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August 2013 
Dear Provider,
MaineCare providers wishing to receive the Affordable Care Act’s (ACA) temporary primary care payment increase
 must fill out and submit the attached 2013-14 PCP Increase Self-Attestation form.  Please note that hospitals, Federally Qualified Health Centers, and Rural Health Clinics are not eligible for the increase, so hospital-based physicians and physicians providing services with an FQHC or RHC pay-to should not attest.

The increase will not occur until we have approved your form, but the increased payments will be retroactive to 1/1/13, once approved. 

By completing the form, providers attest that s/he meets the criteria established by the ACA – specifically, that:

(1) s/he is practicing with a specialty designation of (a) Family Medicine, (b) Internal Medicine, or (c) Pediatric Medicine; AND
(2) (a) s/he is appropriately Board certified; OR (b) that 60 percent of their Medicaid codes are for evaluation and management (E&M) and vaccine administration codes as specified in the federal rule.  

The self-attestation form provides detail on each of the above criteria.
Eligibility for the increase is limited to qualified physicians (specifically, those enrolled as provider-type 51-Physicians and 54- Physicians groups who meet the criteria above)
 and Advanced Practice Professionals practicing (APPs)
 under their direct supervision.
  The supervising physician must attest on behalf of any APPs they supervise and are responsible for (i.e., APPs should not attest themselves). 
Please return this form by mail or fax to:
Department of Health & Human Services, 11 SHS, 45 Commerce Dr., Augusta, 04333 Attn: Donna Sutter
FAX: (207) 430-3730, Attn: Donna Sutter
Your provider file will be updated once we have approved your form, and we will send you a confirmation via email.
If you have any questions, please contact Donna Sutter at (207) 629-4280.

Sincerely,
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Stefanie Nadeau

Director, Office of MaineCare Services

Attachment: Self-Attestation Form
cc: Commissioner Mary C. Mayhew, Department of Health and Human Services
Self-Attestation for MaineCare Primary Care Rate Increase

For Calendar Years 2013 and 2014, section 1202 of the Affordable Care Act requires Medicaid agencies to provide payments equivalent to the Medicare payment level for certain primary care services delivered by eligible practitioners.  Eligible practitioners are those who practice in:

· Family Medicine

· Internal Medicine

· Pediatric Medicine 
AS WELL AS
· Advanced Practice Registered Nurses or Physicians Assistants who bill under eligible practitioners and for whom eligible practitioners accept direct professional responsibility.
In order to be eligible for the section 1202 rates, provider must practice in one of those three eligible specialties.  In addition, the following requirements must be met:
· Providers must self-attest to being actively board certified in one of the qualified specialties above – or subspecialties of these – recognized by the American Board of Physician Specialties, the American Osteopathic Association and the American Board of Medical Specialties.
OR

· Providers who practice Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, or Pediatrics but are not board certified must self-attest that at least 60 percent of their MaineCare codes in the most recently completed calendar year were for the evaluation and management (E&M) and vaccine administration codes eligible for the section 1202 rates (see list on next page) (newly enrolled physicians who do not have 12 months of MaineCare billing must self-attest based on Medicaid codes during the most recent prior month).
Physicians are individually responsible for submitting the self-attestation form, and under no circumstances shall someone other than the primary care physician submit the information required below.  In addition, please note that Advanced Practice Professionals (Advanced Practice Registered Nurses, and Physicians Assistants) should not attest on their own behalf; rather the attesting physician who assumes professional responsibility for services provided by those practitioners should submit the form on their behalf. 
Pay-To NPI:




Physicians, please enter your Individual NPI:
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Physicians, please enter the NPI(s) of any Advanced Practice Professional you supervise and assume professional responsibility for, to allow these practitioners to receive the fee increase for eligible services:



1. I attest that I am practicing with a specialty designation of: 
	___ Family Medicine
	___ Internal Medicine
	___ Pediatric Medicine


AND

2. I attest that

a. I am actively board certified by
___ the American Board of Physician Specialties (ABPS)
___ the American Osteopathic Association (AOA)
___ the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS)
in

___ Family Medicine
___ Internal Medicine

___ Pediatric Medicine

And/or in one or more subspecialties (please list): ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
OR

b. I am NOT actively board certified by the ABPS, AOA, or ABMS, but I attest that 60 percent of my Medicaid codes (during Calendar Year 2012 for providers who practiced during the entire of 2012, or during the most recent month for providers who did not practice during the entire of 2012) are for E&M codes 99201 through 99499 and vaccine administration codes 90460, 90461, 90471, 90472, 90473 and 90474 (or successor codes, where applicable).


Time period (indicate CY 2012 or relevant month and year): _____

Number of MaineCare codes for eligible codes during time period: _____

Total number of MaineCare codes during time period: _____

Percent of MaineCare codes during time period that were for codes for eligible codes: _____

I understand that upon a claims audit, if my individual claims volume does not meet the 60% threshold, increased payments will be recouped by the Department or its agent. _____(please initial)


Please enter all three-digit MIHMS Service Location IDs where you qualify for the increased rate:



I certify under the pains and penalties of perjury that the information on this form and any attached statement that I have provided has been reviewed and signed by me, and is true, accurate, and complete, to the best of my knowledge.  If I lose board certification in one of the approved specialties and/or subspecialties, or such certification expires and is not renewed, it is my obligation to notify the appropriate parties of my board certification end date.  I understand that I may be subject to civil penalties or criminal prosecution for any falsification, omission, or concealment of any material fact contained herein.
________________________________________________________​​​

Signature of Qualifying Physician 

Contact Person if there are questions about this form:  _____________________________________________ 

Tel #:_______________________          E-mail Address: __________________________________































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































� Section 1202 of the ACA requires Medicaid programs to pay “for primary care services furnished by certain physicians in calendar years (CYs) 2013 and 2014 at rates not less than the Medicare rates in effect in those CYs or, if greater, the payment rates that would be applicable in those CYs using the CY 2009 Medicare physician fee schedule conversion factor” -- Federal Register / Vol. 77, No. 215 / Tuesday, November 6, 2012, page 66670.  Page 66701 further explains that the latter rate is “the rate that would be derived using the CY 2009 conversion factor and the CY 2013 and 2014 Medicare relative value units (RVUs).”


� Hospitals, Federally Qualified Health Centers, and Rural Health Clinics are not eligible for the increase.


� The following APPs are eligible for the increase:


Provider Type�
Specialty�
�
02-Advanced Practice Registered Nurse�
014-Certified Clinical Nurse Specialist�015-Certified Nurse Midwife�016-Certified Nurse Practitioner�
�
52-Physician Assistant�
116-Physician Assistant�
�



� Services provided by APPs do not need to be billed under the physician’s billing number, but the attesting physician must have professional responsibility for the services provided.


� This code listing from CMS’ final regulation indicates how providers qualify for the increased reimbursement only.  Codes currently not covered by MaineCare will remain as non-covered codes.





