Legislative Update (2011-12)

History and Data

In response to regional needs and State/National trends, districts in the Western Maine area began the work necessary to form a non-profit corporation.? After two years of intense work, the foundations for governance and communication structures were in place and WMEC became a legal entity in August of 2006.? In 2010, a thorough review of the organization and its lessons learned, led to updated and revised legal documents including the By Laws and Interlocal Agreements.
Now in its sixth year, WMEC represents eleven member districts from 50 communities in four counties and over 14,000 students.


The WMEC is a non-profit organization with membership from eleven school systems committed to building a sustainable regional collaborative that meets the needs of both the members and the organization.? By working together WMEC members, business and community partners strive to improve student performance through effective and efficient use of human, fiscal and technological resources.

WMEC Member Districts

  • Lisbon School Department
  • AOS 97 Winthrop/Fayette School Departments
  • Mt. Blue RSD #9 (Farmington)
  • RSU 4 (Litchfield)
  • RSU 10 (Dixfield; Mexico, Buckfield)
  • RSU 38 (Maranacook)
  • RSU 44 (Bethel)
  • RSU 58 (Kingfield)
  • RSU 73 (Jay; Livermore Falls)
  • RSU 78 (Rangeley)
  • RSU 74 (N. Anson)

This Center for Best Practice is a collaboration between the Maine Department of Education and the Nellie Mae Education Foundation, made possible by the contributions of the Maine schools that share their stories.