Professional Investigators and three “Authority to Release Information” forms.
· Form:  P-3 – Professional Investigator - Authority to release information to the Chief for the purpose of evaluating information supplied on the application for an Investigative Assistant license pursuant 32 M.R.S.A. § 8105.
· Form:  Authorization to release information for the purpose of applying for a Professional Investigator license pursuant 32 M.R.S.A. § 8105.
· Form:  577 – Client Authorization to Release Information specifically for Dorothea Dix Psychiatric Center or Riverview Psychiatric Center.

     You must submit all of the completed forms listed above with the following:
1. Original Application fee of $50.00 and State Bureau of Identification record check fee of $21.00 for a total of $71.00 payable to Treasurer, State of Maine.  Upon passing the test, a balance of $450.00 will be due.
2. Copy of High School Diploma or GED.  This is to include institution name, location of institution and year graduated.
3. Copy of birth certificate or resident alien card.
4. Investigative assistant sponsorship program documents, if applicable.
5. Law enforcement academy certificate(s).  This is to include the academy name, location, copy of certification(s) and transcripts for certification(s); if applicable.
6. Copy of college diploma.  This is to include the name of institution, location of institution, type of degree and college transcripts; if applicable.
7. Copy of military discharge, if applicable.
8. Copy of work history documentation.  This is to include job title, job duties and documentation of beginning and ending dates of employment from employer; if applicable.
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OFFICES LOCATED AT: 45 COMMERCE CENTER DRIVE, SUITE 1
AUGUSTA, ME  04330

(207) 624-7216 (Voice)	(207) 624-4478 (TDD)	(207) 287-3424 (Fax)


Date Modified:  10/13/2015
A test date will be scheduled once your background investigation is complete.  The test consists of “Laws Relating to Professional Investigators,” “Laws Relating to Permits to Carry Concealed Handguns” and Title 17-A, Maine Criminal Statutes, Parts 1 (General principles) and 2 (Substantive offenses).  Upon passing the written examination, an approval letter and bond form will be provided to submit to your insurance company.  Your license will be issued once the bond, proof of commercial general liability insurance and final fee are returned to our office.

Professional Investigator insurance requirements for MRS 32 § 8111(3)

The insurance needs to meet the following criteria:


1. The statute requires that the licensee be the named insured.  Accordingly, if the policy identifies a company as the named insured, the professional investigator’s name must also be listed on the policy and/or listed in the “Description of Operations” section of a Certificate of Liability Insurance, and the individual’s job description or title should be included.
2. The policy must be a Commercial General Liability policy.  Personal, homeowner, and professional liability policies will not be accepted.
3. The policy should be an occurrence-based policy.  A claims-made policy with an extended reporting period (ERP) of at least one year will be accepted in lieu of an occurrence-based policy.
4. The minimum required coverage amounts are as follows:
	Property damage: $10,000
	Each Occurrence Limit:  $100,000 
General Aggregate Limit: $200,000
5. Proof of insurance shall identify the Certificate Holder as: Maine State Police, Special Investigations Unit, 164 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333.  The State should not be identified as an additional insured.
6. Proof of insurance must reflect the policy number, policy effective date and policy expiration date.  A binder will not satisfy the requirement for a policy number.
7. The insurer must be licensed by the Maine Bureau of Insurance and authorized to do business in Maine.

     Please inform this office immediately anytime there is a change to your physical or mailing  
     address or other contact information.

NOTE: This application and any supporting documentation are  public records pursuant to 1 M.R.S. § 402(3), and, with the exception of portions identified as confidential by statute (e.g., social security numbers; mental health adjudications; college transcripts), may be disseminated in response to a request made pursuant to the Freedom of Access Act. 
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