Skip Maine state header navigation
Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation
|Home | Contact Us||
Site Map |
Home > Safety Restraints
Maine’s New Primary Belt Law! Effective September 20, 2007
When a person 18 years of age or older is an operator or a passenger of a vehicle that is required by the US Department of Transportation to be equipped with seatbelts, that operator or passenger must be properly secured in a seat belt.
A violation of this law is a traffic infraction for which a fine of $50 for the first offense, $125 for the 2nd offense and $250 for the 3rd and subsequent offenses must be imposed. A fine imposed under this law may not be suspended by the court.
A vehicle, the contents of a vehicle, the driver of or a passenger in a vehicle may not be inspected or searched solely because of a violation of this subsection.
A person detained solely for a violation of this law before April 1, 2008 may only be issued a warning.
View the Safety Belts section for more information on safety belt use.
The law in Maine states that all children must be properly secured in a child safety seat when riding in a vehicle.
The safest seat:
The Bureau of Highway Safety has released an easy to read brochure that provides an overview of Maine's Child Passenger Safety Program. the brochure may be downloaded here.
View the Child Safety Seats section for more information on the correct type of child safety seat for each child age group.
Maine CAR SEAT INSPECTION LOCATIONS
Do you need your child's Safety Seat checked for correct installation in the vehicle and/or to know if it's the proper seat for your child? View a list of Maine Inspection Locations.
|Copyright © 2008 All rights reserved.|