Skip Maine state header navigation
Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation
|Home | Contact Us | Online Services | Newsletter | FMO Annual Reports | Fire Safety Articles | FAQ | Resources for the Fire Services|
Regulation Procedure for the Fire Sprinkler Industry in Maine
The Fire Sprinkler Law became effective January 1st, 1990, along with a Sprinkler Technical Policy. They established how the sprinkler industry is regulated in Maine, which is basically through licensing & permitting, (explained below). A person or company must be licensed with the State of Maine in order to do sprinkler work in the state. The Fire Sprinkler License has endorsements and restrictions. The 3 major endorsements and 1 major restriction are listed below. The Fire Sprinkler License expires 2 years from the time of issuing of the initial & reinstated licenses and 2 years from the date of expiration for a renewed license. Presently license renewals are done online by going to our Fire Sprinkler page, then clicking on "Licenses", then "Online License Renewals". New licenses and renewals of an expired license (reinstatements) must be obtained through the mail or in person but by the end of summer 2013 they too will be able to be obtained online. There is no late reinstatement fee.
Sprinkler Contractor Endorsement: This license endorsement is required for installation on new or renovation work of more than 6 sprinkler heads. To obtain this license-endorsement an application form must be filled out and a fee of $100.00 paid. There is no testing, and no proof of experience required. So what's the catch? Once licensed, the fire sprinkler contractor must obtain a permit for each job, (see "Sprinkler Permit" below). To obtain the permit, each permit application form (online or hard-copy) must also have the license number of the person responsible for the design of the system. That person is called the Responsible Managing Supervisor.
Responsible Managing Supervisor Endorsement: This license-endorsement is required for the design of fire sprinkler systems and also for the sign-off to verify that they were installed according to the way that they were designed and permitted. The requirements for this license-endorsement are to fill out the application form, pay $100.00, and provide a copy of either a N.I.C.E.T. Level 3 or 4 certification in Sprinkler Plan Layout, or a copy of a Professional Engineer license. The fee is not required for those P.E.s currently licensed in Maine, (since there would already have been a fee paid to design in Maine as a P. E.) A Responsible Managing Supervisor automatically receives endorsement as an Inspector and as a Contractor at no extra charge.
Inspector Endorsement: This license-endorsement is required for the testing, maintenance and inspection of fire sprinkler systems. The fee is $100.00. There must be some proof provided of having training regarding NFPA 25 for the inspection, testing and maintenance of fire sprinkler systems. Our office recognizes training courses provided by the American Fire Sprinkler Association, the National Fire Sprinkler Association, the National Fire Protection Association, The Fire Sprinkler Academy, college courses, union training courses, training by manufacturers, insurance industry and the fire sprinkler industry. We also recognize a N.I.C.E.T. Level II certificate in the area of inspection, testing & maintenance, or a N.I.C.E.T. Level III in fire sprinkler plan layout. We may accept other training as well as is applicable. A license issued for Inspector-endorsement automatically receives endorsement as Contractor at no extra charge. Employees such as Plant industry maintenance personnel are not required to obtain this license to do this work for their employers.
Application Forms for the above licenses may be obtained from this office or downloaded from our web page anytime during the year.
Restrictions: Each of the 3 major endorsements above are given the Contractor endorsement, which is for the installation of fire sprinkler systems, but without proof of at least a million dollars of insurance for commercial fire sprinkler installations, the Contractor endorsement will be limited to NFPA 13D systems.
A Sprinkler Permit is required for each installation job involving more than 6 sprinkler heads in new work, more than 20 heads in renovation, and both fire pump and standpipe installations. Beginning installation without a permit is grounds to lose the Contractor's license endorsement, and thus the loss of the privilege to do this type of work in Maine. There is however a method set up for "fast-track" installations. In those cases a fire sprinkler contractor may pay an additional $50 to obtain "preliminary permission" to begin installation without a permit, understanding that a full submittal will be sent to our office as soon as possible for review and permitting. There is a sprinkler permit fee for each job. See the fee schedule for details. You can submit for a permit online by going to www.mainefiremarshal.com, then clicking on “Fire Sprinklers”, then “Permits” then “Online Permit Submittal”.
[Last updated 5-29-13 to reflect major changes in the licensing procedure and fees. Previously updated 1-3-12. Changes were a general editing throughout to expand and to make it more user friendly. Previous update was 3-31-08 which was done to replace info lost by a "computer burp"]
|Copyright © 2005 All rights reserved.|