Skip Maine state header navigation
Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation
|Home | Contact Us||
Site Map |
Home > Child Passenger Safety > Education > Booster Seat Curriculum
Child Passenger Safety (CPS)
Booster Seat Curriculum
The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety reports a first of its kind analysis that focuses on booster age kids and related injuries. Those states with expanded child restraint laws reflected a 5% reduction in severe crash injuries and 17% reduction in fatal and debilitating injuries.
Kids not properly fitted to a safety restraint, are in danger of crash injuries called “seat belt syndrome”, hip and abdominal contusions, pelvic fractures, cervical and lumber spine injuries, and internal organ injuries. The use of a booster allows kids to be elevated for an appropriate seat belt fit to ensure greater safety in the event of a crash as well as comfort in transport.
Certified child passenger safety technician educators wanted to teach Bureau of Highway Safety Booster Seat Curriculum!!
The Bureau of Highway Safety has a booster seat curriculum that they would like to share with 1st and 2nd grade classrooms throughout Maine. The curriculum has been developed and piloted as a 30 minute presentation at the classroom level to 2nd grade classrooms in large school districts and/or combined 1st/2nd grade classrooms for small school districts.
Based on ½ hour presentation time, and setup and breakdown time (combined ½ hour), technicians will be paid 1 hour per classroom at $12.00 per hour, including mileage at the current State of Maine rate.
Scheduled “train-the-trainer” sessions will be held at the Bureau or other locations around the State of Maine. Technicians will be paid to attend the training session and reimbursed for mileage to get to the training.
Training supplies will be provided to participating technicians. Supplies will include:
School will need to supply:
Technician will need to supply:
Proposal: If you are a certified technician interested in teaching booster seat safety, please present a proposal to the Bureau of Highway Safety! Proposals must include:
Checklist for Booster Presentation:
letter to Schools:
Booster Curriculum PowerPoint Presentation and Supporting Materials:
Contact the Bureau of Highway Safety for more information (207) 626-3840.
Student Certificate and Information Sheet:
Maine CAR SEAT INSPECTION LOCATIONS
Do you need your child's car seat checked for correct installation in the vehicle and/or to know if it's the proper seat for your child? View a list of Maine Inspection Locations.
|Copyright © 2008 All rights reserved.|